AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > Support > Tech Support

Notices

Old 2008-03-09, 13:35   Link #1
Renegade334
Sleepy Lurker
*Graphic Designer

Which programming language should I choose?

Got a small question here (I know this is a software/hardware subforum but it felt like the best place to ask this, and I do have a follow-up request for freeware).

I started studying programming a couple months ago to kill some free time and so far I've only touched Pascal (buddy of mine advised me not to try OOP at first, as he saw many people quickly getting confused by OOP's subordinated concepts such as classes, heritage, encapsulation, etc) and am about to have a look at its OOP counterpart, Delphi. I'm still in the procedural language stage but I wouldn't say no to learning some OOP in advance.

However, I've been wondering, among the new object-oriented programming languages, which one would be the most interesting or useful, from a statistical, technical or practical standpoint:

1. Java
2. C
3. C++
4. C#
5. Visual Basic .NET

So, which one? I know Java lacks pointers and the like and that C++, while being an overextension of C (C++ being essentially 'C with classes'), suffers from backwards incompatibility with its parent language...and C# is rather new, since it's a Microsoft creation. I know some of you might say 'it depends on what you want to do with it', but I'd still like an idea of what seems to be, right now, the next best thing since sliced bread in terms of usefulness and the whole nine yards behind.