AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > General > General Chat

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2008-02-29, 00:39   Link #41
Takeru
Jag šter idioter
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Vereinigte Staaten
Age: 25
Send a message via AIM to Takeru Send a message via Skype™ to Takeru
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nenkitsune View Post
is it only AS or is it any forum that uses Vbulletin?
I wouldn't know, as this is the only forum that I use.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Epyon9283 View Post
Wow the latest nightlies of 3.0pre4 seem really fast on OS X. They fixed an annoying flash rendering bug too.
Really? I may have to go check that out then.
__________________
Takeru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-02-29, 00:47   Link #42
grey_moon
Yummy, sweet and unyuu!!!
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
@Epyon9283 - Have you tried the following link for KDE integration yet?

http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Integrate_Firefox_with_KDE
__________________
grey_moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-02-29, 01:00   Link #43
ac3y
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Speaking of firefox, does anyone else have a problem with 2.0.0.12 periodically gobbling 70%-ish of processing power (not RAM, CPU power)?
I get that sometimes, and the browser just slows down practically to a standstill.
ac3y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-02-29, 01:30   Link #44
Takeru
Jag šter idioter
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Vereinigte Staaten
Age: 25
Send a message via AIM to Takeru Send a message via Skype™ to Takeru
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac3y View Post
Speaking of firefox, does anyone else have a problem with 2.0.0.12 periodically gobbling 70%-ish of processing power (not RAM, CPU power)?
I get that sometimes, and the browser just slows down practically to a standstill.
Mine never slowed down or took 70% of my processor unless I was doing Flash or streaming video. But, mine did like to crash on me at random intervals.
__________________
Takeru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-02-29, 02:11   Link #45
grey_moon
Yummy, sweet and unyuu!!!
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac3y View Post
Speaking of firefox, does anyone else have a problem with 2.0.0.12 periodically gobbling 70%-ish of processing power (not RAM, CPU power)?
I get that sometimes, and the browser just slows down practically to a standstill.
It happens to me when I think it gets confused between tabbed and open program mode. Sometimes if another window is opened and something like printing tries to access it, my CPU goes bananas. I normally use tabbed mode. I haven't really tried to fix it as it is rare enough. I do recognise it, since it is bleeping annoying when I want to print out bank transactions and I loose the whole thing. Thank goodness for screen shots
__________________
grey_moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-02-29, 02:32   Link #46
Synria_
Aboard Kallen's Bandwagon
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: California
Currently firefox has a MEMORY LEAK... in which if you leave it on for a long time, it will slowly eat your cpu/ram usage. Do not leave firefox on for a prolonged time otherwise the memory leak will continue stacking on each other. The creators said they should fix this in the next version (3.0).
__________________
http://forums.animesuki.com/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=74320&dateline=120433  1734
Synria_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-02-29, 03:00   Link #47
Dxon
Inactive user
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Holland,Zuid-holland,Capelle aan den IJssel
Age: 22
Thank god! After 1 hour of browsing firefox has grown to 150 freakin' MB RAM usage!

I already thought it was weird.
__________________
I don't want a sig anymore.. It's going to get removed anyway.
Gimme Cookies!!
People's screens are to small for my signature.
Dxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-02-29, 03:11   Link #48
USB500
*facepalm.jpg*
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Gensokyo
Age: 30
Send a message via MSN to USB500 Send a message via Yahoo to USB500 Send a message via Skype™ to USB500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cipher7 View Post
Currently firefox has a MEMORY LEAK... in which if you leave it on for a long time, it will slowly eat your cpu/ram usage. Do not leave firefox on for a prolonged time otherwise the memory leak will continue stacking on each other. The creators said they should fix this in the next version (3.0).
So that's why.

Well, looks like we have to wait til V3.0 comes out.
__________________
USB500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-02-29, 09:07   Link #49
Dxon
Inactive user
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Holland,Zuid-holland,Capelle aan den IJssel
Age: 22
V3.0 is out. But still in beta. Grand Paradiso is the project name.

I wouldnt try it if I were you. If you have any other version of firefox installed then you should not install 3. This will create compatibility problems and long waiting for checking on the add-ons you got.

I for Firefox 2 have installed a media player plug-in which makes me able to show Media Player. I searched for it for 2 days and finally found it.

Ah well.. That was about 1.5 years ago. Or was it 0.5 years? Or 1 year? Ah forget it. >o<
__________________
I don't want a sig anymore.. It's going to get removed anyway.
Gimme Cookies!!
People's screens are to small for my signature.
Dxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-02-29, 10:43   Link #50
grey_moon
Yummy, sweet and unyuu!!!
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cipher7 View Post
Currently firefox has a MEMORY LEAK... in which if you leave it on for a long time, it will slowly eat your cpu/ram usage. Do not leave firefox on for a prolonged time otherwise the memory leak will continue stacking on each other. The creators said they should fix this in the next version (3.0).
Mines been left on with over *quickly counts* 10 tabs and for over 16 days it hovers about 200MB.

Is this a new bug? I thought the memory usage was a feature and not a bug.
__________________
grey_moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-02-29, 11:45   Link #51
Dxon
Inactive user
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Holland,Zuid-holland,Capelle aan den IJssel
Age: 22
I use ally get around 200 MB RAM usage after like 30 mins after several checks. Even if I have only 1 tab open. O_O
__________________
I don't want a sig anymore.. It's going to get removed anyway.
Gimme Cookies!!
People's screens are to small for my signature.
Dxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-02-29, 12:56   Link #52
Synria_
Aboard Kallen's Bandwagon
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: California
Yes it's a bug they cannot identify right now. As long as you close firefox regularly it's fine. But leaving firefox on for over a day will definitely create some lag in your computer.
__________________
http://forums.animesuki.com/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=74320&dateline=120433  1734
Synria_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-02-29, 15:00   Link #53
King Lycan
User Title eaten by ravenous bunnies
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Zeon
Age: 23
Im testing Firefox Beta 3 verison 3 XD
__________________
King Lycan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-02-29, 15:02   Link #54
Dxon
Inactive user
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Holland,Zuid-holland,Capelle aan den IJssel
Age: 22
Good luck.. I think it sucks.. At least.. When I tested it. That was like 6 months ago.
__________________
I don't want a sig anymore.. It's going to get removed anyway.
Gimme Cookies!!
People's screens are to small for my signature.
Dxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-02-29, 15:03   Link #55
King Lycan
User Title eaten by ravenous bunnies
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Zeon
Age: 23
Blasphemy it rocks Dxon
__________________
King Lycan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-02-29, 16:36   Link #56
Dxon
Inactive user
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Holland,Zuid-holland,Capelle aan den IJssel
Age: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Lycan View Post
Blasphemy it rocks Dxon
Blasphemy:

A ticket to hell has never been funnier.


Anyway..

I got this add-on. Called mouse gestures. Make me able to gestures with my mouse and then open new tabs or some other things.

Also can add new gestures. Like when I make a triangle I open AnimeSuki forum in a new tab!
__________________
I don't want a sig anymore.. It's going to get removed anyway.
Gimme Cookies!!
People's screens are to small for my signature.
Dxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-02-29, 17:07   Link #57
Joe1991
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, England
Age: 23
Send a message via MSN to Joe1991
thanks for the lolifox info, although i doubt i will use it much it's still cool to have.

Does anybody know if it is still being updated? latest version was released in October.
Joe1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-02-29, 20:41   Link #58
Takeru
Jag šter idioter
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Vereinigte Staaten
Age: 25
Send a message via AIM to Takeru Send a message via Skype™ to Takeru
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe1991 View Post
thanks for the lolifox info, although i doubt i will use it much it's still cool to have.

Does anybody know if it is still being updated? latest version was released in October.
I tried to find it yesterday, but it seems their site has disappeared.

EDIT: nevermind, there's a banner on it now that says "Temporarily closed until the next version"
__________________
Takeru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-03-01, 01:48   Link #59
Vexx
Obey the Darkly Cute ...
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: On the whole, I'd rather be in Kyoto ...
Age: 57
Heh..... for some reason I'm compelled to keep an eye on this - though I'd rather just have a lolifox theme for Firefox 3.0 when it releases
__________________
Vexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-03-01, 02:16   Link #60
grey_moon
Yummy, sweet and unyuu!!!
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cipher7 View Post
Yes it's a bug they cannot identify right now. As long as you close firefox regularly it's fine. But leaving firefox on for over a day will definitely create some lag in your computer.
Cheers for the heads up, I'll have to keep that in mind. Currently with Ubuntu 7.04 and FF2 I don't seem to get that issue. I get a massive CPU spike sometimes when I try to print a FF window that has been spawned by something like a bank site (it bypasses my open in new tab setting). I think it confuses my system as it doesn't know what window to access or something like that. It is pretty rare, but due to the nature of it since I need to have a copy of my transactions I really do notice it .

The reason why I asked if it is a official bug or feature is because there have been loads of reports of FF memory leaking before only to be the link read ahead function (or what ever it is called) to make for faster browsing.
__________________
grey_moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
browser, firefox, news, software

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.