AnimeSuki.com Forum

AnimeSuki Forum (http://forums.animesuki.com/index.php)
-   Video Games (http://forums.animesuki.com/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   Heavy Gear/Heavy Gear II (http://forums.animesuki.com/showthread.php?t=34593)

Shirobane 2006-07-27 22:44

Heavy Gear/Heavy Gear II
 
Anyone remember this pair of relatively "old" games? Strangely enough it was an episode of Keroro Gunso (38) coupled with a "last millenium" game craving that reminded me of these gems of mech sims.

On another note, both games are discontinued, but does anyone know where to grab a copy of it (in particular HG II)?

alpha3six 2006-07-28 17:19

I still play Heavy Gear 2 once in a while. I personally think it's the best sim for capturing the feel of anime mecha combat since there's an emphasis on maneuverability and marksmanship versus the brute force hit points (yeah, armor points) based approach of Battletech and Mechwarrior.

You can still find HG2 on ebay. Virtually no one plays it online anymore since the official servers are long dead and you can't use TCP/IP. There are new host files that allow you to play on some private servers that are still operational but they're pretty much empty.

Shirobane 2006-07-29 12:15

Quote:

Originally Posted by alpha3six
I still play Heavy Gear 2 once in a while. I personally think it's the best sim for capturing the feel of anime mecha combat since there's an emphasis on maneuverability and marksmanship versus the brute force hit points (yeah, armor points) based approach of Battletech and Mechwarrior.

You can still find HG2 on ebay. Virtually no one plays it online anymore since the official servers are long dead and you can't use TCP/IP. There are new host files that allow you to play on some private servers that are still operational but they're pretty much empty.

hmm I'll have a look on ebay. I know of a few friends who still play and they setup games over the internet through Hamachi.

Too bad the fanbase is so small, maybe if HG2 were promoted alongside shows like say...Full Metal Panic...it might get a good response from this forum :heh:

Onizuka-GTO 2006-07-29 20:08

i really liked HG2 it was great, my copy of HG2 disappeared along time ago, now a days i play the Armoured core series, but it's not the same on a console...

I might buy another one if i can find it. :)

Mind you though, i don't think it'll work on my computer as im running 64-bit Windows Pro, or even on windows XP. so I dunno if i can justify setting up my pc to run win98 just to play this game.

:(

Shirobane 2006-07-30 00:34

Quote:

Originally Posted by Onizuka-GTO
i really liked HG2 it was great, my copy of HG2 disappeared along time ago, now a days i play the Armoured core series, but it's not the same on a console...

I might buy another one if i can find it. :)

Mind you though, i don't think it'll work on my computer as im running 64-bit Windows Pro, or even on windows XP. so I dunno if i can justify setting up my pc to run win98 just to play this game.

:(

Well there's two ways about that. XP comes with a compatibility mode so you don't have to setup a seperate 98 based machine to play. Secondly, I hear of a patch that allows it to run on XP.

So...have your cake and eat it too? :D

alpha3six 2006-07-30 03:27

It works for me on XP Service Pack 2, though I think this kind of stuff depends on your specific setup.

Onizuka-GTO 2006-07-30 10:35

Well i don't have any decent gaming pc that runs Windows XP pro 32bit in my house.

I got five pc's and only one of them is capable of playing any games and it has windows XP 64bit. the others are just simply communication portals for the rest of the family.

As for the patchm it's for the linux version, couldn't find one for windows. :(

alpha3six 2006-07-30 13:15

Quote:

Originally Posted by Onizuka-GTO
I got five pc's and only one of them is capable of playing any games and it has windows XP 64bit. the others are just simply communication portals for the rest of the family.

I remember HG2 running perfectly fine on a 16MB Nvidia TNT back in the day.

I one tried the demo on an old AMD K6-2 with an 8mb Matrox G100... now that was "interesting."

Zellfaze 2007-12-01 16:10

There is a patch that allows the game to work in windows XP, I used to have it, sadly I lost it when I got my new computer. Then when Kronstadt (aka Revel) disappeared, SKK the site I got it from went down. I am currently looking for the patch again, and if I find it I will post a link.

Jays 2007-12-03 01:16

I remember when I was playing this on my old ATI RAGE PRO.

Good times. I got it because it look liked Mech Warrior, and heck that was the bomb back then. The giant mech fighting era of PC gaming. I kinda miss it now.

dodgethis_sg 2007-12-03 01:29

HACs and VHACs, your best friends.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.