AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > AnimeSuki & Technology > Tech Support

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2006-12-20, 20:49   Link #1
Shay
Monarch Programmer
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Liverpool
Age: 33
All round general help.

Ok. After eons I have finally gotten hold of a copy of XP Pro...

I have done a complete and utter re-instal. Yet I have problems...

1) When I drag windows, or scroll up or down on forums etc, I get annoying ripples. Is this a sign I need a new graphics card?

2) Every now and again this pops up?

WTF?

3) Also, after an antagonisizing amount of effort everything on my desktop, including my task bar is just slightly smaller than it used to be. Is this something to do with my graphics card?


I will update with more problems as I find them.
__________________
Current Anime - Attack on Titan
Current Manga - Naruto
Current Book - Waiting for War of the Roses
Current Album - Vessel by Twenty One Pilots
Shay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-12-20, 20:53   Link #2
durrem
[megaplay] *sparkles*
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Milpitas, CA, USA
1. Sounds like you need to update your graphics card driver.

2. Sounds like spyware or a virus to me... It looks like they're just trying to get you to go to that web page.

Last edited by durrem; 2006-12-20 at 21:04. Reason: oops
durrem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-12-20, 21:02   Link #3
Shay
Monarch Programmer
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Liverpool
Age: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by durrem View Post
1. Sounds like you need to update your graphics card driver.

2. Sounds like spyware of a virus to me... It looks like they're just trying to get you to go to that web page.
1) How do I does this

2) Me too. however, I have only just this minute totally reformatted and re-installed xp.
__________________
Current Anime - Attack on Titan
Current Manga - Naruto
Current Book - Waiting for War of the Roses
Current Album - Vessel by Twenty One Pilots
Shay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-12-20, 21:04   Link #4
Jinto
Asuki-tan Kairin ↓
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fürth (GER)
Age: 33
1) hm, not neccessarily, maybe you try it with different drivers first.
edit: 2 options either you get original drivers on the card manufacturers website or reference drivers on the GPU manufacturers website (for nvidia .. www.nvidia.com, for ATI ati.amd.com (yes those two belong together now ))

2) the messge comes via the MS net send message service (you can try it yourself with the "net send" command).
Shay, I'ld simply deactivate this service.
If you had SP2 installed this would deactivated by default. If you need further instructions for manual deactivating it please tell me.

3) was it smaller to begin with (since the installation?).

You should really use a firewall, and upgrade to the latest Service Packs (2 imo) + patches.
Jinto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-12-20, 21:09   Link #5
Shay
Monarch Programmer
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Liverpool
Age: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jinto Lin View Post
1) hm, not neccessarily, maybe you try it with different drivers first.

2) the messge comes via the MS net send message service (you can try it yourself with the "net send" command).
Shay, I'ld simply deactivate this service.
If you had SP2 installed this would deactivated by default. If you need further instructions for manual deactivating it please tell me.

3) was it smaller to begin with (since the installation?).

You should really use a firewall, and upgrade to the latest Service Packs (2 imo) + patches.
1) I aint got no divers. What is in there is everything.

2) Yes please.

3) Everything is just slightly smaller than it was before. As much as I play with the settings I can't get it right.

4) Just relished I got no sound!
__________________
Current Anime - Attack on Titan
Current Manga - Naruto
Current Book - Waiting for War of the Roses
Current Album - Vessel by Twenty One Pilots
Shay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-12-20, 21:10   Link #6
durrem
[megaplay] *sparkles*
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Milpitas, CA, USA
Ok, the first thing you have to do is take care of that virus. I'm not much of a software person, so I'll let others talk about that. There are multiple threads regarding that topic here anyway (use search).

When you reinstall Windows, there are a few things you have to do. The first thing you need to do is to install the drivers for your motherboard. You can find out what motherboard by running cpu-z (google it) and looking up the motherboard on its manufacturer's web page. They will also have things like drivers for onboard sound cards.

You need to also do this for any add on cards you have, including your video card. If you have an Ati video card go to ati.com or if you have an nvidia card go to nvidia.com to download the drivers for that video card. Hmm, I'm not sure what program would be good for looking up what video card you have. I usually just take a look at it physically to see what it is.

Then you need to run windows update until you have all the patches for your system.

Edit: or message service, not virus... heh
durrem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-12-20, 21:18   Link #7
Shay
Monarch Programmer
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Liverpool
Age: 33
Err, yeah I think you're both right. I just found my original driver disc. But the fucker won’t plug+play so to speak. It is asking me to manually install everything! Sound card, graphics card, motherboards! WTF?

I guess I will have to open this bastard up!
__________________
Current Anime - Attack on Titan
Current Manga - Naruto
Current Book - Waiting for War of the Roses
Current Album - Vessel by Twenty One Pilots
Shay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-12-20, 21:24   Link #8
Jinto
Asuki-tan Kairin ↓
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fürth (GER)
Age: 33
1)

2 options either you get original drivers on the card manufacturers website or reference drivers on the GPU manufacturers website (for nvidia .. www.nvidia.com, for ATI ati.amd.com (yes those two belong together now ))

I suggest you download referenc drivers (but you need to know what type of GPU you are using (e.g. if it is a NVIDIA GEFORCE 6800 or e.g. ATI Radeon X1800)

then you need choose on their website, download and install it...

2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by http://www.re-quest.net/computers/messenger-spam/
Click Start -> Settings -> Control Panel

Click Performance and Maintenance (if it exists, else skip to 3).

Click Administrative Tools.

Double click Services.

Scroll down and highlight "Messenger" (a single click).

Right-click the highlighted line and choose Properties.

Click the STOP button.

Select Disable or Manual under the "Startup Type" menu selection (we recommend the manual setting).

Click OK.
3) on a blank space on your desktop do a right button mouse click, then select properties, go to the ?display? tab (in german "Darstellung"), and set another fontsize that will increase both... fontsize and panels and stuff)

4) try to find sound card drivers (for on board sound, try the driver CD that came with your motherboard/PC)

edit:

usually there are folders on this CD, just look into them and if you see something that looks like an installer for the soundcard try it out
Jinto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-12-20, 21:24   Link #9
durrem
[megaplay] *sparkles*
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Milpitas, CA, USA
Well, it's better to get the latest motherboard drivers anyway. The ones on the CD are old

Download cpu-z and extract it to your desktop. Then double click on the cpuz.exe file. It won't install anything on your computer; it just runs from your desktop. Click on the "Motherboard" tab and look up the manufacturer and model.
durrem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-12-20, 21:34   Link #10
Jinto
Asuki-tan Kairin ↓
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fürth (GER)
Age: 33
3) on a second thought, maybe its just the display resolution that is set too high, try different settings in [choose blank space on desktop]->right mouse click->properties->properties->res. slider (try different settings)
Jinto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-12-20, 21:42   Link #11
Shay
Monarch Programmer
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Liverpool
Age: 33
Hmm, still doesn't look right, but it is a little better.

Look.
Spoiler for big pic:


Not proportionate is it?

Start menue text is too small and desktop text is a slightly too big...

So ok guys! We're getting somewhere, thanks!

I now have everything almost looking the right size (bar a few things, ie task bar icons). I have sound. And I no longer have annoying pop-ups. But I still have the ripple effect when scrolling and shit.

I remember I had an ATI control panel and something radeon before my PC fucked up. I vaguely remember something saying family pack?

So I think I now just need to install the correct graphics drivers.
__________________
Current Anime - Attack on Titan
Current Manga - Naruto
Current Book - Waiting for War of the Roses
Current Album - Vessel by Twenty One Pilots

Last edited by Shay; 2006-12-20 at 21:56.
Shay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-12-20, 21:52   Link #12
durrem
[megaplay] *sparkles*
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Milpitas, CA, USA
Hmm, try going to ati.amd.com (heh). Then select "drivers & software" on the top. Then select "windows xp professional/home" and "radeon." Then you will see a big list of video card. Don't worry about this and just pick one. ATI has unified drivers, so the same file is good for all of their radeon cards, so just pick one at random and use that file. It should direct you to a 11.9 MB driver file with the 6.12 version drivers. Download and run that and you should be good to go.

Don't forget to run windows update to get all patched up, though. Otherwise you will be vulnerable to all kinds of security problems (not just the new ones heh).
durrem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-12-20, 22:01   Link #13
Shay
Monarch Programmer
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Liverpool
Age: 33
Deleted......
__________________
Current Anime - Attack on Titan
Current Manga - Naruto
Current Book - Waiting for War of the Roses
Current Album - Vessel by Twenty One Pilots

Last edited by Shay; 2006-12-20 at 22:30.
Shay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-12-20, 22:05   Link #14
durrem
[megaplay] *sparkles*
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Milpitas, CA, USA
Heh, well I don't know anything about that...
durrem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-12-20, 22:22   Link #15
Shay
Monarch Programmer
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Liverpool
Age: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by durrem View Post
Hmm, try going to ati.amd.com (heh). Then select "drivers & software" on the top. Then select "windows xp professional/home" and "radeon." Then you will see a big list of video card. Don't worry about this and just pick one. ATI has unified drivers, so the same file is good for all of their radeon cards, so just pick one at random and use that file. It should direct you to a 11.9 MB driver file with the 6.12 version drivers. Download and run that and you should be good to go.
That worked! And with that, and what Jinto suggested everything is the right size!

Thanks, guys. You're the best!
__________________
Current Anime - Attack on Titan
Current Manga - Naruto
Current Book - Waiting for War of the Roses
Current Album - Vessel by Twenty One Pilots
Shay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-12-20, 22:43   Link #16
durrem
[megaplay] *sparkles*
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Milpitas, CA, USA
np, good luck with the codecs :P heh
durrem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-12-20, 23:32   Link #17
KiNA
Kira_Naruto, the ecchi
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: http://www.exciting-tits.com/
Quote:
Originally Posted by durrem View Post
Hmm, try going to ati.amd.com (heh). Then select "drivers & software" on the top. Then select "windows xp professional/home" and "radeon." Then you will see a big list of video card. Don't worry about this and just pick one. ATI has unified drivers, so the same file is good for all of their radeon cards, so just pick one at random and use that file. It should direct you to a 11.9 MB driver file with the 6.12 version drivers. Download and run that and you should be good to go.

Don't forget to run windows update to get all patched up, though. Otherwise you will be vulnerable to all kinds of security problems (not just the new ones heh).
Just out of curiosity .. I went and do the same.. and I got v6.11 and 46+Mb driver ..
__________________
“This be the realest shit I ever wrote.” ~Tupac
So very dead right now.. but still breathing thank you.
Top 4 Manga Waifu
>> Tsukiumi
>> Saeko Busujima
>> Himuka
>> Yui Kotegawa


KiNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-12-20, 23:41   Link #18
durrem
[megaplay] *sparkles*
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Milpitas, CA, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kira_Naruto View Post
Just out of curiosity .. I went and do the same.. and I got v6.11 and 46+Mb driver ..
Oh yeah, huh. It looks like some of the older cards can't use the 6.12 drivers... Good thing the 6.12 drivers worked in this case.
durrem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-12-20, 23:50   Link #19
KiNA
Kira_Naruto, the ecchi
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: http://www.exciting-tits.com/
^ erm ...
Quote:
It should direct you to a 11.9 MB driver file with the 6.12 version drivers
But, I get v6.11 which is 46.7Mb instead...
__________________
“This be the realest shit I ever wrote.” ~Tupac
So very dead right now.. but still breathing thank you.
Top 4 Manga Waifu
>> Tsukiumi
>> Saeko Busujima
>> Himuka
>> Yui Kotegawa


KiNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.