AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > AnimeSuki & Technology > Tech Support

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2013-02-03, 21:52   Link #1
Sister Princess
Easy Operation
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 30
Monitor didn't display anything

(I thought this was a problem from Samsung S24A650S LED monitor, it went fine when I put it on the 1 year old PC)

I just bought a new desktop and the monitor didn't display anything. Fan and Video card show green light. Mouse and Keyboard had their lights on.

Is this a issue from the RAM or not plug in correctly?

Quote:
Intel I5-3570 processor
ASUS P8Z77-VLK Motherboard
Nvidia GeForce GTX660
Cooler Master 335U GLite PSU 500W Regular
__________________
PSO2: SisterPrincess (Ship 7)
Sister Princess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-02-04, 01:39   Link #2
Hiroi Sekai
Minna no ojou-sama~♥
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kelowna, British Columbia
Age: 23
Send a message via Skype™ to Hiroi Sekai
Does the monitor show standby lights (usually yellow or orange-like) with something like "No Input" on the screen, or is the monitor just staying powerless?

If it's the former, it's probably just a bad lead or connection to the computer itself. Have a tech-savvy friend look at it or ask around in an electronics store with a computer department (as I see it, this isn't something to really pay a tech to look at) about it to validate.

If it's the latter, your monitor is not receiving power at all, and that could be a multitude of reasons. Fried hardware, broken lights, etc., and that's when you do need someone with certification to look at it. If they confirm it's dead, then it'll have to be replaced. Sometimes it's an easy fix too.
__________________
Hiroi Sekai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-02-04, 01:44   Link #3
sa547
Senior Member
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Philippines
Age: 37
I'm also guessing that the monitor (out of range?) and the video card settings need to be reset to their defaults. LED/LCD monitors are usually limited to 60hz.
__________________
sa547 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-02-04, 08:33   Link #4
demonix
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hayes, Middx UK
Age: 35
Send a message via Yahoo to demonix Send a message via Skype™ to demonix
Is there any sounds of activity from the hard drive (that is if you don't have a SSD) when the computer is turned on (I'd have to guess that you get nothing straight from when it is turned on).

If there is no activity from the hard drive, then it is likely that the GPU is goosed and needs replacing.
demonix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-02-04, 09:25   Link #5
Sister Princess
Easy Operation
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 30
Never mind guys, I just solved it by put DVA cable into video card. Is this normal?
__________________
PSO2: SisterPrincess (Ship 7)
Sister Princess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-02-04, 13:26   Link #6
synaesthetic
blinded by blood
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Oakland, CA
Age: 30
Send a message via AIM to synaesthetic Send a message via Skype™ to synaesthetic
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sister Princess View Post
Never mind guys, I just solved it by put DVA cable into video card. Is this normal?
Well, yes. If you have a discrete GPU installed in your PC and you plug the monitor into the integrated graphics on the motherboard, it won't work. The presence of a standalone graphics card automatically disables the integrated GPU.
__________________
synaesthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.