AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > Anime Related Topics > Games

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2011-08-13, 21:48   Link #21
Decagon
This was meaningless
*Scanlator
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Not on this site no more.
Age: 27
The last version I enjoyed was b6.1. And last I checked, there are still old beta servers and 1.6 servers with skilled players who haven't migrated to CS:source yet.
__________________
Decagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-08-14, 13:00   Link #22
ChainLegacy
廉頗
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Massachusetts, US
Age: 25
Now let's forget Source ever happened and make this an updated version of 1.6... One can only dream.
ChainLegacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-08-14, 14:55   Link #23
Forsaken_Infinity
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: United States of America
Age: 23
Send a message via Skype™ to Forsaken_Infinity
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChainLegacy View Post
Now let's forget Source ever happened and make this an updated version of 1.6... One can only dream.
I don't suppose forgetting Source will be that hard actually.
Forsaken_Infinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-08-14, 21:19   Link #24
Drake
dn ʎɐʍ sıɥʇ
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 29
Cant really see a reboot CS working in this day and age unless its radically changed.

I played it religiously until around v1.4 (whatever version removed the drivable APC from CS_siege) then I just got bored with the repetition but back then you where pretty limited with what you could play online.

Had a blast at CS source a few years back and thought it was pretty much the same bar fancy physics so didnt stick with it.
__________________

Drake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-08-14, 23:38   Link #25
Vallen Chaos Valiant
Logician and Romantic
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Within my mind
Age: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drake View Post
Cant really see a reboot CS working in this day and age unless its radically changed.

I played it religiously until around v1.4 (whatever version removed the drivable APC from CS_siege) then I just got bored with the repetition but back then you where pretty limited with what you could play online.

Had a blast at CS source a few years back and thought it was pretty much the same bar fancy physics so didnt stick with it.
Don't forget that TF2 was radically changed from its original concepts too.

Though obviously CS2 would most likely be more realistic if only to differentiate itself from TF2. The only question is the format that would make it stand out. The competition is fierce in terms of the multi-player FPS nowadays as you said.
__________________
Vallen Chaos Valiant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-08-15, 03:43   Link #26
pattana083
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Great i like it
pattana083 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-08-15, 09:01   Link #27
Drake
dn ʎɐʍ sıɥʇ
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 29
I don't know if you could really compare it to TF2 since aside from how TF2 looks a lot of its core gameplay remained the same or pretty similar but it all still felt new and fresh.

The CS formula is so much simpler and very much stop and start gameplay and similar experiences are now common in a lot of games nowadays (like headquarters mode in the COD games) so they'd have to pretty much start from scratch is they want it to feel new instead of simply updating the graphics and existing maps.
__________________

Drake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-08-25, 23:04   Link #28
RRW
Unspecified
*Scanlator
 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Unspecified
http://kotaku.com/5834542/an-hour-wi...nter+strike-go

PS3 VS PC!!
__________________
RRW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-08-25, 23:54   Link #29
GuidoHunter_Toki
Wiggle Your Big Toe
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Milwaukee
Age: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by RRW View Post
I'm more thrilled about the fact that you can use a mouse and keyboard to control it on the PS3.
__________________
GuidoHunter_Toki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-08-26, 01:28   Link #30
Vallen Chaos Valiant
Logician and Romantic
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Within my mind
Age: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by GuidoHunter_Toki View Post
I'm more thrilled about the fact that you can use a mouse and keyboard to control it on the PS3.
If this takes off, it might become accepted more broadly. I mean, you play a fighting game with a gamepad, and you play a FPS with a keyboard+mouse. That's how it should work. The right tool for the right job. It's not like the peripheral is even considered expensive compared to Move or Kinect
__________________
Vallen Chaos Valiant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-08-26, 04:51   Link #31
Jeffry2009
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Age: 28
Send a message via MSN to Jeffry2009 Send a message via Yahoo to Jeffry2009
Jeffry2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-08-26, 11:59   Link #32
GuidoHunter_Toki
Wiggle Your Big Toe
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Milwaukee
Age: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vallen Chaos Valiant View Post
If this takes off, it might become accepted more broadly. I mean, you play a fighting game with a gamepad, and you play a FPS with a keyboard+mouse. That's how it should work. The right tool for the right job. It's not like the peripheral is even considered expensive compared to Move or Kinect
I know, it makes sense that'd you'd have the option for using the control device that works best with the game itself.

I've got a USB keyboard, but I also have a wireless mouse and keyboard. I'd imagine the wireless would be the better choice, but I've never bothered to check if you can assign a wireless keyboard and mouse to a PS3.
__________________
GuidoHunter_Toki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-08-26, 14:47   Link #33
Jeffry2009
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Age: 28
Send a message via MSN to Jeffry2009 Send a message via Yahoo to Jeffry2009



Last edited by Jeffry2009; 2011-08-26 at 15:01.
Jeffry2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-08-28, 20:40   Link #34
blakstealth
Cinderella Gang or Die
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
So, apparently there won't be any aim assist in any of the versions. This should be interesting.
__________________
blakstealth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-08-28, 23:47   Link #35
Vallen Chaos Valiant
Logician and Romantic
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Within my mind
Age: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by blakstealth View Post
So, apparently there won't be any aim assist in any of the versions. This should be interesting.
If you got a mouse, you don't need aim assist. The only reason it existed at all was to compensate for gamepad control issues. They must have decided there is no point tweaking it.
__________________
Vallen Chaos Valiant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-08-29, 07:41   Link #36
blakstealth
Cinderella Gang or Die
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
It's only a shame the 360 version doesn't have K/M functionality like the ps3 does.
__________________
blakstealth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-08-29, 16:39   Link #37
Firefly00
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Send a message via ICQ to Firefly00 Send a message via AIM to Firefly00 Send a message via Yahoo to Firefly00
Quote:
Originally Posted by blakstealth View Post
It's only a shame the 360 version doesn't have K/M functionality like the ps3 does.
I've always wondered about that... what was Microsoft's excuse for this again?
__________________
White Knight of the Order of Mihoshi Enthusiasts
"Destroyed overnight, or the next one's free."
Arc Nova
Firefly00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-08-29, 18:43   Link #38
blakstealth
Cinderella Gang or Die
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Funnily enough, MS of all companies should implement this with their own console...but nope.

And GO will have PS Move functionality as well rofl.
__________________
blakstealth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-08-29, 20:25   Link #39
Vallen Chaos Valiant
Logician and Romantic
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Within my mind
Age: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firefly00 View Post
I've always wondered about that... what was Microsoft's excuse for this again?
Maybe MS want people to buy more game pads? That's sort of the only reason I can think of. Peripherals are a good money maker after all, and they are far more expensive than your standard mouse+keyboard combo you can buy anywhere..
__________________
Vallen Chaos Valiant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-08-29, 22:21   Link #40
Firefly00
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Send a message via ICQ to Firefly00 Send a message via AIM to Firefly00 Send a message via Yahoo to Firefly00
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vallen Chaos Valiant View Post
Maybe MS want people to buy more game pads? That's sort of the only reason I can think of. Peripherals are a good money maker after all, and they are far more expensive than your standard mouse+keyboard combo you can buy anywhere..
Probably... but I suspect the theory falls apart when you consider that...
  • Microsoft makes their own keyboards and mice; and
  • if I recall right, there are third-party gamepads that are compatible with the 360 (MadCatz and Razr, to name two, say hi)
__________________
White Knight of the Order of Mihoshi Enthusiasts
"Destroyed overnight, or the next one's free."
Arc Nova
Firefly00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.