AnimeSuki.com Forum

AnimeSuki Forum (http://forums.animesuki.com/index.php)
-   Reviews & Recommendations (http://forums.animesuki.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Where do I start with Tenchi (http://forums.animesuki.com/showthread.php?t=86276)

billborden 2009-09-14 13:30

Where do I start with Tenchi

Although I've been wandering around in the Anime universe for almost 2 decades, I have managed to miss the epic collection of shows that make up Tenchi Muyo (in my early days, I was looking for horror, tentacles or any combination of the two--I've since moved on). Looking at it now, I have to ask--Where do I start? There is the original series of OVA's, two major alternate tellings and a handful of other miscellanea. Other than "grind through everything in the order of release", where is the best place to start to understand the canon discussions/common references from the series?

Scorch 2009-09-14 16:14

I'd start with the OAVs first, at least the first two of them (I've heard bad things about the third but haven't seen it myself). Then watch Universe. Don't watch Tenchi in Tokyo at all :p

BetoJR 2009-09-14 17:56

I'd say: start with the Ryououki OVA series (the third one isn't all that bad, really - but you could leave it for later, tho), then watch Tenchi Universe and proceed to the movies - the third one in particular (Tenchi Muyou! in Love 2 - Haruka Naru Omoi) is a favorite of mine, but that may be due to my personal bias for Ryoko; in any event, it's quite a different portrayal of the characters, in a more (arguably) mature setting.

As Scorch said, I'd stay away from Tenchi in Tokyo, if I were you. Yeah, it's that bad. :heh:

Sackett 2009-09-14 23:11

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scorch (Post 2644563)
I'd start with the OAVs first, at least the first two of them (I've heard bad things about the third but haven't seen it myself). Then watch Universe. Don't watch Tenchi in Tokyo at all :p

This is decent advice.