AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > General > Forum & Site Feedback

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2013-05-07, 21:34   Link #1
Kirayuki
蒼の深淵
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Social Group Icon not showing up

I see some Social Groups including mine have their small thumbs version of the Group Icon not showing up despite the larger version is fine on the group itself. Did I mess up somewhere ?

The related group.
http://forums.animesuki.com/group.php?groupid=895

And some other groups for example
http://forums.animesuki.com/group.php?groupid=893
http://forums.animesuki.com/group.php?groupid=888
Kirayuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-05-07, 21:37   Link #2
NoemiChan
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Philippines
Age: 26
Send a message via Yahoo to NoemiChan Send a message via Skype™ to NoemiChan
Is the Social Group Icon within the 200x200 pixels and 100kb maximum requirements? If it's within, I don't thibk there would be a problem.... unless they exceeds the requirements.
NoemiChan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-05-07, 21:46   Link #3
Kirayuki
蒼の深淵
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
I did, my group icon is 200x200 pixels and 32kb. Is there any other requirements aside of that ?
Kirayuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-05-07, 21:47   Link #4
NoemiChan
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Philippines
Age: 26
Send a message via Yahoo to NoemiChan Send a message via Skype™ to NoemiChan
Try reuploading again....
NoemiChan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-05-07, 21:56   Link #5
Kirayuki
蒼の深淵
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
I did that a few times too actually....Tried using different picture but didn't work.
Kirayuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-05-07, 21:58   Link #6
NoemiChan
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Philippines
Age: 26
Send a message via Yahoo to NoemiChan Send a message via Skype™ to NoemiChan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirayuki View Post
I did that a few times too actually....Tried using different picture but didn't work.
Try PMing a MODs... It seems you're not the only one...

Most are appreciation groups I guess..
NoemiChan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-05-07, 23:51   Link #7
Masuzu
勝利のため
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: キセキの世代
I'm having this problem, thought it was my computer and/or connection.
Masuzu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-05-07, 23:59   Link #8
NoemiChan
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Philippines
Age: 26
Send a message via Yahoo to NoemiChan Send a message via Skype™ to NoemiChan
You're Globe?
NoemiChan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-05-08, 00:05   Link #9
Masuzu
勝利のため
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: キセキの世代
No, Smart BRO.
Masuzu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-05-08, 00:16   Link #10
NoemiChan
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Philippines
Age: 26
Send a message via Yahoo to NoemiChan Send a message via Skype™ to NoemiChan
So it's not the network.. Probably a bug....
NoemiChan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-05-08, 00:51   Link #11
relentlessflame
 
*Administrator
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Age: 32
Maybe some bug that was introduced when switching servers... perhaps something to do with GD or Imagemagick? We'll look into it.
__________________
[...]
relentlessflame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-05-08, 00:57   Link #12
NoemiChan
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Philippines
Age: 26
Send a message via Yahoo to NoemiChan Send a message via Skype™ to NoemiChan
Quote:
Originally Posted by relentlessflame View Post
Maybe some bug that was introduced when switching servers... perhaps something to do with GD or Imagemagick? We'll look into it.
Most likely... it was a week or two after the switching so it's probably the cause.
NoemiChan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-05-08, 01:28   Link #13
Haiprbim
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Visual Dream Panire
Quote:
Originally Posted by relentlessflame View Post
Maybe some bug that was introduced when switching servers... perhaps something to do with GD or Imagemagick? We'll look into it.
I don't know if you remember, but I've sent you a PM regarding this around a week ago.
It is a known bug, not something brand new.
Haiprbim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-05-08, 01:33   Link #14
relentlessflame
 
*Administrator
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Age: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haiprbim View Post
I don't know if you remember, but I've sent you a PM regarding this around a week ago.
It is a known bug, not something brand new.
Yup, I know, that's why I said that it probably happened during the server switch, since this isn't the first report received about it.
__________________
[...]
relentlessflame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-05-08, 14:17   Link #15
GHDpro
Administrator
*Administrator
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Netherlands
Age: 35
This problem is now Fixed. As I suspected I forgot to fix the file ownership of certain folders during the server move, causing PHP not to have write-access to the "thumbs" subfolder for social group icons.

HOWEVER...

While I fixed the cause of the problem, I can't automatically fix the symptoms: the missing icons.

Group owners/admins: if your group is affected please simply re-upload your group picture and the icon will be properly (re)generated.

My apologies for the inconvenience.

I've already fixed the "Masada" social group which I used as "test subject" to test everything was now working. If you notice an icon isn't working, please report it to the group owner. If it hasn't been fixed after several days, notify a forum admin which will be able to fix it as well.
GHDpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-05-08, 22:15   Link #16
Kirayuki
蒼の深淵
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Yeah, it show up now. Thanks
Kirayuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-05-09, 07:14   Link #17
Haiprbim
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Visual Dream Panire
Quote:
Originally Posted by GHDpro View Post
Group owners/admins: if your group is affected please simply re-upload your group picture and the icon will be properly (re)generated.
I've tried that multiple times with different pictures that have dimensions 100x100.
I tried both, inserting an URL to the picture and uploading the file, both did not do the thing.
I'll try this once more, but the issue is that the picture shows on the Group itself, but not on someone's Profile Page nor at the Groups Overall Page.
Haiprbim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-05-09, 14:49   Link #18
GHDpro
Administrator
*Administrator
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Netherlands
Age: 35
Hmm... I was able to fix it by deleting the group picture first (so that it shows the default image) and then re-uploading the original image.
GHDpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-05-09, 14:57   Link #19
Haiprbim
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Visual Dream Panire
Quote:
Originally Posted by GHDpro View Post
Hmm... I was able to fix it by deleting the group picture first (so that it shows the default image) and then re-uploading the original image.
I see, haven't tried the deletion and then uploading yet, just the direct switch.
Will try it out once I get on the computer and edit the post with the result.

Edit: Scratch what I've just said, it appears to be back. You did something just now?
Haiprbim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-05-09, 15:04   Link #20
GHDpro
Administrator
*Administrator
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Netherlands
Age: 35
Yes I tried your group as "test subject" to try this theory... no use in recommending a fix that doesn't work.

Feel free to change the image to whatever you want (within existing rules of course).
GHDpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 22:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.