AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > AnimeSuki & Technology > Tech Support

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2007-08-03, 00:39   Link #1
matt4212
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NM
Age: 22
router problems

well im having trouble with my router after i updated the firmware on it, and it keeps resetting the connection every 20-60 seconds or completely stopping the connection. it does it the most when im downloading torrents, and even if i open a port i still get the not-connectable error message. it worked fine till i updated it. Is there a way to downgrade it back to the original version?

My router's a Linksys BEFSR41v4
matt4212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-08-03, 02:42   Link #2
Syaoran
Contemplating Naruto
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt4212 View Post
well im having trouble with my router after i updated the firmware on it, and it keeps resetting the connection every 20-60 seconds or completely stopping the connection. it does it the most when im downloading torrents, and even if i open a port i still get the not-connectable error message. it worked fine till i updated it. Is there a way to downgrade it back to the original version?

My router's a Linksys BEFSR41v4
You can revert to a previous version. Just download the correct file.
By the way, that router is famous for its connection problems ^^'
__________________

Visit http://syaoran.miniville.fr/ or help them get a job (~_^)
Syaoran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-08-03, 02:51   Link #3
matt4212
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NM
Age: 22
one thing they dont have the original file on the website
matt4212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-08-03, 12:21   Link #4
grey_moon
Yummy, sweet and unyuu!!!
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
If it is the wireless connection, then the first thing I would do is to change the channel or at least check no one has the same channel set as u do as that will cause your connection to drop.
__________________
grey_moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-08-04, 01:07   Link #5
matt4212
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NM
Age: 22
no its not wireless. can the ethernet cables do anything to mess it up? like age of the cable or type of cable?
matt4212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-08-04, 13:42   Link #6
Syaoran
Contemplating Naruto
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Cables could be damaged or broken... but to know if that's the case, it should be tested. From your story, it looks more like a software problem.

What was the original firmware version when it still worked? It's very likely that some site has a copy for download.

By the way, Linksys will stop soon. Cisco is gonna sell their hardware for the end-user market under it's own Cisco brand.
__________________

Visit http://syaoran.miniville.fr/ or help them get a job (~_^)
Syaoran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-08-05, 00:51   Link #7
matt4212
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NM
Age: 22
i dont remember what the original version was. i think it was 1.03.0something, but im not sure. i guess ill test the cables and see if thats the problem
matt4212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-08-06, 19:29   Link #8
TakutoKun
Mew Member
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Age: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt4212 View Post
well im having trouble with my router after i updated the firmware on it, and it keeps resetting the connection every 20-60 seconds or completely stopping the connection. it does it the most when im downloading torrents, and even if i open a port i still get the not-connectable error message. it worked fine till i updated it. Is there a way to downgrade it back to the original version?

My router's a Linksys BEFSR41v4
It seems that people have been having difficulty with this router - http://www.dslreports.com/forum/rema...84259~start=20 . From this page - http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satel...VisitorWrapper download the 1.04.09 firmware and the upgrade utility. Using the "upgrade utility" [TFTP] simply:

Server: 192.168.x.x (Your router's IP)
Password: router's password
File: Select the firmware you downloaded
TakutoKun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-08-07, 00:23   Link #9
matt4212
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NM
Age: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by matradley View Post
It seems that people have been having difficulty with this router - http://www.dslreports.com/forum/rema...84259~start=20 . From this page - http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satel...VisitorWrapper download the 1.04.09 firmware and the upgrade utility. Using the "upgrade utility" [TFTP] simply:

Server: 192.168.x.x (Your router's IP)
Password: router's password
File: Select the firmware you downloaded
thats the firmware im talking about, upgraded to it and then the router just broke afterwards
matt4212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-08-07, 04:06   Link #10
TakutoKun
Mew Member
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Age: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt4212 View Post
thats the firmware im talking about, upgraded to it and then the router just broke afterwards
Here's a source for BEFSR41_v4_1.04.03 - http://www.sendspace.com/file/xitv8h .
TakutoKun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-08-08, 23:53   Link #11
matt4212
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NM
Age: 22
thanks. that fixed it... for now
matt4212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-08-09, 15:30   Link #12
TakutoKun
Mew Member
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Age: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt4212 View Post
thanks. that fixed it... for now
That is a funny thing about firmware. Firmware updates your router to fix any bugs that have come up to ensure overall security and stability. At the same time, however, some firmware can cause your device to become the perfect doorstop.
TakutoKun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-08-10, 01:51   Link #13
matt4212
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NM
Age: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by matradley View Post
That is a funny thing about firmware. Firmware updates your router to fix any bugs that have come up to ensure overall security and stability. At the same time, however, some firmware can cause your device to become the perfect doorstop.
well hooray for downgrades. i just hope the next version of the firmware isnt messed up
matt4212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-08-10, 02:06   Link #14
Tiberium Wolf
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portugal
Age: 34
If it's working for your needs then don't mess with firmware. It's the best way to stay out of trouble. Specially if it's new firmware. Let other ppl test it first.
__________________
Tiberium Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-08-13, 00:36   Link #15
matt4212
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NM
Age: 22
yeah but i think the firmware had already been out for a while and i saw no questions on the help forums about the firmware messing up the other peoples routers. maybe it was just me. i always have bad luck with technology



ok i edited this to say that that firmware was... corrupt. it worked for a couple days then it brokethe router, so it took me 6 hours and a day not being able to play my 360 to figure out what was wrong with it. so i had to assign a static iip address to my computer then upgrade back up to the new firmware, and now im having the same problems... again

Last edited by matt4212; 2007-08-15 at 00:29. Reason: added to it
matt4212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.