AnimeSuki.com Forum

AnimeSuki Forum (http://forums.animesuki.com/index.php)
-   Playback Help (http://forums.animesuki.com/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Windows 7 WMP12 quality: what causes it? (http://forums.animesuki.com/showthread.php?t=77791)

demoran23 2009-02-05 16:17

Windows 7 WMP12 quality: what causes it?
 
I'm using the x64 Windows 7 beta build on my HTPC. I've got CCCP installed. When viewing an h.264 .mkv in Windows Media Player 7, the visual quality far exceeds that which I get in WMP Classic.

Does anyone know why WMP12 has such a vibrant display? Is there any way to replicate this effect in WMP Classic?

I noticed this first while watching Code Geass. There is a distinct difference in visual quality. WMP Classic appears washed out in comparison.

Antenor 2009-02-05 16:29

Might be the rendering engine used.

Windows Vista introduced EVR (Enhanced Video Renderer), I assume Windows 7 (and the bundled WMP) uses it a well. Media Player Classic typically uses the Haali Renderer, and its support of EVR is somewhat experimental (or just absent, depending on which version you use).

It's the only reason I can think of, since both players would use the same splitters and codecs.

demoran23 2009-02-05 16:53

I haven't used the Vista WMP. If it incorporates EVR as well, would it make sense that it would also have the same video quality? Maybe we're dealing with settings/version issues.

And if that's installed on the machine, could I set WMP Classic to use it though CCCP?

Antenor 2009-02-05 17:16

To be honest, I have never used WMP 11 on my Vista computer... I have a unique bug that has it stuck in a permanent mini-mode with no way out!

To use EVR in Media Player Classic, you can choose it in the Option prompt: Playback > Output. Pick either EVR or EVR Custom Pres (for softsub support). It's still stated as experimental, though.

Do keep us posted if that helps video quality.

TheFluff 2009-02-05 18:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by demoran23 (Post 2200432)
I'm using the x64 Windows 7 beta build on my HTPC. I've got CCCP installed. When viewing an h.264 .mkv in Windows Media Player 7, the visual quality far exceeds that which I get in WMP Classic.

Does anyone know why WMP12 has such a vibrant display? Is there any way to replicate this effect in WMP Classic?

I noticed this first while watching Code Geass. There is a distinct difference in visual quality. WMP Classic appears washed out in comparison.

"washed out" immediately makes me think of "wrong levels", and since MPC uses VMR on vista/win7 by default (IIRC) the problem should be easily solvable by not using such a shitty renderer. EVR isn't a good idea either for a number of reasons, just use Haali's renderer and your problem should be gone. View -> options -> playback -> output -> haali's renderer.

demoran23 2009-02-05 20:15

Thanks guys! You're totally right.

Changing the renderer settings in Output alleviates that problem. Haali and EVR look much better.

Problem solved! Now I finally have sane keyboard controls back =)

neothe0ne 2009-02-08 22:04

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheFluff (Post 2200662)
"washed out" immediately makes me think of "wrong levels", and since MPC uses VMR on vista/win7 by default (IIRC) the problem should be easily solvable by not using such a shitty renderer. EVR isn't a good idea either for a number of reasons, just use Haali's renderer and your problem should be gone. View -> options -> playback -> output -> haali's renderer.

Besides for DXVA-breaking encodes :p, what else makes EVR a bad idea?

TheFluff 2009-02-09 07:12

it has lots of odd issues, just search the cccp forums for "evr" and you'll find some examples

Mercurius 2009-04-04 03:48

*Bump* Just tried this myself on my Windows 7 box and it works great! Looks like whatever is 'System Default' for DirectShow on Vista/Windows 7 is crap, and not what WMP uses. Wish I found this thread earlier, I was getting pretty frustrated with the washed-out pixelated mess from MPC while WMP12 had beautiful playback. I'm just glad this isn't part of the whole "locking down codecs" drama or whatever.

I think this information should be in a sticky somewhere. Froth-bite's thread which I have been following for years was the reason I kept using system default for DirectShow.

cyth 2009-04-04 07:40

Yeah, too bad Froth-Bite's thread hasn't been maintained for years. See: (Last updated: 2007/02/08)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:49.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.