AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > AnimeSuki & Technology > Tech Support

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2004-04-19, 19:52   Link #1
RavenChild
エリック
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: my closet, deep and dark
Age: 26
Send a message via AIM to RavenChild Send a message via MSN to RavenChild
Samba Problems

I'm running samba 3 (the current release) and when i connect to a windows share, it asks me for my password for each file. on this server, my password is ~30 characters and this can get tiring after two or three files. if someone could help me in any way that would be great. thanks in advance.

ohh, i'm running knoppix (a debian distro) and i did have e erything installed right untill i upgraded to samba 3 to work with windows 2003 server.

<edit>

I have found out that there is a problem with passwords and kde3 konqueror. if any of you know of a way to browse samba shares that can remember passwords and stuff, that would be great.

</edit>
__________________
************* RavenChild **************

Last edited by RavenChild; 2004-04-20 at 14:33.
RavenChild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-04-24, 15:34   Link #2
RavenChild
エリック
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: my closet, deep and dark
Age: 26
Send a message via AIM to RavenChild Send a message via MSN to RavenChild
Does anyone know any programs/procudures that i might be able to use this share w/o entering a password?
__________________
************* RavenChild **************
RavenChild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-04-24, 15:57   Link #3
NightWish
…Nothing More
*Administrator
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Age: 34
I've not had the problem myself as I don't browse the SMB shares via the desktop very much... and I can't tell you what you are doing wrong as I'm no expert on the subject... Have you looked at the smb* tools in the {path_to_samba}/bin directory? Personally I use smbclient and mount -t smbfs ... more than any other method...
__________________
🐾
…to be bold, to be brave; it is the thinking that the heart can still be saved.
And the darkness can come quick. The danger's in the anger and the hanging on to it.
NightWish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-04-24, 19:05   Link #4
RavenChild
エリック
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: my closet, deep and dark
Age: 26
Send a message via AIM to RavenChild Send a message via MSN to RavenChild
yeah, i've tried almost all programs/ways to get samba shares but every one of them keeps asking for my password or saying permission denied. i've been accessing the shares through an ftp instead. it keeps my password and stuff for that ftp session.
__________________
************* RavenChild **************
RavenChild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-04-25, 06:12   Link #5
Nevion
/dev/random
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Age: 29
it sounds like that error when you don't create a samba password but on the wrong box o_O
afaik, once a samba share is mounted an app should not know its not part of a local mounted filesystem, shares where meant to be accessed transparently. In other words I'm hinting its prlly not konquerer thats the problem. Are you sure your configurations are solid on both boxes? It sounds like out of the 2 the w2k3 server is the culprit since when you access its shares you have the problem and you didn't say anything about it accessing the samba shares.... Perhaps its got some type of timeout for a login or samba doesn't succesfully keep alive the connection for those shares? And as verifycation that it is/isn't konquerer, open up konsole and try to access/browse/do a few io operations to the w2k3 server and see if you get the same problems.
Nevion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.