AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > Anime Related Topics > Games

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2013-03-10, 07:24   Link #181
Keroko
Adeptus Animus
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Age: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by RRW View Post
No problem what so ever
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duo Maxwell View Post
Used to play BlazBlue on it. No problem.
How do you guys keep a stable WLAN connection? Mine just keeps slowing down if not outright dropping all the time.
__________________
Keroko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-03-10, 07:44   Link #182
Duo Maxwell
A Proud Lolicon
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In front of my computer
Age: 27
Send a message via Skype™ to Duo Maxwell
I don't know. Probably because the broadcasting point is located in my room.
__________________
Duo Maxwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-03-10, 12:36   Link #183
Drkz
( ゚∀゚)アハハ八八ノヽノヽノヽノ \ / \/
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: (◣_◢)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keroko View Post
And the train of hilarity continues to crash. Now EA apparently thinks it's okay to hold your other games hostage if you attempt to take legal action.

Remember all those old complaints the doomsayers used to preach about Steam? About how leaving your games in the hands of the companies could only go wrong?

EA's showing us just how wrong this can go.
So when comes the lawsuits? This is pretty funny ever since it got reported that you needed internet to play I was like. Well. Good job EA. GOOD FUCKING JOB. YOU JUST KILLED THE TENTH MILLION GAME.

If a old ass spider game that came from a Kellogg cereal box can get a lawsuit. I'm pretty sure this will get a lawsuit. A pretty huge one I might add.
__________________
Drkz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-03-11, 07:25   Link #184
Kyero Fox
Tastes Cloudy
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Snake Way
Age: 25
Send a message via AIM to Kyero Fox
PRICELESS

__________________
Kyero Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-03-11, 09:01   Link #185
Kyuu
=^^=
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 42 10' N (Latitude) 87 33' W (Longitude)
Age: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyero Fox View Post
PRICELESS

Ahahahahahah

OMFG.

I'm in mad tears!
Kyuu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-03-11, 09:05   Link #186
Ak3mi
Tumble Rumble
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Imagination Land
Age: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyero Fox View Post
PRICELESS

Hahah perfect

The voice actors are so good, doesn't sound like they are straining there voices or anything.
__________________
Ak3mi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-03-12, 02:56   Link #187
Archon_Wing
Hater
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lion's Arch
Age: 30
Send a message via MSN to Archon_Wing
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keroko View Post
How do you guys keep a stable WLAN connection? Mine just keeps slowing down if not outright dropping all the time.
I game fairly regularly on a wireless connection. Just make sure you don't share channels with nearby networks, though in crowded areas this is not possible.
__________________
What appears to be a moment for the helper feels like an eternity to the helpee.
Avatar and Sig courtesy of TheEroKing
Guild Wars 2 SN: ArchonWing.9480 (Stormbluff Isle)
MyAnimeList || Reviews
Archon_Wing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-03-12, 07:20   Link #188
Kyero Fox
Tastes Cloudy
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Snake Way
Age: 25
Send a message via AIM to Kyero Fox
I'd forgive EA if SimCity5 had a zombie outbreak disaster.
__________________
Kyero Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-03-12, 10:26   Link #189
Ak3mi
Tumble Rumble
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Imagination Land
Age: 29
Zombies make everything better, incoming apocalypse dlc just for you Kyero :P They'll charge you extra because you want it EA.
__________________
Ak3mi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-03-12, 19:59   Link #190
erneiz_hyde
Indifferent
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: InterWebs
Sorry if this was posted before, but why am I not surprised?
__________________
erneiz_hyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-03-12, 22:13   Link #191
Duo Maxwell
A Proud Lolicon
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In front of my computer
Age: 27
Send a message via Skype™ to Duo Maxwell
http://www.reddit.com/r/SimCity/comm...ing_regarding/

http://answers.ea.com/t5/Miscellaneo...ken/m-p/737060

These are funny, too. Guess the game system isn't fine either.
__________________
Duo Maxwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-03-13, 02:05   Link #192
Drkz
( ゚∀゚)アハハ八八ノヽノヽノヽノ \ / \/
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: (◣_◢)
Quote:
Originally Posted by erneiz_hyde View Post
Sorry if this was posted before, but why am I not surprised?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duo Maxwell View Post
Its EA. They'll be charging you a dlc to fix these errors.

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/...city-of-your-d

Wtf lmao. Seriously?!
__________________
Drkz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-03-13, 15:08   Link #193
Ak3mi
Tumble Rumble
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Imagination Land
Age: 29
Quote:
Maxis Insider Tells RPS: SimCity Servers Not Necessary
Sorry I don't really understand, does that mean they could of made the game offline?
__________________
Ak3mi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-03-13, 16:55   Link #194
Kyuu
=^^=
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 42 10' N (Latitude) 87 33' W (Longitude)
Age: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ak3mi View Post
Sorry I don't really understand, does that mean they could of made the game offline?
Um... yea? It was a complete and total design decision.

Consider two games that I do play. Starcraft 2 and Civilization V. Both require online connectivity for multiplayer and achievements. On top of that, authentication. As for running the game itself, that is worked off of my own computer.

In the event of the servers going down - no problem. Players can still play the game, during maintenance. That happened this morning with Starcraft.

For this SimCity to take DRM a step further by having complete control of the game in their own servers... without offline mode... EA was asking for trouble. SimCity servers could have done the job of account management and city-to-city interconnectivity, while leaving the simulation itself processing on player's computers. Overall, the calculations of the game are distributed amongst our own computers, while the game servers handle various data transactions.

But no... EA decided to be Draconian.
Kyuu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-03-13, 17:18   Link #195
Ak3mi
Tumble Rumble
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Imagination Land
Age: 29
Ohhh my god, thanks for explaining

EA in a nutshell I guess, I thought they would be brought back down to level when they got the award for worse company in America, but I guess not.
__________________
Ak3mi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-03-14, 03:18   Link #196
Drkz
( ゚∀゚)アハハ八八ノヽノヽノヽノ \ / \/
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: (◣_◢)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyuu View Post
Um... yea? It was a complete and total design decision.

Consider two games that I do play. Starcraft 2 and Civilization V. Both require online connectivity for multiplayer and achievements. On top of that, authentication. As for running the game itself, that is worked off of my own computer.

In the event of the servers going down - no problem. Players can still play the game, during maintenance. That happened this morning with Starcraft.

For this SimCity to take DRM a step further by having complete control of the game in their own servers... without offline mode... EA was asking for trouble. SimCity servers could have done the job of account management and city-to-city interconnectivity, while leaving the simulation itself processing on player's computers. Overall, the calculations of the game are distributed amongst our own computers, while the game servers handle various data transactions.

But no... EA decided to be Draconian.
Apparently even the calculations weren't even done properly... good thing I didn't buy this. I was ecstatic for it in the beginning. EA. RUINER OF ALL THINGS FRANCHISE.
__________________
Drkz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-03-14, 04:30   Link #197
Vallen Chaos Valiant
Logician and Romantic
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Within my mind
Age: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drkz View Post
Apparently even the calculations weren't even done properly... good thing I didn't buy this. I was ecstatic for it in the beginning. EA. RUINER OF ALL THINGS FRANCHISE.
As I said earlier in this thread, EA has successfully combated piracy... by releasing a game that isn't worth stealing.

The word on the street is that an offline crack for Simcity 2013 is available, but the game is such a buggy mess that people would rather steal Simcity 4.

At this point, even if Origin offers the game for free, I would have better things to do with my bandwidth. I have plenty of crappy games that I haven't played for ages, I don't need another crappy game on my hard drive.

And yes, I already bought Simcity 4 ages ago.
__________________
Vallen Chaos Valiant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-03-14, 05:08   Link #198
Kyuu
=^^=
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 42 10' N (Latitude) 87 33' W (Longitude)
Age: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drkz View Post
Apparently even the calculations weren't even done properly... good thing I didn't buy this. I was ecstatic for it in the beginning. EA. RUINER OF ALL THINGS FRANCHISE.
Wait. What calculations?
Kyuu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-03-14, 05:14   Link #199
Vallen Chaos Valiant
Logician and Romantic
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Within my mind
Age: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyuu View Post
Wait. What calculations?
A large chunk of the game's simulations don't actually EXIST. This means if you tried to build a city based on common sense, you will fail.

This is highlighted by the following; a "thriving city" that had nothing but parks and houses. No industry, and no stores. Only possible because most of the city don't actually made sense.

__________________
Vallen Chaos Valiant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-03-14, 05:22   Link #200
erneiz_hyde
Indifferent
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: InterWebs
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vallen Chaos Valiant View Post
A large chunk of the game's simulations don't actually EXIST. This means if you tried to build a city based on common sense, you will fail.

This is highlighted by the following; a "thriving city" that had nothing but parks and houses. No industry, and no stores. Only possible because most of the city don't actually made sense.
I think he knew and was being sarcastic there
__________________
erneiz_hyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.