AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > Anime Related Topics > Reviews & Recommendations

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 2011-02-21, 14:06   Link #1
EmperorGothon

Want to get into reading more manga

Hi guys. I'm fairly new to manga/anime. Been on and off with it over the years, but want to get into it a lot more.

Currently I'm reading Full Metal Alchemist (great manga by the way), but as I say like to read more. Can anyone recommend a good manga for me to check out? I'm pretty varied in my tastes - but my first choice would be for fantasy/sci fi, prefably with not too much fanservice if possible (not that I have anything against fanservice, I just don't like these manga that shove it in your face. lol). Also, I prefer my stories to have a bit of a sense of humour, but I'm all for the overly dramatic.

Thanks guys. Hope to hear from some of you soon! Sorry if my knowledge of manga is a little limited. As I say I've been on and off with it over the years but would like to get into it a bit more.
Old 2011-02-21, 14:29   Link #2
Kagayaki

Two of my favorites are Hoshi no Samidare and Battle Angel Alita
Old 2011-02-21, 15:52   Link #3
signorRossi

Since your tastes are varied and I don't like too much fan-service either, these are the mangas I am reading or have read and like/d a lot:

Vinland Saga, ongoing. Eh..., it's about..., Vikings?
Blade of the Immortal, ongoing and many volumes. Samura really can draw.
Planetes, complete. Ever wanted to know about the importance of pron for space exploration? Don't worry, it's seinen, not hentai.
Takemitsu Zamurai, complete. My current favourite, I love everything about it. Serious about that.
Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind, complete. Before you can call anything else 'epic' you have to read this first to really get the meaning of the word 'epic'.

That's it for now. If you like those recommendations I can give you more later.
Old 2011-02-21, 16:36   Link #4