Mark Forums Read
Trouble logging in?
We were forced to invalidate all account passwords. You will have to
reset your password
to login. If you have trouble resetting your password, please
send us a message
with as much helpful information as possible, such as your username and any email addresses you may have used to register. Whatever you do, please
create a new account. That is not the right solution, and it is against our forum rules to own multiple accounts.
Wow... the member list jumped up while I was gone...
Monks are allegedly coming out in a later PHB2 or some such.
Yes, I know. Despite the money-grubbing tendencies, I'll probably buy it anyway.
Also, I might be missing something, but apparently the only class able to use two-weapon fighting As We Know It are Rangers. The "two-weapon fighting" feat still exists, but since there's no penalty for holding an off-hand weapon, it adds a flat +1. Anyone can wield two weapons, they just can only attack with one at any one time. Only Rangers can attack with both weapons in one turn.
Again, though, I could be missing something.
"Anyone can wield two weapons, they just can only attack with one at any one time."
... isn't the entire point of dual-wielding to, you know, use both at the same time?
By my view, yeah. But then I'm always open to new interpretations.
I'm trying and failing to see a reason why one would want to wield two weapons to use one at a time, as opposed to weapon plus shield or something. I know I'm missing something here.
One of my fondest-remembered characters was a dual-wielding Swashbuckler/Rogue. One Sonic Rapier, one Lightning Short Sword. The damage he could do on crits was disgusting, as I discovered when I rolled three natural ones in a row and criticalled myself.
I also learned during that session that I cannot declare Dodge on myself, more's the pity.
I remember one time when I was playing as a rogue, I attempted to throw both of the knives he had at an enemy... on the first roll I ended up with a one, causing a stumble and I
1d4 damage from the fall... and both knives flew out of his hands...
As the situation never really came up before that, the DM decided to roll a d6 to determine where they actually ended up going(1 was one of my teammates, 2 was the other, 3 and 4 were whatever we were fighting, 5 was a complete miss and 6 was a "you take damage"... at least I think that's how it went)... anyway, due to sheer dumb luck, both knives ended up hitting the enemy I was actually intending on hitting in the first place.
By-the-by, I have found a rather nice class combination for Suzumiya Haruhi: Bard/Exemplar. The Exemplar prestige class is in the Complete Adventurer book. Now just slap on some divine ranks, and you have yourself a Haruhi ...
Exemplar? Prestige class? Complete Adventurer book? Divine ranks?
... stupid WotC buyout...
Splatbooks have been around for a long time. The "Complete" series just gave them a themed naming system.
The resultant balancing mess has, I believe, also been around for a long time.
The other alternative system for character creation, other than releasing splats for more options, is usually via eschewing character classes or suchlike and only caring about individual attributes and powers (see: HERO). This is just as dangerous for munchkinning: my first HERO 5ER character was an overpowered 350-point monster, created unbalanced
, even after avoiding all the "these powers are likely to cause problems" warnings. Ah, Multiform...
... it feels like someone cast a smaller version of Bigby's Crushing Hand on my head...
Speaking of which, I'm sure my group isn't the only one to have redesigned that spell to become Bigby's Bitchslap.
Best. Spell name. Ever.
Possibly, especially since my "suggestions" for other spells have been vetoed by the DMs I've played under. For example, there is no spell known as MILF's Acid Arrow, nor does Tenser have a Slipped Disk. Tasha's Laughter must always be Hideous, not Polite.
I suppose the only reason I haven't been strangled to death by my DMs is because occasionally I manage to make them laugh.
What's so bad about MILF's acid arrow... they need something to protect themselves, too, y'know...
Wow, you guys seriously have like no members...
Made all the worse by the fact that only two of us can really be considered "active members"...
I could become an active member, but I'm still relatively new to D&D, and don't have the great stories you guys do.
That being said, I'd love to hear dkellis's gaming stories. They sound amusing.
Hey, my D&D knowledge goes from late 1st edition to... about the time the Player's Option books came out for 2nd... I've never touched 3rd or 3.5, and I'm not sure if I'll mess with 4th or not right now. It all depends on if my usual playgroup decides to adopt it.
Tip: Never attack sacred trees with a greataxe. Archangels will shoot you with +1 arrows of orc-slaying.
I'm still amazed I didn't fail my fort saves.
Because I have to relate this to everyone I know, the Jellyfish Incident.
The system was the New World of Darkness
Mage: The Awakening
, which is more or less gothic-horror (not as gothic-punk as the Old World of Darkness metaverse) set in the modern day with supernatural creepies about. The setting is an old mansion, where our party has crashed a demon-summoning ritual in progress.
Now, in nWoD, there is this thing called Paradox, which is when you cast a spell, and reality goes "nuh-uh" and
. The original plan of converting a sphere of water into sulphuric acid and lobbing it at the cultists got Paradoxed.
The house is transformed into a giant sphere of water. It's held together by the barrier that was surrounding it, but everything non-magical and non-living, including air or furniture, has been turned into water.
(OOC) Does that include our clothes?
But it's not over yet.
(OOC) Is there anything floating around that's living and not harmful? Like a plant or something?
Gods, I don't know... there's a ficus plant that was in the building.
(OOC) I want to swim to it and use Transform Base Life to turn it into a barracuda or piranha or something.
I don't think you can do that at two ranks of Life magic. You'd probably need three ranks or more. At two dots, you can change it into, um, seaweed, or jellyfish, or-
(OOC) I transform the plant into jellyfish, then.
The ficus plant is duly turned into three jellyfish.
I can't believe we're doing this. Okay, who's next on the initiative order...
(OOC) Wait, do the jellyfish get an initiative roll?
Oh, yes, but they're at negative 40.
(OOC) That's sarcasm for "no".
A bit later, the barrier is dispelled and the sphere of water becomes a pool of water plus puddles.
(OOC) My gun is gone, right?
It was not magical, so yes, it's gone.
(OOC) Damn. Oh, is there a jellyfish on the ground near me?
... *rolls* Yes.
(OOC) I pick it up and throw it at the acolyte.
(OOC) Does the jellyfish count as a ranged weapon?
(OOC) I don't think makers of the game ever considered the stats for a thrown jellyfish, improvised or not.
The jellyfish bounces off his Mage Armour. The acolyte turns to you and, as his full action for the round, just stares and says: "Did you just throw a jellyfish at me?"
Yes. Can I have it back?
At the end of the session.
I don't think anyone's going to believe me if I tell them about this. You've created a legend.
Mage F Player:
Great! Do I get bonus XP for it?
Page 2 of 13
Mark This Discussion Read
Mark This Discussion Read
All times are GMT -5. The time now is
-- AnimeSuki Default
-- AnimeSuki Default (Contacts Highlighted)
-- AnimeSuki Default (Original Navigation)
-- AnimeSuki Compressed
-- AnimeSuki Blue
-- AnimeSuki Blue (Reordered)
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.