AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > Anime Related Topics > Games

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2011-10-02, 06:17   Link #221
Kaze
「Darkly Charismatic 」
*Artist
 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Lounge
Quote:
Originally Posted by -KarumA- View Post
disco lakes because of graphics card overheating not to mention my core hitting over baking temperatures.
Hahaha, 5 years ago I've had this problem too in Oblivion, and grass stretching far and wide as the eye can see


Quote:
Originally Posted by -KarumA- View Post
Pre ordered the game finally, 11 nov I am locking myself up in my room.
I won't bother pre-ordering it, as the map you get is hardly worth it, I'll just pick it up in the store as I head home.

Luckily for me, my college is giving me 2 weeks holiday in november to prepare for my exchange to Canada.
Guess what I will be doing then
Kaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-10-02, 08:30   Link #222
Dist
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Finland
Age: 23
Send a message via MSN to Dist
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aqua Knight View Post
I am worried about PC specs as my PC couldn't run new Deus Ex. I wonder if I can run Skyrim.
If not even on minimum graphics then you definitely won't be able to play Skyrim. It's time to update your computers folks. I did mine about a month ago specifically because I am so excited about Skyrim.

Too bad I was not able to afford GTX590 though

Speaking of Oblivion, that game requires alot from your computer.. Well, same probably will go for Skyrim but even so. My previous computer, bought just 2.5 years ago, was not able to run Oblivion on max graphics. All else was fine but in the open world with land as far as eye can see, it would often stutter as moving about :x.

Even with this new rig of mine, I'm worried about how Skyrim will fare if i turn up everything to max.
__________________
The joys of a universe made and unmade, friends across time, shall be your ray of light
Dist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-10-02, 09:06   Link #223
Aqua Knight
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 22
I'm fine with low-medium settings. And it's strange that Deus Ex could start while Witcher 2 could though on min settings.
__________________
I can’t sleep tonight…fish girl, sing me a song!
Aqua Knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-10-02, 09:39   Link #224
Dist
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Finland
Age: 23
Send a message via MSN to Dist
Deus Ex's graphics are nothing to drool over though, unlike in Skyrim. I think the biggest problem in Skyrim for people will be as was with oblivion : the open world and the amount of resources it requires from your computer to draw it all there.

Maybe you can run it on minimum graphics but do you want to? It will look awful.. might as well go play Oblivion :x
__________________
The joys of a universe made and unmade, friends across time, shall be your ray of light
Dist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-10-02, 12:33   Link #225
Hooves
♣~Sleepy~♣
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Xanadu
Age: 20
Send a message via Skype™ to Hooves
Still, when you go into hawk view of the world. Rendering all that landscape is going to be a pain even with low graphics depending on if your computer has trouble handling your character walking through the world alone,
__________________
MyAnimeList (Hoovesahoy)
Avatar from: Hooves
Signature from: Patchy
Hooves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-10-03, 08:40   Link #226
Jaden
Witch of Betrayal
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Age: 26
Don't think you need that high specs, since even the xbox version of the game looks decent.
__________________
Jaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-10-03, 08:58   Link #227
calorie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Tannhäuser Gate
Age: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaden View Post
Don't think you need that high specs, since even the xbox version of the game looks decent.
This. There's a thread over at BethSoft Forums with predictions on what graphics settings will be possible to run (smoothly) based on the GPU etc. My laptop seems to fall into the category of being able to run the game on medium/console quality settings and that's good enough for me. Deus Ex:HR runs fine for me with SSAO off and without any DX11 resource hogs, for what it's worth.
calorie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-10-03, 09:27   Link #228
Mr Hat and Clogs
Troublemaker Fanclub
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Age: 31
Yeah, I'm in a similar boat with my laptop. I was able to run Witcher 2 more or less fine in most places with the graphics turned down some. I'm expecting to be able to run Skyrim on it when I'm off out and about, won't be as good as the desktop but as long as it's playable.
__________________
Mr Hat and Clogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-10-21, 10:06   Link #229
killer3000ad
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Age: 31


GTTV has some new info, including a bit about allying with one dragon whom you can call later to assist you.
__________________
killer3000ad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-10-25, 16:02   Link #230
Sides
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Edinburgh
Age: 32
I was concerned about the specs, and was thinking to skip this game, but the revealed specs on Bethesda PR blog wasn't too bad

Quote:
Originally Posted by http://www.bethblog.com/
Recommended Specs

Windows 7/Vista/XP PC (32 or 64 bit)
Processor: Quad-core Intel or AMD CPU
4GB System RAM
6GB free HDD space
DirectX 9 compatible NVIDIA or AMD ATI video card with 1GB of RAM (Nvidia GeForce GTX 260 or higher; ATI Radeon 4890 or higher).
DirectX compatible sound card
Internet access for Steam activation

Minimum Specs

Windows 7/Vista/XP PC (32 or 64 bit)
Processor: Dual Core 2.0GHz or equivalent processor
2GB System RAM
6GB free HDD Space
Direct X 9 compliant video card with 512 MB of RAM
DirectX compatible sound card
Internet access for Steam activation
I guess the PS3/360 made it possible to run this game on low specs PCs, I kind of welcome that ^^
Sides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-10-25, 16:06   Link #231
Hooves
♣~Sleepy~♣
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Xanadu
Age: 20
Send a message via Skype™ to Hooves
For a game so detailed, with a very long playability rate. These specs just surprised me.. It seems that my laptop (horrible in terms of specs as it is) can atleast play the minimum settings.
__________________
MyAnimeList (Hoovesahoy)
Avatar from: Hooves
Signature from: Patchy
Hooves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-10-25, 16:25   Link #232
Kyero Fox
Tastes Cloudy
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Snake Way
Age: 26
Send a message via AIM to Kyero Fox
I suspect quite a few loading screens. but i only get mad at loading screens if it takes a whole minute to load a place i just came from.

those specs are stomped by my PC thank god!
__________________
Kyero Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-10-25, 18:33   Link #233
Vallen Chaos Valiant
Logician and Romantic
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Within my mind
Age: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sides View Post
I was concerned about the specs, and was thinking to skip this game, but the revealed specs on Bethesda PR blog wasn't too bad



I guess the PS3/360 made it possible to run this game on low specs PCs, I kind of welcome that ^^
It sounds like I can almost run Skyrim if I set it to the lowest graphics setting. That's certainly good news.

And yeah, for once I am thankful for the Xbox360.
__________________
Vallen Chaos Valiant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-10-26, 05:51   Link #234
-KarumA-
(。☉౪ ⊙。)
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: In Maya world, where all is 3D and everything crashes
Age: 26
Something that was discussed during the last presentation;

Spoiler for just in case, but heck we all wanted this i guess:
-KarumA- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-10-26, 05:58   Link #235
Chaos2Frozen
:)
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: The Moon that Wizard came from
Age: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by -KarumA- View Post
Spoiler for just in case, but heck we all wanted this i guess:
You'll never know...
Chaos2Frozen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-10-26, 06:57   Link #236
Kyero Fox
Tastes Cloudy
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Snake Way
Age: 26
Send a message via AIM to Kyero Fox
Quote:
Originally Posted by -KarumA- View Post
Something that was discussed during the last presentation;

Spoiler for just in case, but heck we all wanted this i guess:
oh god, that would be so awesome! XD

(Huge dragonheart fan)
__________________
Kyero Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-10-26, 10:28   Link #237
Dist
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Finland
Age: 23
Send a message via MSN to Dist
The specs are good news.. in a way. I bought this gaming rig (GTX580 and 2500K) for Skyrim mainly so the specs are really not what I expected. However, if I can run the game in Ultra with my rig with ease, it means that I can add few texture and graphic mods here and there and still enjoy the eye candy with a good fps. The game already looks good, so how will it look with few texture mods.. Gorgeous I bet :P.

The only thing I'm worried about is the size of the game. The game with the graphics it has takes only 6GB of HDD space. Seriously.. ONLY 6GB?!. They claimed the game would be at least the size of Oblivion but I doubt that..

As for loading screens.. Why are you talking about loading screens in Skyrim? Isn't the game open world, with almost no loading screens at all unless you enter city/dungeon? I'll be buying and using SSD with Skyrim regardless so I can say (almost) goodbye to those loading screens when they'll be gone in a flash.
__________________
The joys of a universe made and unmade, friends across time, shall be your ray of light
Dist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-10-26, 10:43   Link #238
Vallen Chaos Valiant
Logician and Romantic
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Within my mind
Age: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dist View Post
The only thing I'm worried about is the size of the game. The game with the graphics it has takes only 6GB of HDD space. Seriously.. ONLY 6GB?!. They claimed the game would be at least the size of Oblivion but I doubt that..
Think of it this way. They have likely stored every single 3D object in the game as a separate data packet, and just generate them when needed as you move across the map. File size bloat is frankly not something you should worry about, least of all want. You would be amazed at how many multi-disc games have redundant files.

Don't forget, Fallout 3 and Oblivion used an ancient game engine. They wrote a new one for Skyrim, so file size is not comparable at all.

Would it make you happier if they gave you a 20GB game file with 14GB of plain zeros? It's not like you would notice.
__________________
Vallen Chaos Valiant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-10-26, 13:44   Link #239
Kyero Fox
Tastes Cloudy
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Snake Way
Age: 26
Send a message via AIM to Kyero Fox
Not to mention as time goes by, technology gets better, and so does compressing deta.
__________________
Kyero Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-10-26, 14:42   Link #240
Vexx
Obey the Darkly Cute ...
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: On the whole, I'd rather be in Kyoto ...
Age: 57
Went ahead and pre-ordered the game using a Newegg sale and some promo credits. I loved Dragon Age, was not so amused with DA2... hoping this will give me the old Oblivion/DA:O feelings I got.

Now to start saving up for gtx560ti (unless someone has something in the same price point performance range they think is better )
Vexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bethesda, elder scrolls, rpg, skyrim

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 21:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.