AnimeSuki.com Forum

AnimeSuki Forum (http://forums.animesuki.com/index.php)
-   Download Help (http://forums.animesuki.com/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   explain please?!? (http://forums.animesuki.com/showthread.php?t=17598)

Xale 2004-07-22 15:30

explain please?!?
 
Ok I think I have this right but please correct me if I am wrong. Ok When I connect I am a peer and other peers and seeders are giving me parts of the files right? Ok and since I am using bit torrnado I can see the total kb/s.... Ok lets say the total kb/s is 600, and there are 20 peers, does that mean everyone should be getting around 30 kb/s? I am confused by this because on some torrents it seems that way and on others I should be getting 20 kb/s and I am getting like 2 kb/s. Can someone please tell me what is what and so on, and by the way wat are leachers?

_Sin_ 2004-07-22 15:38

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xale
Ok I think I have this right but please correct me if I am wrong. Ok When I connect I am a peer and other peers and seeders are giving me parts of the files right? Ok and since I am using bit torrnado I can see the total kb/s.... Ok lets say the total kb/s is 600, and there are 20 peers, does that mean everyone should be getting around 30 kb/s? I am confused by this because on some torrents it seems that way and on others I should be getting 20 kb/s and I am getting like 2 kb/s.

The total speed is mostly independent of your speed (exception: you can't get a higher download speed as the total swarm speed for obvious reasons). A total speed of 10000000000000KB/s does not mean anything about your download speed since you could have anything between 0-10000000000000KB/s. It's merely an indicator on how popular the torrent file is


Quote:

Originally Posted by Xale
Can someone please tell me what is what and so on, and by the way wat are leachers?

Sure. The meaning of the term leachers depends: If it is said in connection with seeds/leachers it means merely peers. If it is meant in a negative way, i.e. client X is a leacher client or person X is a stupid leacher it means that the client/person does not upload until he gets a share ration of 1 or greater thus abusing the BT system without contributing to it.

Xale 2004-07-23 08:50

Ok, I get that part now, but how can I raise my DL speed, I don't have any firewalls up.... and I use bit tornado... what can I do to raise my speed? help plz... I know this is probably stated elsewhere, but I don't feel like searching through dozens of pages just to find it.

_Sin_ 2004-07-23 09:31

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xale
Ok, I get that part now, but how can I raise my DL speed, I don't have any firewalls up.... and I use bit tornado... what can I do to raise my speed? help plz... I know this is probably stated elsewhere, but I don't feel like searching through dozens of pages just to find it.

First off, what is your maximum upload and download speed? If you don't know it, go to www.dslreports.com and take a speed test according to your location. Post the results here.

Xale 2004-07-23 20:01

Download Speed: 1496 kb/s
Upload Speed: 367 kb/s

There u go, I used www.pcpitstop.com

Kero Gunsou 2004-07-25 01:05

Are you restricting your upload? BT works on tit-4-tat method, meaning the faster you upload the more nodes you connect to download the next piece (think of it as fserving in irc and you get priority in queue).

Kurz 2004-07-25 01:53

Also an issue with uploading. Upload to fast you kill your download or freeze the connection. Try to find Nirvanna between the Extremes :)

_Sin_ 2004-07-25 08:36

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xale
Download Speed: 1496 kb/s
Upload Speed: 367 kb/s

There u go, I used www.pcpitstop.com

Cap your upload at 41-42KB/s. Your maximum download speed with BT should be about ~180KB/s.

Am I right if I assume that the bulb in BitTornado is green? If I am, then everything is configured properly and the swarm is the only deciding speed factor. (Just for kicks, download a recent Naruto episode and see for yourself how fast it can go)

Xale 2004-07-25 12:52

Ok I capped my speed at 40 and I am Downloading Madlax 1-13 from 19 peers and 8 seeds and getting about 8 kb/s and the bulb is yellow... right now, so what is up, does there just need to be more people on?

_Sin_ 2004-07-25 12:56

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xale
Ok I capped my speed at 40 and I am Downloading Madlax 1-13 from 19 peers and 8 seeds and getting about 8 kb/s and the bulb is yellow... right now, so what is up, does there just need to be more people on?

Just wait a little longer* (you should have picked a popular torrent like Naruto anyway, but...) and tell me if the bulb stays yellow.

*about 10 mins

Also, if it stays yellow, answer these question:

1. Does the bulb stay yellow for all torrents or only this one?
2. Are you behind a router?
3. Are you behind a firewall?
4. How is the weather? ;)

Xale 2004-07-26 19:53

It was yellow the whole time, and it finished DLing but took like 15 hours from about 65%

Ok, The bulb always is yellow, so yea.
I am behind a router
Not behind a firewall, and weather is fine when i am DLing


And I tried Naruto but there was 7 peers, and 2 seeds on it after 5 min, and it was goin at like 5 kb/s, so I don't know wat was up with that.

Token-Blackguy 2004-07-27 02:12

, i seee
 
INdeed, and Xale CAN do these things, like fiddle about with his otput speed and such...because he uses bitornado, and all the bit torrent users cannot do this, right?

NoSanninWa 2004-07-27 02:18

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xale
It was yellow the whole time, and it finished DLing but took like 15 hours from about 65%

Ok, The bulb always is yellow, so yea.
I am behind a router
Not behind a firewall, and weather is fine when i am DLing

Glad the weather is okay, I guess we can rule that out as a problem. ;) What you need to do is to get out your router's manual and open up ports 6881-6889.

_Sin_ 2004-07-27 06:41

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoSanninWa
Glad the weather is okay, I guess we can rule that out as a problem. ;)

How can you say something unresponsible as that? We do not even know the humidity of the air, and you jump to conclusions like that? :nono:

Xale, read Doppelganger's router configuration guide here.

Xale 2004-07-27 20:09

Quote:

Originally Posted by Token-Blackguy
INdeed, and Xale CAN do these things, like fiddle about with his otput speed and such...because he uses bitornado, and all the bit torrent users cannot do this, right?

I have no clue what u just said token-blackguy, anyway... :topicoff: Did u know Ricky retired, That is so Gay :topicoff: ... Ok back to topic

It doesn't matter if the router isn't in the same room as me, right, I don't think so, but just checkin...

edit: Ok I tried to get azureus, but it was being all gay so I am back to bit tornado, and I like it better. It never said on his guide what ports to put on for the Bit tornado, WHich ones should I put on...? I am gettin confuzed by all this, but I think I have it right. And to enable those ports don't I just go to Network connections, Properties, and then advanced, then put on the firewall then make exceptions for those ports? Right?

NoSanninWa 2004-07-28 02:03

As I said a couple of posts back: Open up ports 6881-6889.

Your firewall and your router are two different incidents. One is hardware and the other is software. They both have to have those ports open. Opening the ports on the firewall will have not open them for the router.

Xale 2004-07-28 09:03

OK, then I don't know How to get to my router page or whatnot, I can't figure it out, and don't know where my router manual is, so yea, can someone please help me with that.

_Sin_ 2004-07-28 09:53

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xale
OK, then I don't know How to get to my router page or whatnot, I can't figure it out, and don't know where my router manual is, so yea, can someone please help me with that.

Just a question: Did you read Doppelganger's guide yet or was it too complicated for you? Also, if you need to type in a password and don't know it, try "admin" (it's the default from what I've gathered)

Xale 2004-07-29 10:09

OK, I read it yes, but It doesn't tell you where to go to change those settings, and I don't know where to go, so help plz, Tell me where to go to get to that page, and if it did say, plz just put it here cuz, I can't find it. Thanks

_Sin_ 2004-07-29 11:01

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xale
OK, I read it yes, but It doesn't tell you where to go to change those settings, and I don't know where to go, so help plz, Tell me where to go to get to that page, and if it did say, plz just put it here cuz, I can't find it. Thanks

Here is how to configure the router:

Go to www.whatismyip.com to find out the router's IP. Write that down.
After that we need to find out your real IP: Start Menu-->Run...-->type in cmd and some kinda DOS prompt will open. Then type in ipconfig and write down your IP.

After you've done that, open up another Internet Explorer window and type in the router's IP you wrote down beforehand in the address bar. That is the router configuration window (if you should be prompted to type in a password, try "admin". If that does not work, get someone who knows the password).

Now you got two options: The quick and easy (and not yet perfect) solution or the tedious but more effective solution.
You decide what you want to do:

Option 1:
Enabling UPnP
Look for something similar to "Enable UPnP Support" in the router configuration windows and enable it (Note that not all routers support UPnP but most do). After you've done this you need to tell Azureus to utilize the UPnP support (it's enabled by default but just to make sure): Go to Configuration:Plugins:UPnP and check Enable UPnP. Don't forget to save and that's it.
Advantages: Easy! You have to configure it only once and that's it.
Disadvantages: You need a router and a BT client that supports UPnP for this method to work. Currently Azureus and BitTornado are the only clients that I know of that support it (maybe BitComet too but I never used that client)

Option 2:
Forwarding the ports

I'll reuse the pictures of Doppelganger's guide here since I do not have a router to post screenshots from (your router configuration window should look similar):

http://home.comcast.net/~drfarina/vserver.jpg

Private IP: Type in your IP
Private Port/Local Port: Type in 6881
Protocol Type: TCP

For the alternative:
http://home.comcast.net/~drfarina/firewall.jpg
Private IP: Type in your IP
Private Port/Local Port: Type in 6881
Protocol Type: TCP

IP range start/end: Type in your IP
Port range: Type in 6881


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.