AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > AnimeSuki & Technology > Tech Support

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2004-03-15, 16:22   Link #1
HopelessLover
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Need help with computer...

I want to simultanously play Monopoly with my cousin using the 2 computers in my house with out messing around with the internet, but I don't have a clue how I go and do it. I know I have to set up a lan connection but how do i do it? I have 10/100 enthernet adapters on both computers (different brand name adapters), and 3 long network cables to connect them, and both computers have windows xp. Can some one please help me? BTW, the game I have installed monopoly 3 on both computers.
HopelessLover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-03-15, 16:25   Link #2
RavenChild
エリック
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: my closet, deep and dark
Age: 26
Send a message via AIM to RavenChild Send a message via MSN to RavenChild
try the support forum. there is one believe it or not. if you aren't using a hub then you need crossover cables.
__________________
************* RavenChild **************
RavenChild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-03-15, 16:26   Link #3
Jinto
Asuki-tan Kairin ↓
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fürth (GER)
Age: 33
Without a switch or hub between the two PCs you'll need a so called cross over LAN cable. There is one RJ45 twisted so that the outgoing traffic of the one PC is directed to the ingoing part of the other PC and vice versa. With normal LAN cables you will connect ingoing with ingoing and outgoing with outgoing... so the data will a) collide and b) never reach its destination.
Jinto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-03-15, 16:34   Link #4
HopelessLover
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jinto Lin
Without a switch or hub between the two PCs you'll need a so called cross over LAN cable. There is one RJ45 twisted so that the outgoing traffic of the one PC is directed to the ingoing part of the other PC and vice versa. With normal LAN cables you will connect ingoing with ingoing and outgoing with outgoing... so the data will a) collide and b) never reach its destination.
Like I said I already have 3 of those lan cables, but I don't know what to do with them to set up computers so we both can play monopoly at the same time on the same game.
HopelessLover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-03-15, 16:47   Link #5
Jinto
Asuki-tan Kairin ↓
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fürth (GER)
Age: 33
plug one of the crossover cables in the two PCs. Then you will give both PCs static IPs like 192.168.0.1 and 192.168.0.2 and set a subnetmask of 255.255.255.0 actually Windows XP will do most of the stuff by itself. Very important is to share the same workgroup. Because Windows thinks in workgroups... so do most of the games running on Windows.
Jinto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-03-15, 16:54   Link #6
HopelessLover
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jinto Lin
plug one of the crossover cables in the two PCs. Then you will give both PCs static IPs like 192.168.0.1 and 192.168.0.2 and set a subnetmask of 255.255.255.0 actually Windows XP will do most of the stuff by itself. Very important is to share the same workgroup. Because Windows thinks in workgroups... so do most of the games running on Windows.
Can you please be more descriptive becuase I don't know much about computers.
HopelessLover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-03-15, 17:09   Link #7
Jinto
Asuki-tan Kairin ↓
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fürth (GER)
Age: 33
well I could describe it in detail in german... but I have no clue how MS called the things in the english version of Windows XP

you may find your answers following this link:

http://www.cellarstoneindia.com/cabl...%20to%20XP.pdf
Jinto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-03-15, 18:32   Link #8
Lexander
www.thefestlanders.com
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
You're setting up a lan so you can play monopoly. omg lolz.
Lexander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-03-15, 18:40   Link #9
chris
[root@localhost]#
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
go do yourself a favor, buy a router, i am almost posidive that you dont want me to go into a great deal on networking in windows so. Assuming you have a roughter hook ur to comps up with the rj45 cable to the roughter in the lan ports. There should be a wan port on ur router as well that is the wide area network, hook ur home cable/ dsl modem to the wan port with 1 rj 45 cable. Now in xp go to control panal > system > computer name > change. Then make your workgroup name the same. make shure ur on a workgroup not a domain. That is all the information i can give you because it depends now on if the game you want to play supports lan play... if not ur sol if so have soleone be the host and the other join.

well thats all the help im willing to give.
chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 23:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.