AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > Anime Related Topics > Games

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 2004-11-23, 16:59   Link #1
Shift_

First impressions of the Nintendo DS

Inital impressions were basically: "WTF am I gonna do with a touchscreen, this is so stupid"

*goes out to buy one*
*one hour later*
"HOLY SHIT, THE TOUCH SCREEN IS AWSOME"

Acctually the only reason you are reading this review right now, is because it's recharging.

So lets get to the good stuff.

Is it worth $200 CND? Not really...seeing as you can buy 2 game cubes for that price and 1.5 PS2s for that price. But it's only like a week's worth of work anyways (I'm a student and I live at home, working a crappy part time job) anyways.

It's alot smaller than I thought it would be.
Battery life, so far I would say around 12 hours this is playing Mario 64 DS and the metriod prime demo, with some pictochat thrown in using wireless. (have yet to try metroid prime multiplayer)

Graphics are nice, sharp, SCREENS are awsome, using the thumb band/wrist thing for the touch screen is AWSOME for analouge control and aiming.

Sound is amazing, everything is crisp, and the overall system kicks ALOT of ass.

GBA games look ALOT better on the DS than they do on the GBA SP, no joke, the screen is more vibrant, and more colorful.

This is a awsome system, if you can't afford the $200 CND wait for the price drop.

The only cons I have with it so far is, it doesn't support GBA link connections (ie to other GBA systems nor to the game cube) and it's a little bulky (although I expect a hardware revision in say 2 years to shrink it down)

The only thing that MIGHT of made this system better is, more games at launch. IT doesn't NEED an analouge stick, the touch pad is sooooooooo much better.

Overall, I also can't wait for the PSP
Old 2004-11-23, 21:43   Link #2
hamiko_san
September Jellyfish