AnimeSuki.com Forum

AnimeSuki Forum (http://forums.animesuki.com/index.php)
-   Tech Support (http://forums.animesuki.com/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Monitor didn't display anything (http://forums.animesuki.com/showthread.php?t=117710)

Sister Princess 2013-02-03 21:52

Monitor didn't display anything
 
(I thought this was a problem from Samsung S24A650S LED monitor, it went fine when I put it on the 1 year old PC)

I just bought a new desktop and the monitor didn't display anything. Fan and Video card show green light. Mouse and Keyboard had their lights on.

Is this a issue from the RAM or not plug in correctly?

Quote:

Intel I5-3570 processor
ASUS P8Z77-VLK Motherboard
Nvidia GeForce GTX660
Cooler Master 335U GLite PSU 500W Regular

Hiroi Sekai 2013-02-04 01:39

Does the monitor show standby lights (usually yellow or orange-like) with something like "No Input" on the screen, or is the monitor just staying powerless?

If it's the former, it's probably just a bad lead or connection to the computer itself. Have a tech-savvy friend look at it or ask around in an electronics store with a computer department (as I see it, this isn't something to really pay a tech to look at) about it to validate.

If it's the latter, your monitor is not receiving power at all, and that could be a multitude of reasons. Fried hardware, broken lights, etc., and that's when you do need someone with certification to look at it. If they confirm it's dead, then it'll have to be replaced. Sometimes it's an easy fix too.

sa547 2013-02-04 01:44

I'm also guessing that the monitor (out of range?) and the video card settings need to be reset to their defaults. LED/LCD monitors are usually limited to 60hz.

demonix 2013-02-04 08:33

Is there any sounds of activity from the hard drive (that is if you don't have a SSD) when the computer is turned on (I'd have to guess that you get nothing straight from when it is turned on).

If there is no activity from the hard drive, then it is likely that the GPU is goosed and needs replacing.

Sister Princess 2013-02-04 09:25

Never mind guys, I just solved it by put DVA cable into video card. Is this normal?

synaesthetic 2013-02-04 13:26

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sister Princess (Post 4540583)
Never mind guys, I just solved it by put DVA cable into video card. Is this normal?

Well, yes. If you have a discrete GPU installed in your PC and you plug the monitor into the integrated graphics on the motherboard, it won't work. The presence of a standalone graphics card automatically disables the integrated GPU.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:28.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.