AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > AnimeSuki & Technology > Tech Support

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2012-07-09, 21:06   Link #1
Wandering_Youth
lost in wonder forever...
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: edge of my dream in the land of twilight...ZzzZzZ
FRAPS 1080 Recording...

Anyone here use FRAPS? I recently built a new computer thinking it would be able to handle 1080p game recording, but I'm been having less than stellar performance.

Spoiler for PC Specs:

FRAPS is installed on the SSD, games are installed on the RAID 0 and the output video file is sent to the RAID 5. Is there something that is affecting my ability to record at 1080p?
Spoiler for My FRAP Capture settings:

With these settings I am using, the video created is only around 20-30 FPS, but during combat in a game the frames go all over the place from 5-30FPS.

Is there any way to record at 900p or 800p with FRAPS without actually changing my screen resolution? Things look horrible when I set it to record at Half Size of my native resolution (1920x1080).
__________________
Wandering_Youth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-07-10, 03:37   Link #2
sa547
Senior Member
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Philippines
Age: 38
Not easy, since the cap program usually produces very large AVIs, which at bigger resolutions could really slow down the system while recording.

I have my capture set up this way:
* Framerate set at 24 fps
* Half-size, not full-size

However, I also like to try other similar freeware cap/recording programs, because of Frap's AVI-only implementation (and little has changed in the last few years).
__________________

Last edited by sa547; 2012-07-10 at 03:57.
sa547 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-07-10, 08:48   Link #3
Wandering_Youth
lost in wonder forever...
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: edge of my dream in the land of twilight...ZzzZzZ
Yeah, but thanks to some other sites out there I managed to tweak my system to capture some decent video now.

Apparently, my capture FPS was just too high like you said so I lowered it to 30FPS. Defragging the destination hard drive seems to really help too and putting the output file to the RAID 0 seems to have better write performance over RAID 5. The other thing to do was disable two separate audio captures as I had FRAPS capturing sound from the game and from my headset microphone which affected captured frame rate greatly.

Spoiler for HD 1080P Video Test:

Here's what I got and I'm pretty happy with it, however there still seems to be some random stuttering of the video as seen in v3 test video. *sigh* Guess I need to play at a lower screen resolution while capturing to get better quality video.
__________________

Last edited by Wandering_Youth; 2012-07-14 at 08:00.
Wandering_Youth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-07-15, 21:07   Link #4
Stealthtank
Junior Member
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Age: 25
Slightly off-topic but you wrote you had a Intel Core i5 3750K? You mean the Core i5 3570K right? Sorry, just got a little confused when I first read it. And by the way you have a very capable gaming machine which I am envious of.

I haven't used FRAPS in many years and the maximum resolution I've ever recorded at was at 1280x1024 and that was in a primarily 2D game. However I know that real-time screen recording is incredibly taxing on systems. A 1920x1080 3D screencast would be simply hellish.

Anyways the FRAPS codec is not optimized for compression meaning a huge amount of data must be written to the hard drive especially when using a high resolution like yours. So I believe if you want to improve screencasting performance you'll need a storage medium with a greater throughput (Two Western Digital Velociraptors in RAID 0 may not be enough...!).

So yeah. May I suggest using a 240 GB (or larger) solid state drive utilizing a second generation Sandforce controller as a target drive?

Last edited by Stealthtank; 2012-07-15 at 21:23. Reason: Grammar
Stealthtank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-07-16, 18:11   Link #5
Wandering_Youth
lost in wonder forever...
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: edge of my dream in the land of twilight...ZzzZzZ
You are correct, I meant a 3570k. I actually noticed another problem when trying to view these ridiculously large uncompressed videos. My player can't seem to play the video smoothly so when I view it the frames were bouncing all over the place so I thought it was not capturing properly. In reality it was the player that wasn't playing the video properly, but once I compress it the played video was smooth as butter.

I switch the output file back to the RAID 5 array as I heard that it might actually be better than the RAID 0 since I got four hard drives for the RAID 5.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stealthtank View Post
Slightly off-topic but you wrote you had a Intel Core i5 3750K? You mean the Core i5 3570K right? Sorry, just got a little confused when I first read it. And by the way you have a very capable gaming machine which I am envious of.
Yeah it took a 2 months pay to build my toy, but I love it and probably won't have to buy another computer for another 5-8 years. If Moore's Law is true on electronics then there won't be too much incentive to upgrade my machine until the gap in performance is really big.
__________________
Wandering_Youth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 22:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.