AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > General > Tech Support

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2013-08-01, 06:40   Link #1
Miko Miko
Imouto-Chan♥
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: England
Age: 20
Photoshop CS3 Issue.

Okay so Photoshop is deciding to die on me
The issue is I click File>New , the little pop-up appears, then I click okay and nothing happens.
I tried File>Open, and tried opening various file types. None of which work.

I've restarted my computer but that didn't help.

Any ideas how to fix it?
__________________


Last edited by Miko Miko; 2013-09-15 at 07:38.
Miko Miko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-08-02, 04:00   Link #2
NorthernFallout
Return
*Author
 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Frosty Scandinavia
Age: 25
I think I had this problem once before and the problem is related to an installed printer (as weird as it sounds.) Check through what printer you have as default and either put another printer (virtual or not) as your default, or remove it from the list (temporarily) to find out if that causes it.

Even if you don't have a printer, the virtual ones might be causing the same problems.
__________________

NorthernFallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-08-05, 13:28   Link #3
Miko Miko
Imouto-Chan♥
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: England
Age: 20
^ Could you tell me how to check that?
__________________

Miko Miko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-08-05, 15:19   Link #4
NorthernFallout
Return
*Author
 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Frosty Scandinavia
Age: 25
Control Panel -> View Devices and Printers -> Right-Click some other printer and set that as default. Alternatively, remove your current default printer.

Assuming you're using W7.
__________________

NorthernFallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-08-08, 11:17   Link #5
Miko Miko
Imouto-Chan♥
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: England
Age: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthernFallout View Post
Control Panel -> View Devices and Printers -> Right-Click some other printer and set that as default. Alternatively, remove your current default printer.

Assuming you're using W7.
I'm using Vista.
__________________

Miko Miko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-08-08, 14:45   Link #6
NorthernFallout
Return
*Author
 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Frosty Scandinavia
Age: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miko Miko View Post
I'm using Vista.
"Start, click Control Panel, click Hardware and Sound, click Printers." Basically the same route, so it should work the same.
__________________

NorthernFallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-09-15, 07:36   Link #7
Miko Miko
Imouto-Chan♥
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: England
Age: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthernFallout View Post
"Start, click Control Panel, click Hardware and Sound, click Printers." Basically the same route, so it should work the same.
I tried that, but it didn't work. :/
__________________

Miko Miko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-09-15, 12:16   Link #8
-KarumA-
(。☉౪ ⊙。)
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: In Maya world, where all is 3D and everything crashes
Age: 27
Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling photoshop?
-KarumA- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-09-15, 14:00   Link #9
Hiroi Sekai
Minna no ojou-sama~♥
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kelowna, British Columbia
Age: 23
Send a message via Skype™ to Hiroi Sekai
I don't remember is CS3 had this option, but try holding the three modifier keys (CTRL+ALT+SHIFT) when booting up Photoshop. It might bring up the factory reset that could clear up whatever issue is causing the bug.
__________________
Hiroi Sekai is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-09-15, 18:36   Link #10
NightWish
…Nothing More
*Administrator
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Age: 35
If papermario's suggestion doesn't work can you post a screen shot of the problem pop-up (dialogue box?) so we (I) can better understand what you are seeing.
__________________
🐾
…to be bold, to be brave; it is the thinking that the heart can still be saved.
And the darkness can come quick. The danger's in the anger and the hanging on to it.
NightWish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-09-15, 20:36   Link #11
sa547
Senior Member
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Philippines
Age: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miko Miko View Post
Okay so Photoshop is deciding to die on me
The issue is I click File>New , the little pop-up appears, then I click okay and nothing happens.
I tried File>Open, and tried opening various file types. None of which work.

I've restarted my computer but that didn't help.

Any ideas how to fix it?
If the problem persists, I remember that Adobe offers older versions (higher than CS3) that are free to download, and then there's Paint.net.
__________________
sa547 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-09-17, 08:49   Link #12
Miko Miko
Imouto-Chan♥
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: England
Age: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightWish View Post
If papermario's suggestion doesn't work can you post a screen shot of the problem pop-up (dialogue box?) so we (I) can better understand what you are seeing.
There is no problem pop-up, I click file>open and then the dialogue box in which you set the dimensions of the canvas etc, then upon clicking 'okay' or whatever it says, it does nothing.

The dialogue box disappears as if it's opening but nothing appears after that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sa547 View Post
If the problem persists, I remember that Adobe offers older versions (higher than CS3) that are free to download, and then there's Paint.net.
Thanks.
__________________

Miko Miko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-09-25, 05:44   Link #13
Miko Miko
Imouto-Chan♥
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: England
Age: 20
Downloaded CS5 trial ver, my computer won't run any higher versions of PS.
Damn old piece of....!!!!

Needless to say that wouldn't open anything either. Probably just my piece of crap PC.
__________________

Miko Miko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-09-25, 07:22   Link #14
NightWish
…Nothing More
*Administrator
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Age: 35
Reinstalling or installing later versions may import settings, if you have not tried resetting the preferences, you should. Press and hold CTRL, ALT, and SHIFT (at the same time) while starting PhotoShop. It should ask if you want to reset preferences. Say yes.

Edit: There is a post about common approaches to fixing weird behaviour, on the adobe forum.
__________________
🐾
…to be bold, to be brave; it is the thinking that the heart can still be saved.
And the darkness can come quick. The danger's in the anger and the hanging on to it.

Last edited by NightWish; 2013-09-25 at 07:25. Reason: Found a link to the adobe forum
NightWish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-10-06, 10:40   Link #15
Mouretsu
Behemoth Tactical Soldier
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: MilkyWay
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miko Miko View Post
Okay so Photoshop is deciding to die on me
The issue is I click File>New , the little pop-up appears, then I click okay and nothing happens.
I tried File>Open, and tried opening various file types. None of which work.

I've restarted my computer but that didn't help.

Any ideas how to fix it?
Why don't you move on to CS6 or CC? They're better in all categories, including performance.
Mouretsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2013-10-07, 01:29   Link #16
Miko Miko
Imouto-Chan♥
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: England
Age: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mouretsu View Post
Why don't you move on to CS6 or CC? They're better in all categories, including performance.
I was intending to DL CS6 so I checked out the trial version, but my computer won't run it. It's not up to date enough apparently.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NightWish View Post
Reinstalling or installing later versions may import settings, if you have not tried resetting the preferences, you should. Press and hold CTRL, ALT, and SHIFT (at the same time) while starting PhotoShop. It should ask if you want to reset preferences. Say yes.

Edit: There is a post about common approaches to fixing weird behaviour, on the adobe forum.
Thank you ~
__________________

Miko Miko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.