AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > General > Tech Support

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2013-06-03, 04:00   Link #1
Skane
Anime Snark
 
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Singapore
Age: 31
Unhappy PC Monitor Display Problem

Right, typing this from my laptop (in case people were wondering). My desktop is currently unable to show anything on the monitor, a Samsung Flatscreen. The monitor is still able to power up, and I can see the "Analog/Digital" corner display when it initially turns on.

The PC still boots up, and I can hear the log-in screen music. When I touch-type the password to log-in, I can hear the OS loading up.

I just can't see anything on the monitor screen. Have already double-checked the cable connections.

Need help on what might be causing the problem.

Cheers.
__________________
Skane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-06-03, 04:07   Link #2
TheEroKing
Version Zero
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: India
Age: 29
Send a message via Skype™ to TheEroKing
If you have a graphic card (most people do right? ) remove it, plug it into the onboard graphics and see if monitor displays it.
If yes then either the card or the slot is at fault (since you have already checked the cables).
__________________
TheEroKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-06-03, 04:10   Link #3
Tiberium Wolf
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portugal
Age: 34
Do you still see the POST info or absolutely nothing from start or nothing after you try to login?

Check connections? Try another cable?
__________________

Last edited by Tiberium Wolf; 2013-06-03 at 13:49.
Tiberium Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-06-03, 04:21   Link #4
larethian
幸せ過ぎ~♥
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
In addition to Tiberium Wolf's question, since you have a laptop, you can verify whether the monitor's working properly with your video out from your laptop, assuming you have one.
__________________
larethian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-06-03, 16:09   Link #5
-KarumA-
(。☉౪ ⊙。)
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: In Maya world, where all is 3D and everything crashes
Age: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by larethian View Post
In addition to Tiberium Wolf's question, since you have a laptop, you can verify whether the monitor's working properly with your video out from your laptop, assuming you have one.
This. You might also be able to test the gpu of the desktop this way.
-KarumA- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-06-04, 23:07   Link #6
Skane
Anime Snark
 
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Singapore
Age: 31
Pardon for the delay, I had to shop around for the HDMI cables to link the monitor/PC to my laptop. Well, the good news is that the monitor is fine. However, when I try to display my PC onto my laptop, it is unable to. I have also swapped to an older card which I know should work (it was only taken out to be replaced by an upgrade), but still no dice...

So... is it a slot problem? Please don't be a slot problem...

Cheers.
__________________
Skane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-06-05, 00:09   Link #7
larethian
幸せ過ぎ~♥
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skane View Post
Pardon for the delay, I had to shop around for the HDMI cables to link the monitor/PC to my laptop. Well, the good news is that the monitor is fine. However, when I try to display my PC onto my laptop, it is unable to. I have also swapped to an older card which I know should work (it was only taken out to be replaced by an upgrade), but still no dice...

So... is it a slot problem? Please don't be a slot problem...

Cheers.
What do you mean by "display my PC onto my laptop"?

Assuming that it's some kind of typo, you haven't tell us whether the POST messages are displayed.
__________________
larethian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-06-05, 00:31   Link #8
Skane
Anime Snark
 
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Singapore
Age: 31
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by larethian View Post
What do you mean by "display my PC onto my laptop"?

Assuming that it's some kind of typo, you haven't tell us whether the POST messages are displayed.
Well, when I connect the PC to the laptop, my laptop can detect the type of graphic card but not display what's from the PC even if I choose to switch to the PC display.

As for POST messages, nada. The monitor just shows nothing. I know the OS is loading up because I can hear the log-in screen tingle, and when I type in my password, the OS boots up to the desktop audibly.

No BIOS beeps either, so it shouldn't be a motherboard issue right? Could faulty RAM be causing the issue?

Cheers.
__________________
Skane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-06-05, 14:27   Link #9
Tiberium Wolf
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portugal
Age: 34
With no POST. Your problem is either the monitor, the cables or the video card.

You needed to connect the laptop to the monitor to see if the problem is the monitor or not. Connecting the PC to the laptop won't tell u anything more like it doesn't make sense.
__________________
Tiberium Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-06-05, 19:56   Link #10
Ledgem
Love Yourself
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northeast USA
Age: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiberium Wolf View Post
With no POST. Your problem is either the monitor, the cables or the video card.

You needed to connect the laptop to the monitor to see if the problem is the monitor or not. Connecting the PC to the laptop won't tell u anything more like it doesn't make sense.
He already connected the monitor to the laptop and verified that it's working. He also swapped out the graphics card with an older graphics card that was working previously and it wasn't working.

We can't say that the newer graphics card works for certain, but the problem is very likely to be the motherboard's slot.
__________________
Ledgem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-06-05, 22:43   Link #11
Tiberium Wolf
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portugal
Age: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ledgem View Post
He already connected the monitor to the laptop and verified that it's working. He also swapped out the graphics card with an older graphics card that was working previously and it wasn't working.

We can't say that the newer graphics card works for certain, but the problem is very likely to be the motherboard's slot.
He says he connected the PC to the laptop not the monitor to the laptop.
__________________
Tiberium Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-06-05, 22:51   Link #12
Skane
Anime Snark
 
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Singapore
Age: 31
What Ledgem said is correct, I have already connected my monitor to my laptop and verified that it is working properly. Guess this means I need a new motherboard?

Cheers.
__________________
Skane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-06-06, 07:47   Link #13
TheEroKing
Version Zero
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: India
Age: 29
Send a message via Skype™ to TheEroKing
Better to take the mobo to a local pc repair shop and have the slot checked for 100% verification first.
__________________
TheEroKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-06-06, 13:21   Link #14
King Lycan
User Title eaten by ravenous bunnies
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Zeon
Age: 23
What motherboard is it ?
__________________
King Lycan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-06-06, 21:24   Link #15
larethian
幸せ過ぎ~♥
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skane View Post
Well, when I connect the PC to the laptop, my laptop can detect the type of graphic card but not display what's from the PC even if I choose to switch to the PC display.

As for POST messages, nada. The monitor just shows nothing. I know the OS is loading up because I can hear the log-in screen tingle, and when I type in my password, the OS boots up to the desktop audibly.

No BIOS beeps either, so it shouldn't be a motherboard issue right? Could faulty RAM be causing the issue?

Cheers.
I didn't expect that you have video input on your laptop. But yeah, if you think the graphics card and cables are working, like what some others have mentioned, it's probably either slot issue, or a MOBO issue.
__________________
larethian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-06-07, 05:44   Link #16
SaintessHeart
NYAAAAHAAANNNNN~
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Age: 25
Can you try the card on a different mobo slot? If not, it is most likely partial mobo failure. Use warranty to get a replacement if you have it.
__________________

When three puppygirls named after pastries are on top of each other, it is called Eclair a'la menthe et Biscotti aux fraises avec beaucoup de Ricotta sur le dessus.
Most of all, you have to be disciplined and you have to save, even if you hate our current financial system. Because if you don't save, then you're guaranteed to end up with nothing.
SaintessHeart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-06-07, 08:10   Link #17
demonix
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hayes, Middx UK
Age: 35
Send a message via Yahoo to demonix Send a message via Skype™ to demonix
While everyone seems to be focused on the motherboard, nobody seems to be focusing on the GPU itself (failure is not as suspect anyway since the computer boots to the OS where if it had failed, it wouldn't be able to pass POST and even if the slot failed you probably wouldn't be able to hear anything if the sound comes down the HDMI cable as well).

Have you tried connecting the monitor to another port on the graphics card to see if it's a fault with the HDMI port on the card? (if there's a DVI port on the GPU, then all you need to get is an adaptor so you can still use your existing HDMI cable).
demonix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-06-07, 08:52   Link #18
Tiberium Wolf
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portugal
Age: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by demonix View Post
While everyone seems to be focused on the motherboard, nobody seems to be focusing on the GPU itself (failure is not as suspect anyway since the computer boots to the OS where if it had failed, it wouldn't be able to pass POST and even if the slot failed you probably wouldn't be able to hear anything if the sound comes down the HDMI cable as well).

Have you tried connecting the monitor to another port on the graphics card to see if it's a fault with the HDMI port on the card? (if there's a DVI port on the GPU, then all you need to get is an adaptor so you can still use your existing HDMI cable).
He said he swap with another old card that he know it works and still nothing... Most likely MB problem.
__________________
Tiberium Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-06-08, 08:13   Link #19
demonix
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hayes, Middx UK
Age: 35
Send a message via Yahoo to demonix Send a message via Skype™ to demonix
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiberium Wolf View Post
He said he swap with another old card that he know it works and still nothing... Most likely MB problem.
Wasn't that when the OP tried to connect the computer to the laptop (which probably wouldn't work anyway).
demonix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.