AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > AnimeSuki & Technology > Download Help

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2006-04-04, 04:40   Link #41
eden13600
Junior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Malaysia
Send a message via MSN to eden13600
Quote:
Originally Posted by sophismata
Well, if your settings are fine, your problem is going to likely be with the torrent itself. However, there are still some other things you can try.

Firstly, though, what's your upload bandwidth? You've said your download bandwidth is 100Mbps, are you sure about this? 100Mbps is the speed of most LAN connections, I'd be very surprised if one could get that on a consumer-grade line.
hmm.... It can't be. Cause other Malaysian also have the speed of reaching 100kb/s+. And they say about the 'encryption'? What is that?

And yeah, my download abndwidth is 100Mbps just like you said so. Got something to do about it?
__________________
eden13600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-04-04, 05:27   Link #42
sophismata
いいえ
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Varies. Currently in Sydney, Australia.
Quote:
Originally Posted by eden13600
hmm.... It can't be. Cause other Malaysian also have the speed of reaching 100kb/s+. And they say about the 'encryption'? What is that?

And yeah, my download abndwidth is 100Mbps just like you said so. Got something to do about it?
Encryption is a way you can get around packet filtering, if your ISP does such a thing. Azereus can encrypt data packets.

More importantly, what is you upload bandwidth? If it's very low, it would probably explain some of your problems, because most clients default to uncapped uploads which can hamper speeds on low-bandwith connections.

Your speed should be listed from your isp as 100/x, or something like that. Your download may be 100Mbps, but I still need an upload.
sophismata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-04-04, 06:11   Link #43
eden13600
Junior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Malaysia
Send a message via MSN to eden13600
Quote:
Originally Posted by sophismata
Encryption is a way you can get around packet filtering, if your ISP does such a thing. Azereus can encrypt data packets.

More importantly, what is you upload bandwidth? If it's very low, it would probably explain some of your problems, because most clients default to uncapped uploads which can hamper speeds on low-bandwith connections.

Your speed should be listed from your isp as 100/x, or something like that. Your download may be 100Mbps, but I still need an upload.
Hmm... Let's see.... How should i know whether my ISP has the packet filtering for the encryption?

Hmm... How should i look for my upload bandwidth? Did it same as the internet speed?

100/x? What it mean? please explain to me so i can answer better and you can understand better....
__________________
eden13600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-04-08, 04:50   Link #44
sophismata
いいえ
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Varies. Currently in Sydney, Australia.
Quote:
Originally Posted by eden13600
Hmm... Let's see.... How should i know whether my ISP has the packet filtering for the encryption?

Hmm... How should i look for my upload bandwidth? Did it same as the internet speed?

100/x? What it mean? please explain to me so i can answer better and you can understand better....
Late reply, apologies, but here goes:

Most ISP's provide asymmetrial linespeeds; that is, they will give you a high download bandiwdth (allowing you do download things quickly) and a low upload bandwidth (limiting your capacity to send data to the internet). This is fine for home, or normal internet use, since you download much, much more than you upload.

What I need to know is, what is your linespeed? IE, what download/upload rate has your ISP assigned to your internet plan? Are you on cable? Normally they will show the linespeed in kbps, by telling you that your plan has a speed of 1024/96, for example, but with cable this tends to be different.
sophismata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-04-10, 20:52   Link #45
tweaker
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
I have been using the basic bittorrent client using curses, not even a gui. I am running it on openBSD. I hit ports between 10000-40000. I randomly pick them each time.

The max I have received for download was 220 kb. I am running a syskonnect NIC card.

Can you post a netstat on your box, so we can see if you have more than bittorrent running on your box? I wonder what active connections you might have that are eating up your bandwidth.

It would look something like this:

Active Internet connections (including servers)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address Foreign Address (state)
tcp 0 0 192.168.0.2.11010 80.67.66.55.80 TIME_WAIT
tcp 0 0 192.168.0.2.17407 80.67.66.55.80 TIME_WAIT
tcp 0 0 192.168.0.2.7655 64.86.107.81.80 TIME_WAIT
tcp 0 0 192.168.0.2.36055 80.67.66.55.80 TIME_WAIT
tcp 0 0 192.168.0.2.21351 207.68.172.236.80 TIME_WAIT
tcp 0 0 192.168.0.2.22152 207.68.178.16.80 TIME_WAIT
tcp 0 0 192.168.0.2.43674 70.241.247.214.17903 ESTABLISHED
tcp 0 0 192.168.0.2.35778 69.137.81.65.6881 ESTABLISHED
tcp 0 0 192.168.0.2.11557 83.114.252.124.6881 ESTABLISHED
tcp 0 0 192.168.0.2.7996 142.46.139.150.34313 ESTABLISHED
tcp 0 0 192.168.0.2.18024 70.176.80.39.25706 ESTABLISHED
tcp 0 4004 192.168.0.2.16543 85.228.140.5.32881 ESTABLISHED
tcp 0 0 192.168.0.2.44464 68.205.220.184.6885 ESTABLISHED
tcp 0 0 192.168.0.2.39203 24.239.177.11.6881 ESTABLISHED
tcp 0 0 192.168.0.2.1114 67.191.148.211.23652 ESTABLISHED
tcp 0 0 192.168.0.2.3153 62.194.65.121.16881 ESTABLISHED
tcp 0 0 192.168.0.2.20613 213.113.110.207.6881 ESTABLISHED
tcp 0 5357 192.168.0.2.46835 200.74.6.44.2020 ESTABLISHED
tcp 0 0 192.168.0.2.3269 67.9.186.114.59008 ESTABLISHED
tcp 0 0 192.168.0.2.29802 128.151.95.129.6881 ESTABLISHED
tcp 0 0 192.168.0.2.8057 83.236.22.7.36204 ESTABLISHED
tweaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-04-10, 20:55   Link #46
tweaker
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by sophismata
Encryption is a way you can get around packet filtering, if your ISP does such a thing. Azereus can encrypt data packets.

More importantly, what is you upload bandwidth? If it's very low, it would probably explain some of your problems, because most clients default to uncapped uploads which can hamper speeds on low-bandwith connections.

Your speed should be listed from your isp as 100/x, or something like that. Your download may be 100Mbps, but I still need an upload.
How would encryption get you past a well written packet filter? You still need the protocol portion of bittorrent unencrypted.

tweak
tweaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-04-11, 23:09   Link #47
sophismata
いいえ
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Varies. Currently in Sydney, Australia.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tweaker
How would encryption get you past a well written packet filter? You still need the protocol portion of bittorrent unencrypted.
To be honest, I'm not certain. Encryption, though, is the preferred method for circumventing ISP restricitions on BT.

The other, more obvious one is just to change the port/port range. A lot of people, I think, still use the default port(s).
sophismata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-04-15, 00:21   Link #48
eden13600
Junior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Malaysia
Send a message via MSN to eden13600
Sophismata, sorry for the late reply because i'm taking my com for the reformatting. And before my dl rate can reach until 80+kb/s, i'm happy with that. But when i finish my formatting then i use the BT again. But the speed of the BT is just really slow as it's be... I wonder what happen again... I've done all the step that need in the BT and of course for the setting of my router. Then, what should i do now? Sorry for the trouble again...
__________________
eden13600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-04-15, 23:58   Link #49
babuji
Alston De Ventigo
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Malaysia
I also had the same problem....My comp crashed once. But now it is up running well again.


I usually download files using BitTornado and my speed could reach 40kB/s...But somehow this few days...I only get it at 2 to 4kB/s. I even get 130 seeds and my upload rate is at 80%...


My icon is also displayed green and I have already set exception for bittornado in the firewall.

I also randomize my port.

I need some help here...I have done all the ways to maximize the download rate but yet I still download at 2 to 4kB/s.

Thanks in advance. Hoping to get some advice from anybody.
__________________
Signature stolen by a horde of carnivorous bunnies. It is an unscientifically proven fact that they are attracted to signatures which break the signature rules.
babuji is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 22:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.