AnimeSuki.com Forum

AnimeSuki Forum (http://forums.animesuki.com/index.php)
-   Tech Support (http://forums.animesuki.com/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   router problems (http://forums.animesuki.com/showthread.php?t=52181)

matt4212 2007-08-03 00:39

router problems
 
well im having trouble with my router after i updated the firmware on it, and it keeps resetting the connection every 20-60 seconds or completely stopping the connection. it does it the most when im downloading torrents, and even if i open a port i still get the not-connectable error message. it worked fine till i updated it. Is there a way to downgrade it back to the original version?

My router's a Linksys BEFSR41v4

Syaoran 2007-08-03 02:42

Quote:

Originally Posted by matt4212 (Post 1075185)
well im having trouble with my router after i updated the firmware on it, and it keeps resetting the connection every 20-60 seconds or completely stopping the connection. it does it the most when im downloading torrents, and even if i open a port i still get the not-connectable error message. it worked fine till i updated it. Is there a way to downgrade it back to the original version?

My router's a Linksys BEFSR41v4

You can revert to a previous version. Just download the correct file.
By the way, that router is famous for its connection problems ^^'

matt4212 2007-08-03 02:51

one thing they dont have the original file on the website

grey_moon 2007-08-03 12:21

If it is the wireless connection, then the first thing I would do is to change the channel or at least check no one has the same channel set as u do as that will cause your connection to drop.

matt4212 2007-08-04 01:07

no its not wireless. can the ethernet cables do anything to mess it up? like age of the cable or type of cable?

Syaoran 2007-08-04 13:42

Cables could be damaged or broken... but to know if that's the case, it should be tested. From your story, it looks more like a software problem.

What was the original firmware version when it still worked? It's very likely that some site has a copy for download.

By the way, Linksys will stop soon. Cisco is gonna sell their hardware for the end-user market under it's own Cisco brand.

matt4212 2007-08-05 00:51

i dont remember what the original version was. i think it was 1.03.0something, but im not sure. i guess ill test the cables and see if thats the problem

TakutoKun 2007-08-06 19:29

Quote:

Originally Posted by matt4212 (Post 1075185)
well im having trouble with my router after i updated the firmware on it, and it keeps resetting the connection every 20-60 seconds or completely stopping the connection. it does it the most when im downloading torrents, and even if i open a port i still get the not-connectable error message. it worked fine till i updated it. Is there a way to downgrade it back to the original version?

My router's a Linksys BEFSR41v4

It seems that people have been having difficulty with this router - http://www.dslreports.com/forum/rema...84259~start=20 . From this page - http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satel...VisitorWrapper download the 1.04.09 firmware and the upgrade utility. Using the "upgrade utility" [TFTP] simply:

Server: 192.168.x.x (Your router's IP)
Password: router's password
File: Select the firmware you downloaded

matt4212 2007-08-07 00:23

Quote:

Originally Posted by matradley (Post 1081285)
It seems that people have been having difficulty with this router - http://www.dslreports.com/forum/rema...84259~start=20 . From this page - http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satel...VisitorWrapper download the 1.04.09 firmware and the upgrade utility. Using the "upgrade utility" [TFTP] simply:

Server: 192.168.x.x (Your router's IP)
Password: router's password
File: Select the firmware you downloaded

thats the firmware im talking about, upgraded to it and then the router just broke afterwards

TakutoKun 2007-08-07 04:06

Quote:

Originally Posted by matt4212 (Post 1081715)
thats the firmware im talking about, upgraded to it and then the router just broke afterwards

Here's a source for BEFSR41_v4_1.04.03 - http://www.sendspace.com/file/xitv8h .

matt4212 2007-08-08 23:53

thanks. that fixed it... for now

TakutoKun 2007-08-09 15:30

Quote:

Originally Posted by matt4212 (Post 1085584)
thanks. that fixed it... for now

That is a funny thing about firmware. Firmware updates your router to fix any bugs that have come up to ensure overall security and stability. At the same time, however, some firmware can cause your device to become the perfect doorstop.

matt4212 2007-08-10 01:51

Quote:

Originally Posted by matradley (Post 1086775)
That is a funny thing about firmware. Firmware updates your router to fix any bugs that have come up to ensure overall security and stability. At the same time, however, some firmware can cause your device to become the perfect doorstop.

well hooray for downgrades. i just hope the next version of the firmware isnt messed up

Tiberium Wolf 2007-08-10 02:06

If it's working for your needs then don't mess with firmware. It's the best way to stay out of trouble. Specially if it's new firmware. Let other ppl test it first. :p

matt4212 2007-08-13 00:36

yeah but i think the firmware had already been out for a while and i saw no questions on the help forums about the firmware messing up the other peoples routers. maybe it was just me. i always have bad luck with technology



ok i edited this to say that that firmware was... corrupt. it worked for a couple days then it brokethe router, so it took me 6 hours and a day not being able to play my 360 to figure out what was wrong with it. so i had to assign a static iip address to my computer then upgrade back up to the new firmware, and now im having the same problems... again


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.