AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > AnimeSuki & Technology > Tech Support

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2006-04-25, 17:52   Link #41
Kamui4356
Aria Company
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by mxg
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116001 well i decided to go with this anyway becuase the restrting still occurs when under stress. But one question i have will I need to install windows XP 64 bit edition on this or will the regular Windows work just as well. And lastly I hear that not many thing are compatible with windows XP 64 bit edition. Can you please clraify for me ?
Link isn't working... I'll assume it's a 64-bit processor based on your questions though. I wouldn't say 32-bit windows will work just as well, but it'll work fine with a 64-bit processor. As for hardware incompatability with xp 64, I've found those claims are somewhat exaggerated. However, that doesn't mean they're not credible. Check the websites for the manufacturers of your various components to make sure they have 64 bit drivers. There is a trial version of xp 64 which you should probably try first. It's downloadable from microsoft's website and free for 120 days. Of course, I'm sure other people could give you more information on this.

edit:
Quote:
Originally Posted by mxg
And also did the filesize change of sigs ?
You're fine, Mr.Muffin's sig is a bit large though.

edit2:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stardash
here is a fixed link.
Ah, it was the same one as before.
__________________

Last edited by Kamui4356; 2006-04-25 at 18:27.
Kamui4356 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-04-25, 18:12   Link #42
Stardash
Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: In the States
here is a fixed link. personally I believe that AMD is a much better choice when it comes to dual core processors. (Intel is only winning in the processor market for notebooks although this maybe debatable) I also believe it's more cost effective to splurge on the processor, since that's the part of the computer you're least likely to upgrade (since it would require a new motherboard)
Stardash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-04-25, 18:31   Link #43
mxg
The Lone Gamer
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: A changed place
Age: 25
Send a message via AIM to mxg Send a message via MSN to mxg Send a message via Yahoo to mxg
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stardash
here is a fixed link.
Well the processor does support the 64bit editon of windows howevcer I really just want to know if when I install regular windows 32bit if I will still see a much improved over my normal processor which is single core? Or will I need to go 64bit to feel the difference? Becuase I really wanna multitask on my PC with some heavy duty programs running at the same time.
__________________
Your signature was deleted by a Mod because it exceeded the size limit requested in the forum rules! Please take a look at it.
mxg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-04-25, 20:28   Link #44
mxg
The Lone Gamer
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: A changed place
Age: 25
Send a message via AIM to mxg Send a message via MSN to mxg Send a message via Yahoo to mxg
Ahhh yess I fianlly got a BSOD for the 1st time. The error is KERNEL_STACK_INPAGE_ERROR

Well thats what it said when i got it. Also i bought a bunch of cooling supplies for my PC plus I still need to get canned air but I cant find any anywhere. And I scrapped the processor becuase i just noticed my mo bo is a socket 478
__________________
Your signature was deleted by a Mod because it exceeded the size limit requested in the forum rules! Please take a look at it.
mxg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-04-25, 22:20   Link #45
mr.muffin
Member
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by mxg
Ahhh yess I fianlly got a BSOD for the 1st time. The error is KERNEL_STACK_INPAGE_ERROR
Did a little seach on Microsoft's Knowledgebase and this came up.

It would be helpful if you could post the exact STOP error code.

edit:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kamui4356
You're fine, Mr.Muffin's sig is a bit large though.
Okie, sig has been resized.
__________________

Last edited by mr.muffin; 2006-04-26 at 05:52.
mr.muffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-04-26, 17:28   Link #46
Stardash
Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: In the States
Quote:
Originally Posted by mxg
Well the processor does support the 64bit editon of windows howevcer I really just want to know if when I install regular windows 32bit if I will still see a much improved over my normal processor which is single core? Or will I need to go 64bit to feel the difference? Becuase I really wanna multitask on my PC with some heavy duty programs running at the same time.
You will see a noticible difference when running dual core vs. single core. More so about multitasking applications than improvements on one application alone. If you have a 64 vs 32, the difference is minimal and will hardly be noticed until more 64bit able software comes out.
Stardash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-04-27, 22:28   Link #47
ABor3dBoy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
hey all. my NF51 (now NF41) mobo topic has some data but i'll just let it sink and post in here now. anyway, i'll be building a new comp and i'd like some feedback (it is budget comp)

mobo - eVGA 133-K8-NF41 ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813188002

HD - SAMSUNG SpinPoint P Series 250GB 3.5" SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822152025
OR, Western Digital Caviar SE16 250GB 3.5" SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144701 (would like you guys' advise on this choice)

SATA connector - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16812104150

Vid Card - eVGA Geforce 7600GS 256-P2-N547 Video Card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130011

PSU - Thermaltake TR2 W0070 430W Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153023

RAM - Crucial Technology Ballistix 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM System Memory
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820148007
OR, http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820220006 (would like advise on this decision as well)

Proccesor - AMD Athlon 64 3000+ 2000MHz HT Socket 939 Processor
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103537

Case - http://www.newegg.com/product/Produc...82E16811119068
COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 CAC-T05-UW Black Computer Case


anyway, i'd really like your help with the compatibility of these bad boys especially the vid card and the chipset. the 7600GS is GDDR2 is that compatible w/ chipset? (ROFL yeah i'm noob when it comes to vid cards)

opinion on the RAM and HDs is also needed. i've heard good and bad things about Patriot.
ABor3dBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-04-27, 22:31   Link #48
RaistlinMajere
Now in MHD!
*Fansubber
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Samsung easily. Samsung's current drives are actually decently fast and they're the quiestest desktop drives available. And the prices are good. WD, on the other hand, doesn't have one of the better reputations for reliability, and 95% of their SATA drives are actually PATA with a built in converter. Avoid.
__________________
RaistlinMajere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-04-27, 22:50   Link #49
ABor3dBoy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
aha. yeah, a lot people who go with Patriot love or hate it. I love corsair but DDR400 is pricy compared to other 2x512 other companies offer. well, I think i'll stick to Crucial or get these Corsair sticks
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145450

and EVERYTHING is compatible correct? hehe, this is only going to be my second build and the first i never really did my own research, just kinda learned did the wiring. Is the PSU sufficient enough? also, would anyone advise a PCI fan from Zalman to help cooling? (i think the case + default cooling system should be sufficient enough)


SIDENOTE: muahaha. even though this isn't anime area MoSh is so great (noticed lots of people on tech forum have MoSh avatars or sigs). titled order is

1-2-3-4-and 5(yet to come)
i've been piecing it together and even though they saw that ep 1 is 0 i still think its weird cause its a movie they madethat can be anywhere so far soooo
?-1-2-7-3
ABor3dBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-04-28, 00:02   Link #50
RaistlinMajere
Now in MHD!
*Fansubber
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Oh, good thing you noted the PSU. No. Do not get a Thermaltake, Aspire, etc. If you want a well-priced good power supply, get a Fortron.
__________________
RaistlinMajere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-04-28, 00:27   Link #51
ABor3dBoy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
ah isee. I was thinking the Thermaltake was pretty solid for its watts to price ratio. it seems nice to me. Could you be so kind to explain the FSP suggestion?

seems like i'll be going with this one
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104954

also, about the other stuff....

EDIT: welp, seems like i'll be sticking to crucial, seems like a couple of guys on evga forums have had good turn outs using the 2x512 crucial RAM kit above with the NF41
ABor3dBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-04-28, 00:33   Link #52
RaistlinMajere
Now in MHD!
*Fansubber
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Fortron is just a quality brand. Thermaltake is not - at least not with power supplies.

Check out http://www.jonnyguru.com/ (note: there is ONE Thermaltake unit he somewhat likes, DO NOT confuse this with him liking Thermaltake PSUs in general)
__________________
RaistlinMajere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-04-28, 01:47   Link #53
ABor3dBoy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
alrighty, i'll be going with the FSP PSU and the crucial RAM. sounds good.
ABor3dBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-04-28, 02:50   Link #54
Sides
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Edinburgh
Age: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by ABor3dBoy
alrighty, i'll be going with the FSP PSU...
Well i reckon you should look for the PSU models and not the brands.
Since not all FSP PSU are good, so first; look what it avalible
and suitable for your usage (Watt supply and size).
Then google it and find some reviews on it,
look out for energy efficency, power output and alternative models
the reviewer provides.
Sides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-04-28, 02:57   Link #55
ABor3dBoy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
hehe. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104954

poked out that model in earlier post. looks like it'll meet my needs and the immediate results of research seemed good. will continue doing hwk on it tomorrow.
ABor3dBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-04-28, 19:27   Link #56
RaistlinMajere
Now in MHD!
*Fansubber
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
All of the newer Fortrons are good and the one he's getting is included. Personally, I'm a Seasonic kind of guy, but they're much more expensive.
__________________
RaistlinMajere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-05-06, 16:47   Link #57
ABor3dBoy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
actually. i think i'll be going with another FSP supply.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104953

50 watts less. 10 bucks cheaper. pretty sure 400 watts will be efficient for the build.
ABor3dBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-05-07, 00:44   Link #58
LynnieS
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: China
The efficiency of a PSU is very important also, and depending on how the max wattage is calculated, more important, IMHO, than the number of watts the PSU can provide.

An efficient PSU will save you money in the long run through your monthly electricity bills. You also want to get a PSU that can provide stable power to your system under load and at a realistic range of temperatures.
__________________
"If ignorance is bliss, then why aren't more people happy?" -- Misc.

Currently listening: Nadda
Currently reading: Procrastination for the win!
Currently playing: "Quest of D", "Border Break" and "Gundam Senjou no Kizuna".
Waiting for: "Shining Force Cross"!
LynnieS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-05-07, 13:36   Link #59
RaistlinMajere
Now in MHD!
*Fansubber
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Yes, I like efficient PSUs too. My PSU is 80plus certified and Fortron's "green power" series are about equal to it in efficiency.
__________________
RaistlinMajere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-05-15, 00:10   Link #60
ABor3dBoy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
well... shoot i up the card to a 7600 GT http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130283

or stick to the 7600 GS? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130011

GS has DVI problems but i don't even use DVI. GT is about 25-ish dollars more after rebates and everything but rebates arent always exactly... great...

sigh, i wish they discounted up front instead of rebates.

EDIT: i'll be going with the GT. also, about the PSU... should i stick with the FSP or should i go with this Antec PSU... http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103931

it seems pretty solid for an SLI PSU

Last edited by ABor3dBoy; 2006-05-15 at 22:57.
ABor3dBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
building computers

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 14:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.