AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > AnimeSuki & Technology > Tech Support

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2007-04-10, 03:19   Link #1
Tiberium Wolf
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portugal
Age: 34
Share keyboard, mouse and monitor.

I know there is device so that a 2 pcs can share a monitor but I dont know it's name right now and I saw in store that is cost like 70 euros.

Now is there a device that do share those 3 items?

In case you didn't understand: You only have 1 mouse, 1 keyboard and 1 monitor and you have 2 pc cases(with whatever inside), and I wanna switch from 1 to another without have to plug and unplug those 3 devices in respective cases.
__________________
Tiberium Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-04-10, 03:42   Link #2
Tiberium Wolf
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portugal
Age: 34
Ok... lucky I found something in google

http://www.bixnet.com/kvmswitches.html

I think this might be it. BTW, anyone using these things?
__________________
Tiberium Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-04-10, 03:59   Link #3
KNETTER2000
Rei! What have you done!
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 37
Yes there is

It's called a KVM switch.
Are there more functionalities you want for the thing apart from Keyboard, Video Mouse support like USB or audio support that have to be switched? Do you use DVI or 15p D-Sub for video?

depending on your wishes they run from €19.99 up to €200 and on..

If you are only looking for basics ( D-Sub VGA, PS/2) you could go for something like this



http://www.kvmware.nl/?id=24&OID=skgcfr0n06ekzbx9

otherwise put in your wishes on the far right side of the site tolook what choices you have there.. or take a look at this one for el cheapo hardware: http://www.com-tra.de/shop/de_DE/pro...KS102_PS2.html

And ofcourse a Google on "KVM switch" will get you lots of hardware hits too since I don't know in what part of the world you reside and the first site is a Dutch one
__________________
I believe in god as much as I believe in a world without porn...
Spoiler:
KNETTER2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-04-10, 09:53   Link #4
SeijiSensei
AS Oji-kun
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mucking about
Age: 64
A free alternative is to run VNC on both computers so you can manage the second computer remotely from the first. VNC is pretty quick across a standard Ethernet network.
__________________
SeijiSensei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-04-10, 19:27   Link #5
Ledgem
Love Yourself
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northeast USA
Age: 28
The only trouble with running computers headless is that you can run into trouble if the other computer becomes unstable, or if you want to do something requiring no configured network access/high system demand (like a game). You should also go through a few extra steps to ensure that your remoting is secured, and that only you have access (not really too hard to do - especially if you're only accessing it through your internal network). Otherwise, it's a great solution.
__________________
Ledgem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-04-10, 20:07   Link #6
Robotnik
Not a member
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
If you're running WinXP Pro, it has built-in remote desktop functionality. Right-click "my computer", click "properties" and then the "remote desktop" tab. I used to work with people who accessed their home computers from the office this way. But as with VNC clients, this doesn't give you access to the boot screens.
Robotnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-04-10, 20:49   Link #7
Ledgem
Love Yourself
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northeast USA
Age: 28
I use the Remote Desktop Client myself, to access my desktop from my laptop while I am on my university campus. The only potential trouble with RDC is that it's Windows-based, meaning that its default access port and such are all well-known and potential targets. I believe that with VNC, you can set which port the service runs on.

On Windows RDC's benefits list, it encrypts traffic, while VNC does not do this by default (although you can configure it to run through SSH, I believe - it requires a bit of tweaking, unless this is now done by default).

For reference, I have my firewall set up to block all traffic to the RDC ports unless the origin is from my university's IP range. It's not a 100% secure solution, but it limits some attack potentials. Once a computer connects to RDC, it is brought to the classical-style Windows login screen (as if you'd locked your computer). I use a secure password, but I don't believe that the process terminates after a certain number of incorrect passwords, so theoretically it can be brute-forced.
__________________
Ledgem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-04-10, 23:15   Link #8
Robotnik
Not a member
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
I believe remote desktop's default ports can be changed as well, but only through modifying the registry. Good points about the firewall setup. Not sure if user accounts on a standalone computer or home network can be set to lock out after a specified number of failed login attempts though.

Hmm, maybe I'll set this up so I can log in to my home network when I go on vacation...
Robotnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-04-11, 03:13   Link #9
Tiberium Wolf
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portugal
Age: 34
That remote thing is good but if I want to play a game is not then.

I wanted to play games in 2 PCs but only having internet plus online games and the other(PC with new components) just for heavy demanded games, watching anime with minimal progs loaded and stockpile.
__________________
Tiberium Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.