AnimeSuki.com Forum

AnimeSuki Forum (http://forums.animesuki.com/index.php)
-   Playback Help (http://forums.animesuki.com/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   PS3 Media Server (http://forums.animesuki.com/showthread.php?t=103989)

RedSwirl 2011-05-06 13:17

PS3 Media Server
 
I'm surprised to find no main thread for this, and it's not really gone into in-depth in any of the main help threads either.

I finally started messing around with PS3 Media Server to get MKVs to work on my TV and I'm still running into problems, mainly configuring it for my network. I know the program has its own forum but I was wondering if anyone over here had some solutions.

I got the videos to play with MEncoder, even with subtitles on most videos, but I still get stuttering, even on sub-720p videos if I have to encode them. If there's no encoding needed then I can even stream 720p videos without any stutter.

My computer's CPU is a quad-core so I don't think that's the problem. The only other thing could be my wireless network. I only have a Netgear g router. I've tried lowering the max bandwidth in Mbits to around 10, but that just results in lower video quality with the stuttering still there.

If I use TSMuxer I don't get any stutter at all, but no subtitles either.

sneaker 2011-05-06 13:50

I guess a problem could be that for real time encoding the bitrate has to relatively high in order to achieve transparency, which could - as you already suspected - put too much strain on your wireless network.

Is it possible to reconfig the PS3 media server's encoding settings? Maybe you can find a sweet spot, where it neither exceeds the WiFi's bandwidth nor your CPU's power.

RedSwirl 2011-05-06 14:11

This is what we got:

http://i54.tinypic.com/24grcr4.jpg

sneaker 2011-05-06 14:36

I just downloaded the PS3 media server and it seems that in only encodes to MPEG2 by default, which I have no knowledge about. (if it can be tuned to meet your demands).
x264 can most likely do what you want, but I don't know if it can be used with PS3 media server. I only found an old thread about it on their forum:
http://www.ps3mediaserver.org/forum/...php?f=6&t=3025

I don't know whether support has been added in the mean time.

Inu_Sess__ 2011-05-09 15:33

I use the "Good quality for HD wifi transcoding" when I don't feel like unhooking cables and have had no problems. I run an old dual-core laptop too.

yeahitschris 2011-05-29 01:55

i used to use PS3 MEDIA Server too but for 720p, .mkv & etc, it would never allow me to skip without re-buffering or no subs. now i just use:


10 feet HDMI wire

http://www.orbaudio.com/ProductImages/550uberHDMI.gif

+

MINIDISPLAYPORT to HDMI

http://www.fsucs.com/mmFSUCS/Images/...playtohdmi.jpg

=

http://www.nataliedee.com/033006/totally-great.jpg

gets the job done nicely :heh:

spikexp 2011-05-29 11:34

Well, some people actually have longer than 10 feet between the TV and the nearest computer. :heh:

DragoZERO 2011-06-02 09:34

Quote:

Originally Posted by Inu_Sess__ (Post 3605767)
I use the "Good quality for HD wifi transcoding" when I don't feel like unhooking cables and have had no problems. I run an old dual-core laptop too.

That would be the likely solution.

But seeking help on their forum is the best bet.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 17:04.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.