AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > AnimeSuki & Technology > Download Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2003-12-29, 22:01   Link #1
Phatspoonie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Question Opening Ports? And My Router/firewall

I have gone through this forum and dozens of other websites already, and so i came here to see if i could find anyone that could help me out. Basically, like many others, my downloads arn't going to fast (0-5kbs), and my IBM T40 laptop is connected to a SpeedStream SS2602 router which leads into the RCA Cable Modem and then into the wall. Basically, I believe my router has a built in firewall, and I can't find out how to disable the firewall. Another question is about forwarding/opening up my ports. How do i do this? Under Network Connections -> Local Area Connection Settings -> Properties Tab, the Settings button is unclickable (grey). PlEASE, if anyone can help me unlock and help me figure all this stuff out, thatd be great, because i keep getting stumped when reading sumthing that branches off into something i dont have or am unable to do

thanks a lot PHATSPOONIE
Phatspoonie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2003-12-29, 22:32   Link #2
bOcyOgl
lv.2 频道贼
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: UK
Age: 31
Get your router manual and find out how to connect to your router

I connect to my router through the address http://192.168.1.1

find the ip of your router and log on to it, there should be settings for you to open/forward the ports.

read the bittorrent step-by-step sticky ~
bOcyOgl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2003-12-29, 23:26   Link #3
Phatspoonie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Ok, I'm getting closer. I found my router's IP which is ~192.168.254.254~ and entered it in the browser and entered (using password Admin), yet i can't seem to find options to open/forward ports. I did find the firewall link and now have that off.
Could this site be what i need to work on?
http://192.168.254.254:88/ADVANCED_S...UAL_SERVER.HTM
If so, what should i be filling in for those blanks?

I'm also using TorrentStorm, which allows me to view peers and all that other good stuff. Checked peers again and still are all local and all LEDs are still yellow. So if i was able to open/forward these ports, and my firewalls are all shutdown, will i finally be able to download at a nice decent speed?

sorry im a nub when it comes to networking and ports and basically hardware-software stuff hehe.

thanks a lot again, i hope this will help you help me help myself
Phatspoonie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2003-12-29, 23:51   Link #4
ElvenPath
a step away from heaven
*Moderator
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: U.K. London
1. Pull up the Router's Web Management Interface (192.168.254.254, by default) on your internet browser and login with your username (‘admin’ by default) and password (‘admin’ by default).

2. Click on "Advance Setup" on the top left of the main page.

3. Click on "Port Forwarding" on the left margin

4. Forward ports 6881-6889. Protocol TCP&UDP.
__________________
I want a unicorn.
ElvenPath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2003-12-30, 01:00   Link #5
Phatspoonie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheAvsFan

2. Click on "Advance Setup" on the top left of the main page.

3. Click on "Port Forwarding" on the left margin

4. Forward ports 6881-6889. Protocol TCP&UDP.
Yes, I see the Advance Setup link, but when i click on it, there appears no Port Forwarding Link.

If you need, I can post a screenshot to show you what i see, but dont know how to add it into this post/reply.
Phatspoonie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2003-12-30, 02:06   Link #6
NoSanninWa
Weapon of Mass Discussion
*Fansubber
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New York, USA
To put in a screenshot:
[img]picture goes here[/img]

It needs to be on a webhost so use http://www.uploadit.org/ if you don't have one already. Upload it is simple to use and doesn't even require you to create an account.
__________________

There's not that fine a line between willing suspension of disbelief and something just being stupid.
NoSanninWa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2003-12-30, 02:26   Link #7
Lone Wolf
Hacker-nin
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Lunar Base LM-104
Send a message via AIM to Lone Wolf
From their knowledgebase:

1. Log in to your router by going to [http://192.168.254.254:88] in your Web browser and entering your password. The default password is [admin]. Note that this password is case sensitive. There is no login user name.

2. Select [Advanced Setup].

3. Select [Special Applications].

4. Enter your port information into one of the 10 "slots" manually...

Pretty pictures can be found here

All ports will be TCP.
You will need to put each port on its own line. should look something like:
1) 6881 | TCP | 6881 | TCP | checked
x) 688x | TCP | 688x | TCP | checked
.
.
9) 6889 | TCP | 6889 | TCP | checked

lonewolf
__________________
Random quotes:
find / -name '*your_base*' -exec chown us:us {} \;

"You must realize that someday you will die-until you know that, you are useless"

If you can't make it fit with a sledge hammer, don't force it!
Lone Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2003-12-30, 03:32   Link #8
Phatspoonie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003

So it should look like this right?
[note] image changed from orginal. original row 10 was checked as enabled (just small but important mistake)
I hope it works, because that does help a lot. I'll let you know how it goes
thanks

ADDED:
Ok I filled out each row, like you said and when i said save changes, it told me that the port #s were invalid. What exactly is the trigger port? or will it just get me more confused?
Any suggestions
http://192.168.254.254:88/ADVANCED_S...PPLICATION.HTM
default password (admin)

Last edited by Phatspoonie; 2004-01-02 at 22:49.
Phatspoonie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2003-12-30, 10:47   Link #9
bOcyOgl
lv.2 频道贼
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: UK
Age: 31
judging from your screenshot, I think you need to disable special application slot 10 (its ticked, untick it)

I wonder if its ok to use 6881-6889 instead of using 9 out of 10 slots to input individual ports.

Last edited by bOcyOgl; 2003-12-30 at 16:20.
bOcyOgl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2003-12-30, 15:23   Link #10
Phatspoonie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Awesome, i think that unticking #10 did it. All my LEDs changed from yellow to green with the exception of one file which remains at 98.86% BLUE (file is 1.3gb) ;_;. So i think im about golden right now, I'm just waiting for my downloads to start picking up. While some remain at 0kbs, another has at least jumped to 16kbs. Does this sound right? or am i still suffereing from something.....
Thanks a lot for all your help
Phatspoonie
Phatspoonie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2003-12-30, 15:31   Link #11
NoSanninWa
Weapon of Mass Discussion
*Fansubber
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New York, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phatspoonie
I have gone through this forum and dozens of other websites already, and so i came here to see if i could find anyone that could help me out.
I guess that makes us the number 1 tech support site on the web!
That's amusing to me because we cater to anime otaku, not techies.
__________________

There's not that fine a line between willing suspension of disbelief and something just being stupid.
NoSanninWa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2003-12-30, 19:22   Link #12
Phatspoonie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
im a techie? i thought i was just a confused little child who wanted his anime and stuff to download faster. But damn, thank you all for being so smart, and helping me figure all this stuff out
Phatspoonie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2003-12-30, 19:27   Link #13
bOcyOgl
lv.2 频道贼
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: UK
Age: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phatspoonie
im a techie? i thought i was just a confused little child who wanted his anime and stuff to download faster. But damn, thank you all for being so smart, and helping me figure all this stuff out
Yup thanks to the cool tech threads I get to open the magical ports 6881-6889(6999) of my router on christmas day (a few days earlier than you)
bOcyOgl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-01-02, 17:24   Link #14
KnowsNothing
<3 Nina
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Road Eye-Land
Age: 24
Is there any risk involed when doing that?
__________________
The next sentance is true. The last sentance is false.
KnowsNothing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-01-03, 08:59   Link #15
Sour-Do
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: SWTOR Ajunta Pall
Send a message via ICQ to Sour-Do Send a message via AIM to Sour-Do Send a message via MSN to Sour-Do Send a message via Yahoo to Sour-Do
Quote:
Originally Posted by KnowsNothing
Is there any risk involed when doing that?
You mean security risks involved in opening listening ports?

Yes, of course, there is always some risk. By opening or forwarding a port to your PC, an attacker (who knows your public IP address) can attempt to exploit any security holes in any program or operating system component that listens on that specific port.

You can minimize the risk by opening only the minumum number of ports you need while blocking all other ports. This way, the benefit (e.g., higher BitTorrent download speeds, etc.) can far outweigh any potential risk of opening the specific ports.

-- Sour-Do
AnimeMuyou!
Sour-Do is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
We use Silk.