AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > AnimeSuki & Technology > Playback Help

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2012-04-11, 07:20   Link #501
pigoz
YUKI.N>
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Milan, Italy
Send a message via MSN to pigoz Send a message via Skype™ to pigoz
mplayer2 should work if you have Lion or SnowLeopard. Can you elaborate on your problem with it (i.e.: paste the MPlayer OSX log from Console.app)?

Also an example file would be interesting (you will probably have to pm me info about that).
pigoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-04-12, 02:49   Link #502
print screen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
PMs sent. qwerty
print screen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-04-14, 06:39   Link #503
print screen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Rev.13 doesn't have this problem, but cannot play the blu-ray source mkv I linked you to.
print screen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-04-15, 04:34   Link #504
pigoz
YUKI.N>
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Milan, Italy
Send a message via MSN to pigoz Send a message via Skype™ to pigoz
I tried your files with the mplayer2 binary and they work correctly. You mentioned mplayer2 was not working at all for you, can you make sure it is true?
pigoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-04-15, 06:43   Link #505
print screen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by pigoz View Post
I tried your files with the mplayer2 binary and they work correctly. You mentioned mplayer2 was not working at all for you, can you make sure it is true?
Abnormal playback error. mplayer returned error code:5

I'll just use rev13 until 15 comes out.
print screen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-04-15, 08:39   Link #506
pigoz
YUKI.N>
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Milan, Italy
Send a message via MSN to pigoz Send a message via Skype™ to pigoz
which version of mplayer2? what version of OSX are you running? Last version of mplayer2 shouldn't crash on SnowLeopard or Lion.
pigoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-04-15, 10:06   Link #507
print screen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
mplayer2 binary version 2012-01-15. Still on Leopard.

Just visited the mplayer2 binary download site and realized that it only works on snowleopard and lion.

Found more logs. The blu-ray source mkv I sent you can't be played on rev13. Logs say the CPU is too slow. It can play in rev14 though for some reason.

Last edited by print screen; 2012-04-15 at 10:55.
print screen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-04-17, 02:46   Link #508
pigoz
YUKI.N>
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Milan, Italy
Send a message via MSN to pigoz Send a message via Skype™ to pigoz
Well as you go back in time h264 decoding becomes slower and slower. It's not like the ffmpeg/libav projects are just sitting there. They always strive to make decoding faster.

Your best chance would be to compile mplayer yourself, or maybe use MPlayerX (maybe they still support Leopard). mplayer2 will not compile since we dropped Leopard support to remove all the Carbon stuff and needed some Cocoa functions from Snow Leopard.
pigoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-04-18, 03:02   Link #509
print screen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
I don't know how to compile anything, and MplayerX is only snow leopard and above.

Just out of curiosity, how come rev14 cannot always see the audio tracks available but rev13 can for me? How come shift 3 in rev14 disables the audio but is fine for rev13? I never used the mplayer2 binary for rev13. Is this solely because rev14 is not compatible with leopard?
print screen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-04-18, 15:51   Link #510
pigoz
YUKI.N>
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Milan, Italy
Send a message via MSN to pigoz Send a message via Skype™ to pigoz
As I mentioned mplayer2 is only Snow Leopard and above.
I'm not sure about what's wrong in rev13/rev14. Probably some regression in mplayer(1).
pigoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-05-20, 18:18   Link #511
print screen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
I tried downgrading to rev13 but it keeps updating its font cache every time I load it. Rev 13 never did this before I upgraded to rev 14. How can I fix this?
print screen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-07-23, 18:34   Link #512
yeahitschris
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Are you guys still doing updates for SL? Or should I just update to Mountain Lion? I am lookin' at http://code.google.com/p/mplayerosx-...downloads/list. MP4's seem to be a bit sluggish.
__________________
yeahitschris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-07-30, 23:12   Link #513
Ryoujin
What?
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The house besides yours
Age: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by yeahitschris View Post
Are you guys still doing updates for SL? Or should I just update to Mountain Lion? I am lookin' at http://code.google.com/p/mplayerosx-...downloads/list. MP4's seem to be a bit sluggish.
Been using rev15 test1, at least so far I haven't had issues under Mountain Lion. Not sure if binaries are still getting maintained, tho.

But then, rev15 test1 was uploaded a long while ago (based on the date that is shown in Google Code).
Ryoujin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-08-05, 16:40   Link #514
yeahitschris
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryoujin View Post
Been using rev15 test1, at least so far I haven't had issues under Mountain Lion. Not sure if binaries are still getting maintained, tho.

But then, rev15 test1 was uploaded a long while ago (based on the date that is shown in Google Code).

Where'd you ge t your rev15 at? I am still on rev14, when I click on 'Check for Updates' mine says 'rev14 is the newest one.' On the URL I posted, it shows 'mplayer2-2012-01-15.zip' and a standalone which is for developers.
__________________
yeahitschris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-08-07, 17:24   Link #515
Ryoujin
What?
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The house besides yours
Age: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by yeahitschris View Post
Where'd you ge t your rev15 at? I am still on rev14, when I click on 'Check for Updates' mine says 'rev14 is the newest one.' On the URL I posted, it shows 'mplayer2-2012-01-15.zip' and a standalone which is for developers.
Main download from the website (old version) is
http://mplayerosxext.googlecode.com/...nded_rev14.zip

So I went to the root
http://mplayerosxext.googlecode.com/

And got re-directed here
https://code.google.com/p/mplayerosxext/

From there, to Downloads
https://code.google.com/p/mplayerosxext/downloads/list
Ryoujin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-08-15, 17:33   Link #516
yeahitschris
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Thank you! I upgraded to ML and when I go to "File -> Open" it would not work for me. I had to just drag files into MPlayer for it to work. Just uninstalled it. Downloading it again now.

+1

Edit: Weird, just downloaded rev15test1 and I still cannot do "File -> Open". Have to do drag and drop. No biggie though!

Edit#2: Ah, got it. Went here: http://code.google.com/p/mplayerosx-...downloads/list and downloaded "mplayer2-2012-01-15.zip". Works on Mountain Lion.
__________________
yeahitschris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-04-14, 08:58   Link #517
Kamion
うぷぷぷ・・・
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 27
Send a message via ICQ to Kamion Send a message via MSN to Kamion
The new episode of Shingeki no Kyojin from gg doesn't have sound on rev15-test2 with the 2012-01-15 bundle.

I don't know if newer mplayer versions can do this and I am kind of too lazy to compile it for myself to do so when I don't even know if it will work afterwards. Such a hassle on OS X. Did anyone get it to play sound?

Really don't want to switch machines. Guess I'll just get another release for now.
Kamion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-04-15, 05:23   Link #518
triviper
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kamion View Post
The new episode of Shingeki no Kyojin from gg doesn't have sound on rev15-test2 with the 2012-01-15 bundle.

I don't know if newer mplayer versions can do this and I am kind of too lazy to compile it for myself to do so when I don't even know if it will work afterwards. Such a hassle on OS X. Did anyone get it to play sound?

Really don't want to switch machines. Guess I'll just get another release for now.
basically they messed up
there is a patch to fix the audio on their blog if that's something you would want to do
triviper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-10-25, 07:04   Link #519
totoum
Me at work
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Age: 26
Send a message via MSN to totoum
Just wondering,I want to update to Mavericks, does everything still work fine with the new system?
__________________
totoum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-10-25, 08:03   Link #520
vaden
0118 999 881 999 119 7253
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: (n.) A particular place or position.
I've had no problems. I did run into an edge case where the menu bar wouldn't hide when going into full screen on a different display, but checking the "hide UI" option in the preferences solved that.
vaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
wiki candidate

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.