AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > AnimeSuki & Technology > Tech Support

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2004-07-04, 01:15   Link #1
Shadowlord
~DESU
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada eh?
Age: 27
Linux Commands

I know that this has been asked before, but I can't find it here anywhere. i have also done a search on google, and all the websites i find dont give the commands im looking for.

Basically, my friend wants a list of basic linux commands. He wants commands such as extracting compressed files such as gzip, tar, etc. and also installation commands.

Can anyone recommend a good website?







P.S. to any moderators or admins, you should make a linux section here for questions as many people seem to recommend it to others.
__________________
Shadowlord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-07-04, 02:49   Link #2
Jikson
AnimeSuki Kage
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: California, US
This should help you quite a bit. It has all the useful Linux commands.

http://www.er.uqam.ca/nobel/r10735/unixcomm.html

Enjoy!
Jikson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-07-04, 13:43   Link #3
Dopeskills
Thigh Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Jersey, USA
Age: 32
Send a message via ICQ to Dopeskills Send a message via AIM to Dopeskills Send a message via MSN to Dopeskills
also: don't forget to look up the manual entries for programs like bzip2, etc...

example: man bzip2
Dopeskills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-07-04, 14:23   Link #4
Forse
r00t for life
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: /dev/null
just type info in shell and it will give u basic commands and detailed info on what they do
Forse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-07-06, 01:02   Link #5
Shadowlord
~DESU
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada eh?
Age: 27
wow, thanks for the help, I am very glad as I didn't want to have to write all the commands out manually for my friend. Thanks guys/gals
__________________
Shadowlord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-07-06, 03:14   Link #6
Roots
外人、漫画訳者
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Age: 31
Also I found this guide particularly helpful when I first started using Linux: Linux Newbie Guide. It only covers a handful of commands and is by no means an all-encompassing guide, but it covers the basics pretty well I think.
__________________

Hero of Allacrost, a free 2D RPG in development.
Roots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-10-23, 14:43   Link #7
Karma
Almost a Cactuar
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oregon - USA
Send a message via AIM to Karma Send a message via MSN to Karma Send a message via Skype™ to Karma
RAWR!
I need some help. I'm trying to install Gentoo on my computer. I setup my partitions without reformatting first (incase that makes a difference, I don't think it does, but whatever). And then i procedded with the installation. I was loading the stages and portage when it began to say 'Cannot Write: No space available left on current device. Skipping to next header.' I'm unsure what to do now.
Thanks for your help (and sorry if this is the wrong thread).

Last edited by Karma; 2004-10-23 at 15:10.
Karma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-10-23, 16:56   Link #8
Forse
r00t for life
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: /dev/null
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karma
RAWR!
I need some help. I'm trying to install Gentoo on my computer. I setup my partitions without reformatting first (incase that makes a difference, I don't think it does, but whatever). And then i procedded with the installation. I was loading the stages and portage when it began to say 'Cannot Write: No space available left on current device. Skipping to next header.' I'm unsure what to do now.
Thanks for your help (and sorry if this is the wrong thread).
Make sure you created partitions correctly. After creation of partitions if you have created/modified any msdos partitions you'll need to restart. Also after you're done with partitions you'll need to format them (ex mkswap, mkfs.ext3 and so on). After that you need to mount it...

Did you do all of those right?
__________________
Forse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-10-24, 22:36   Link #9
Karma
Almost a Cactuar
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oregon - USA
Send a message via AIM to Karma Send a message via MSN to Karma Send a message via Skype™ to Karma
I didn't mount the drives, that's why it wasn't allowing me to install anything. Thanks a bunch Forse!
Karma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.