AnimeSuki.com Forum

AnimeSuki Forum (http://forums.animesuki.com/index.php)
-   Tech Support (http://forums.animesuki.com/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Making sure this works (http://forums.animesuki.com/showthread.php?t=108074)

Ak3mi 2011-11-02 12:11

Making sure this works
 
Hi there guys getting a new processor because I have a really old processor 2.6 ghz dual core which I think I have overclocked to its death :P so I just want to know what my motherboard can take.

http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD_AM2Plus/M3A78/

I was thinking this http://www.ebuyer.com/257236-amd-phe...-hdx840wfgmbox

It can take that processor I know, what else can it take? anything higher?

Jinto 2011-11-02 12:55

The processor you've chosen is not on the supported CPUs list of this board (which does not necessarily mean it is not supported).

This one however is on the list:

http://www.ebuyer.com/190673-amd-phe...-hdz955fbgmbox

price difference is almost neglible. So, if you want to be extra cautious take the CPUs that are listed.

oh... and here something for fun:

From the asus site: # 5000 hrs VRM solid capacitor <= haha according to Asus these capacitors do not even last a year (propably meant 50.000 hrs) - a lifetime of almost 6 years without overclocking and stable power suply.

Random32 2011-11-02 13:37

I would expect it is supported. AM2+ generally takes AM3, and not only are other AM3 CPU's are listed on the supported list, but lower clocked versions of the Ph2X4 8xx core are listed.

Since you are overclocking, the 955 Jinto listed would be a better choice though.

In any case, I would flash your BIOS if you haven't done that recently since the CPU's are supported only in newer BIOS's.

Ak3mi 2011-11-02 13:50

Awesome :), yh im sure I can get that processor cheaper anyway so thats fine thanks for the help.

sa547 2011-11-03 22:04

OBTW, do you have the requisite cooling systems and a proper PSU?

Ak3mi 2011-11-11 15:23

My power suppy is 650 and my cooling is great, always around 28-34c. Will 650 PSU work well?

sa547 2011-11-11 23:22

You can calculate for the projected power consumption using this:

http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp

Then add 50-100w for future expansion plans.

Ak3mi 2011-11-13 09:35

:o I don't even know what some of that stuff is :S

Random32 2011-11-13 10:40

What options do you have questions about?

Ak3mi 2011-11-13 11:10

Well im getting that processor that Jinto linked, and just wondering if a 650 watt psu can support it while supporting a 1gb gtx kfa 460 gpu

Jinto 2011-11-13 12:01

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ak3mi (Post 3855601)
Well im getting that processor that Jinto linked, and just wondering if a 650 watt psu can support it while supporting a 1gb gtx kfa 460 gpu

I have an Intel Core I7 2600K, 580GTX, 16GB RAM, 3 HDDs, 1 SSD, 1 BD... (basically a lot of stuff) and a 650W PSU...

the site linked by sa547 says optimum would be 600W for my system, so there is still some tolerance. I think your PSU should be sufficient for your system as well.

sa547 2011-11-13 12:31

Current-gen video cards, especially those at the high-end of the spectrum, really do need more power and extra amperage on the rails, hence the PSUs shouldn't be scrimped on in terms of quality and stability (should get a proper PSU with 80 efficiency or more; I learned the hard way when I asked at a different PC forum about an unexplainable error, put out my specs and got dissed by the residents for using a no-name PSU even though I had little stability problems at the time -- now I'm saving up for an FSP Hexa).

Jinto 2011-11-14 04:03

Quote:

Originally Posted by sa547 (Post 3855689)
Current-gen video cards, especially those at the high-end of the spectrum, really do need more power and extra amperage on the rails, hence the PSUs shouldn't be scrimped on in terms of quality and stability (should get a proper PSU with 80 efficiency or more; I learned the hard way when I asked at a different PC forum about an unexplainable error, put out my specs and got dissed by the residents for using a no-name PSU even though I had little stability problems at the time -- now I'm saving up for an FSP Hexa).

Actually, it is more important that it can deliver almost the full power on the +12V output. Mine is rated 624W at +12V "be quiet! BQT E5 650W" (I think thats a very good ratio for a PSU).

Ak3mi 2011-11-14 08:22

well it cost me 100 pounds 2 years ago made by corsair but I don't have the specs for it anymore, its pretty solid still. :S

Ak3mi 2011-12-21 19:28

Didn't want to make a new thread for the same topic so, my question is:

When I get this processor will it make a big difference to my gaming? I think the answer is yes and a lot of people are saying to me (friends) that a processor like mine actually holds back my gcard...I just want to know if this is valid.

my gcard is a 460 xfx custom 1k mb or 1.5k mb can't remember itsa pretty hefty gcard and cost me a lot.

Random32 2011-12-21 21:00

CPU shouldn't be a limiting factor.

Tom's paired a significantly slower Athlon II X3 with a Radeon HD 5850 and concluded:
Quote:

let me point something out to you: in every single game we benchmarked at 1920x1080, the Athlon II X3 440 was capable of a playable average frame rate in excess of 40 FPS. All of the games we tested were benchmarked at attractive and demanding visual settings, and all of them have a reputation for higher-end hardware requirements.
Except for games that are notable for being very CPU heavy, you shouldn't be running into CPU bottleneck on your CPU on any single GPU solution. Even then, I run two AMD 5700's on an overclocked Athlon X3 and don't have issues.

Ak3mi 2011-12-21 21:08

Well for christmas my wife bought me as a present which is either Witcher 2 or Bf3... so im pretty sure its high CPU. And as I am running a dual core overclocked I would think it would strain my GPU :S

Random32 2011-12-21 21:46

If you have the CPU Jinto linked, thats a quad core.

On the topic of BF3 and Witcher 2. I wouldn't worry about being CPU limited.

People playing the two games that use a Phenom II X4 and a GTX460. It seems fine.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JrddvzhcP6g
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJepYtdII4E

Ak3mi 2011-12-21 22:43

^^ I havn't got the quad core yet, I was just wondering if it true about CPU's (which are pretty poor on new games like my dual core) having a strain on the GPU.

When I do get that quad core I will be overclocking it,. Also going to be overclocking my GPU because its a unlocked version of 460 can go up to 1515 Core frequency and insane memory frequency. But I need to find a cooler for it first.
I found this one but I wondering if I can fit my wireless card in. http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=HS-080-TR

Random32 2011-12-22 00:32

Your current CPU might not be able to keep the GPU fed. Don't know what you mean by strain though.

How much space do you have left between your wireless card and your GPU. If they have to be right next to each other, there's obviously a problem, but if your GPU is on one side of the PCI/e expansion card slots and the wireless card on the other, they should fit fine. The xbit review says that the cooler is 4 slots wide, I don't know your configuration so I can't say whether it will fit or not.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:40.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.