AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > AnimeSuki & Technology > Tech Support

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2012-09-06, 23:20   Link #41
ForwardUntoDawn
Operation "sneaky sneaks"
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Hic et ubique
Quote:
Originally Posted by j0x View Post
i just remember a complain about missing output files... and the culprit was the filename has unusual characters... i think the technical term for that is that handbrake does not support Unicode/UTF-8 characters... so the solution is just rename your video inputs filename to a simple one containing letters and numbers only...
To clarify, that includes kana and kanji characters, as well as things like , and so forth. I believe handbrake can recognize files with Unicode characters, but it cannot output them.
ForwardUntoDawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-10-29, 23:11   Link #42
Toddler Naruto
Playful Explorer
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fair Oaks, California
Age: 25
Question How to Convert 720p MKVs to 720p MP4s?

I need help finding out how to convert 720p MKVs to 720p MP4s, but without lowering/reducing the audio/video quality at all.

I'm only asking this because my 160 GB PS3 refuses to recognize MKVs.

P.S.: Links to tutorials for the programs you recommend would be really helpful.
Toddler Naruto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-10-29, 23:19   Link #43
NoemiChan
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Philippines
Age: 26
Send a message via Yahoo to NoemiChan Send a message via Skype™ to NoemiChan
Handbrake Nightly its a free soft ware.

Direction:

1. Open HandBrake.
2. Open Source File (MKV)
3. Click Subtitle tab.
4. Click Add.
5. Choose Burn In.
6. Click and choose a Destination Folder.
7. Start.

That's it. It changes MKV to MP4 by default. Unless you wish to change the size or file size is another thing.

Credit goes to Jox who introduced it to me.

Here is our discussion.
NoemiChan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-10-29, 23:29   Link #44
MeoTwister5
Komrades of Kitamura Kou
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Where I can learn to be lonely.
Age: 29
Eh in my experience with video convertors there's really a difference of quality between MKVs and MP4s. Audio won't be a problem but expect some slightly noticeable pixelation on your video.
MeoTwister5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-10-29, 23:33   Link #45
Toddler Naruto
Playful Explorer
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fair Oaks, California
Age: 25
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by GenjiChan View Post
Handbrake Nightly its a free soft ware.

Direction:

1. Open HandBrake.
2. Open Source File (MKV)
3. Click Subtitle tab.
4. Click Add.
5. Choose Burn In.
6. Click and choose a Destination Folder.
7. Start.

That's it. It changes MKV to MP4 by default. Unless you wish to change the size or file size is another thing.

Credit goes to Jox who introduced it to me.

Here is our discussion.
Most of the videos I want to watch on the PS3 don't have subtitles though, nor do I want them...should I skip steps 3 and 4 then?
Toddler Naruto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-10-29, 23:37   Link #46
CrowKenobi
Moderator
*Moderator
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: there... just there.
I've merged the threads since they're basically the same topic. Carry on.
__________________



CrowKenobi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-10-29, 23:37   Link #47
NoemiChan
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Philippines
Age: 26
Send a message via Yahoo to NoemiChan Send a message via Skype™ to NoemiChan
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrowKenobi View Post
I've merged the threads since they're basically the same topic. Carry on.
Thank you, Sir.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toddler Naruto View Post
Most of the videos I want to watch on the PS3 don't have subtitles though, nor do I want them...should I skip steps 3 and 4 then?
Actually those are for preserving the subtitle. If you don't click it, the subtitles won't appear in the MP4 output. You have the option to skip it.
NoemiChan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-10-29, 23:42   Link #48
Toddler Naruto
Playful Explorer
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fair Oaks, California
Age: 25
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrowKenobi View Post
I've merged the threads since they're basically the same topic. Carry on.
Thanks for that .

Quote:
Originally Posted by GenjiChan View Post
Actually those are for preserving the subtitles. If you don't click it, the subtitles won't appear in the MP4 output. You have the option to skip it .
Good to know , thank you so much for the help !!!

(you have no idea how long I've had to suffer watching videos in 480p/SD etc, lol)
Toddler Naruto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-10-29, 23:43   Link #49
NoemiChan
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Philippines
Age: 26
Send a message via Yahoo to NoemiChan Send a message via Skype™ to NoemiChan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toddler Naruto View Post
Thanks for that .

Good to know , thank you so much for the help !!!

(you have no idea how long I've had to suffer watching videos in 480p/SD etc, lol)
I experienced the same thing with my MKVs for 5 months. Nice helping you!
NoemiChan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-10-29, 23:44   Link #50
Toddler Naruto
Playful Explorer
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fair Oaks, California
Age: 25
By the way, would it matter if I used the latest public version of Handbrake, instead of the beta/nightly build?
Toddler Naruto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-10-29, 23:47   Link #51
NoemiChan
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Philippines
Age: 26
Send a message via Yahoo to NoemiChan Send a message via Skype™ to NoemiChan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toddler Naruto View Post
By the way, would it matter if I used the latest public version of Handbrake, instead of the beta/nightly build?
Nightly is better and way more stable than beta.
NoemiChan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-10-29, 23:55   Link #52
Toddler Naruto
Playful Explorer
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fair Oaks, California
Age: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by GenjiChan View Post
Nightly is better and way more stable than beta.
No, you misunderstand...I was asking if the public version, which is not the beta or nightly, would be good enough to get the job done?

I'm talking about this: http://www.videohelp.com/download/Ha...86-Win_GUI.exe

(I do not want to use beta or nightly, instead PUBLIC)
Toddler Naruto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-10-30, 00:01   Link #53
NoemiChan
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Philippines
Age: 26
Send a message via Yahoo to NoemiChan Send a message via Skype™ to NoemiChan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toddler Naruto View Post
No, you misunderstand...I was asking if the public version, which is not the beta or nightly, would be good enough to get the job done?

I'm talking about this: http://www.videohelp.com/download/Ha...86-Win_GUI.exe

(I do not want to use beta or nightly, instead PUBLIC)
Sorry but I don't know about "public"... I only use Nightly.
NoemiChan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-10-30, 00:04   Link #54
Toddler Naruto
Playful Explorer
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fair Oaks, California
Age: 25
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by GenjiChan View Post
Sorry but I don't know about "public"... I only use Nightly.
Well I don't know what nightly is, isn't that beta?

I always thought Nightlys were betas, lol xD.

(I am sooo confused right now XD)
Toddler Naruto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-10-30, 00:07   Link #55
NoemiChan
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Philippines
Age: 26
Send a message via Yahoo to NoemiChan Send a message via Skype™ to NoemiChan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toddler Naruto View Post
Well I don't know what nightly is, isn't that beta?

I always thought Nightlys were betas, lol xD.

(I am sooo confused right now XD)
Just click the 6.6Mb and use it... whether its beta or nightly....

You could never be sure if you would not try....
NoemiChan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-10-30, 00:09   Link #56
Toddler Naruto
Playful Explorer
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fair Oaks, California
Age: 25
Alrighty , and sorry for the troubles , I am completely inept/stupid when it comes to this stuff huhu xD.
Toddler Naruto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-10-30, 00:11   Link #57
NoemiChan
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Philippines
Age: 26
Send a message via Yahoo to NoemiChan Send a message via Skype™ to NoemiChan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toddler Naruto View Post
Alrighty , and sorry for the troubles , I am completely inept/stupid when it comes to this stuff huhu xD.
I was once in your shoes man....
NoemiChan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.