AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > Anime Related Topics > Fansub Groups

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2010-11-14, 10:23   Link #521
gorgonite
C
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desbreko View Post
Did you reboot before reinstalling the CCCP? Also, make sure you don't have any post-processing filters enabled in ffdshow or MPC-HC.
I solved the problem by setting the VSFilter Subpicture pre-buffring on.
Unfortuatly that commanfd don't work for me.
gorgonite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-11-14, 16:08   Link #522
Daiz
Pioneer in Fansub 2.0
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker View Post
You are correct, it can and eac3to can use it.
Oh, good to know.
__________________
"A good user is remembered from his posts, not from his 160px tall animated 'pink flying unicorns' signature picture."
---
The Guide for best H.264 playback
Daiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-11-15, 09:31   Link #523
Mentar
Sore wa himitsu desu!
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Hamburg
Age: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by gorgonite View Post
I solved the problem by setting the VSFilter Subpicture pre-buffring on.
Unfortuatly that commanfd don't work for me.
You better be aware though that turning VSfilter Subpicture pre-buffering ON, you disable moving soft signs, soft karaoke transitions and fade effects, among other things.

It's something you shouldn't turn on except in the most desperate CPU conditions.
Mentar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-11-15, 18:28   Link #524
gorgonite
C
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mentar View Post
You better be aware though that turning VSfilter Subpicture pre-buffering ON, you disable moving soft signs, soft karaoke transitions and fade effects, among other things.

It's something you shouldn't turn on except in the most desperate CPU conditions.
I just wanted to feed this back,
I don't have playback issues with VSfilter Subpicture pre-buffering set ON with any kind of non retarded softsubbed stuff when I play the video normally (from the start to the end). But when I change the position to one that have moving signs or soft-k the effect don't play in a stable way just for the effect-time. The CPU is T6600.
gorgonite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-11-18, 04:25   Link #525
fireshark
CRF Believer
*Fansubber
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Send a message via AIM to fireshark
T6600 should be more than capable of handling anything. Maybe you are using a crappy codec? Maybe you should try reinstalling.
fireshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-11-22, 14:52   Link #526
Mr VacBob
yotsuba channel
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: GA
Age: 26
Send a message via AIM to Mr VacBob
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFluff View Post
FGO is still relevant, even for anime. It's even advantageous to use a low level of FGO (~5) on non-grainy anime sources that have been gradfunkmirror()'d, it helps a lot with preserving gradients. It can be used together with low (<0.5) psyrd without any ill effects, but I haven't tested it together with psytrellis or higher psyrd myself.
Theoretically psy-rd is a better replacement for FGO, but the current version of psy-rd doesn't try hard enough to keep very small grain. So it's safe enough to try it.
Mr VacBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-11-24, 01:48   Link #527
Dark Shikari
x264 Developer
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr VacBob View Post
Theoretically psy-rd is a better replacement for FGO, but the current version of psy-rd doesn't try hard enough to keep very small grain. So it's safe enough to try it.
This might just be because psy-rd scales its strength down at low quantizers, while FGO didn't.
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-12-05, 17:05   Link #528
matteas
Member Member
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Czech Republic
Age: 22
My question might sound dumb, but I really need some help with it. I'm trying to convert a DVD into MKV. I've created the .d2v file with DGIndex, ITVC'd it and applied some other filters in AviSynth, and processed it through MeGui into the final .mkv file. However, only later did I realize that there's something wrong with the aspect ratio.

I did some research and found what I should probably do. I've got here a NTSC DVD 16:9 with SAR 40:33, so I should crop it to 704x480, the closest mod16 resolution to the active frame of 710.85480. In my AviSynth script I cropped it to 704x480 using Crop(8,0,-8,0), and what do I do now? Can I do something in AviSynth (like LanczosResize) or do I have to set something in MeGui? I tried reading some instructions but everyone said something completely different.

A few minutes later

I found an option to set DAR in MeGui. I thought I should use 1.823, however 1.778 seems to be the correct one. Does it have to do anything with me cropping it in AviSynth? Or is it just my imagination and 1.823 is correct?

Still, I'd like to know if I can get the right aspect ratio by setting SAR instead?
matteas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-12-05, 19:34   Link #529
jfs
Aegisub dev
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Age: 29
As long as you haven't resampled the video frame, the SAR is constant regardless of crop. That's the point of using the sample aspect ratio, rather than the display (or frame) aspect ratio.

Also I believe that the sample aspect ratio for 16:9 480 line video would be more along the lines of 1.2:1.

480 lines / (16/9 pixels/line) = 853.33 pixels
853.33 display pixels / 710.85 encoded pixels = 1.2 stretch factor

Please correct me if I'm wrong.
__________________

Aegisub developer [ Forum | Manual | Feature requests | Bug reports | IRC ]
Don't ask for: More VSFilter changes (I won't), karaoke effects, help in PM's
jfs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-12-05, 22:43   Link #530
Quarkboy
Anime Translator
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Age: 34
Send a message via AIM to Quarkboy
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfs View Post
As long as you haven't resampled the video frame, the SAR is constant regardless of crop. That's the point of using the sample aspect ratio, rather than the display (or frame) aspect ratio.

Also I believe that the sample aspect ratio for 16:9 480 line video would be more along the lines of 1.2:1.

480 lines / (16/9 pixels/line) = 853.33 pixels
853.33 display pixels / 710.85 encoded pixels = 1.2 stretch factor

Please correct me if I'm wrong.
You're right, but there's an easier way to calculate it in my opinion.
DAR / SAR = PAR, so (16/9) / (3/2) = 32/27 = 1.18 = PAR.

(DAR is Display Aspect Ratio, SAR is Storage Aspect Ratio, and PAR is Pixel Aspect Ratio = stretch factor).

The PAR for 16/9 DVD video should be 32/27 (1.18)
The PAR for 4/3 DVD video should likewise be 8/9 (0.89).
__________________
Yomiuri Television Enterprise
International Media Strategy Chief
Sam Pinansky
Quarkboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-12-06, 07:52   Link #531
sneaker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
SAR != PAR? Aren't those just two different names for the same thing?

/edit: wikipedia says you're right...
sneaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-12-06, 16:39   Link #532
matteas
Member Member
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Czech Republic
Age: 22
Thanks for your advices. In the end I decided to try out different settings and compare the results. The video file I eventually muxed into my final matroska file was encoded with --sar 40:33 line. There is one thing that's been bothering me regarding this. 40:33 is PAR, isn't it? Then why is it "--sar"?

If anyone was interested, here's what I got:

DAR set to 1.823 produced the same file size as --sar 32:27. DAR 1.823 was too flat, --sar 32:27 was too stretched.
--sar 40:33 gave me the correct ratio. The final AR was 853x480 (though MPC plays it at 704x396 with borders expanding it to 704x480). I also achieved the same result by setting DAR to 1.778 (16:9).
matteas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-12-06, 18:53   Link #533
Desbreko
Senior Member
*Fansubber
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Age: 26
Send a message via AIM to Desbreko
SAR can mean either Storage Aspect Ratio or Sample Aspect Ratio. The former is the aspect ratio of the encoded video frame (in this case, 704/480) and the latter is the same thing as PAR (Pixel Aspect Ratio).
Desbreko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-12-07, 18:35   Link #534
matteas
Member Member
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Czech Republic
Age: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desbreko View Post
SAR can mean either Storage Aspect Ratio or Sample Aspect Ratio. The former is the aspect ratio of the encoded video frame (in this case, 704/480) and the latter is the same thing as PAR (Pixel Aspect Ratio).
I see. So as PAR can mean either pixel aspect ratio or picture aspect ratio, SAR also has two possible interpretations. That's really messed up
matteas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-12-08, 12:04   Link #535
TGEN
Far out, man!
*Fansubber
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Age: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by matteas View Post
I see. So as PAR can mean either pixel aspect ratio or picture aspect ratio
Who uses PAR to mean Picture Aspect Ratio? They should be shot for unnecessarily introducing more ambiguity.
TGEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-12-09, 03:57   Link #536
Quarkboy
Anime Translator
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Age: 34
Send a message via AIM to Quarkboy
Quote:
Originally Posted by TGEN View Post
Who uses PAR to mean Picture Aspect Ratio? They should be shot for unnecessarily introducing more ambiguity.
I think PAR means picture aspect ratio when applied to the world of still photography and/or cinematography.

Terminology sucks, ya know? Anyway that's why I was specific to what PAR meant in my post.
__________________
Yomiuri Television Enterprise
International Media Strategy Chief
Sam Pinansky
Quarkboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-10-05, 08:31   Link #537
gilcohen
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
a=DirectShowSource(Video,fps=23.976,convertfps=true)
b=DirectShowSource(Video,fps=23.976,convertfps=true).Trim(2159,33311)
c=a+b
return C
TEXTSUB(Subtitles)
TEXTSUB(Subtitles)

HE subtites are not show in the AVSP...
I did something wrong?
TNX
gilcohen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-10-05, 16:49   Link #538
jfs
Aegisub dev
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Age: 29
Yes. You did something wrong.

After the "return" statement, nothing more is done, that's what return means. It means "the clip given here is the final result", in this case it's the "C" clip.
__________________

Aegisub developer [ Forum | Manual | Feature requests | Bug reports | IRC ]
Don't ask for: More VSFilter changes (I won't), karaoke effects, help in PM's
jfs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-10-05, 23:55   Link #539
gilcohen
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Emm TNX! I fixed it like that:

a=DirectShowSource(Video,fps=23.976,convertfps=true)
b=DirectShowSource(Video,fps=23.976,convertfps=true).Trim(2159,33311)
last=a+b
TEXTSUB(Subtitles)
TEXTSUB(Subtitles)
Workin'!

edit: I have anothr problem ):

Avsp write: "the audio of the two clips have different samplerates, use
SSRC/()ResampleAudio()"

What is SSRC ot Resampeaudio?
Thanks.

Last edited by gilcohen; 2011-10-06 at 14:08.
gilcohen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-10-11, 14:21   Link #540
gilcohen
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Up^ after a week~
__________________
Beelzebub forever! XD
gilcohen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.