AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > 0utf0xZer0

Notices

Conversation Between 0utf0xZer0 and Ledgem
Showing Visitor Messages 1 to 10 of 11
  1. Ledgem
    2012-08-02 13:29
    Ledgem
    I don't really know what motivates people's computer purchasing decisions. Maybe it really is about brand and styling; that could explain why everyone was either using Apple or Sony laptops back when I was an undergrad. (Back then - and maybe it's the same now - Sony was the most expensive and offered sub-par hardware in exchange, but their designs were the most unique in the PC world.) I can tell you that my family, my friends, and I buy Apple computers for a very different reason.

I have no doubt that Windows has made major strides in user-friendliness and stability over the years. However, I'm content to stick with Macs because I feel that the overall maintenance is less. There's less to muck around with, and in turn, less to mess up. I understand that for some people that's the fun of computing. That's how it was for me for many years; I'd customize the heck out of my machine, break something, spend a day or weekend fixing it, and be on my way. These days I can't afford that time, and even if I could, I wouldn't want to spend my time doing that. Macs aren't flawless, but they're good enough that I've only ever had to do one major servicing software-side on my system in about six years, and none on my family's computers.

(On the downside, since most people don't encounter problems with their Macs, documentation on some of these issues is pretty scarce. Compare that to Windows or Linux, where you can usually find multiple people talking about the issue, and sometimes even giving steps to resolve it.)