AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > Anime Related Topics > Fan Creations

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2007-04-04, 23:04   Link #341
Daniel E.
AniMexican!
*Moderator
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Monterrey N.L. Mexico
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crystal_Method View Post
This is like my first animated gif, so I'm pretty nooby at it. All I need to know is how to make my already optimized gif even smaller in size without using any more of the lossy (I went up to like 97 on lossy to get bellow 50 bytes and it looked like crap). It's currently at 100.3k...

29 frames is a little to much IMHO. If you want to make your gifs 'animesuki safe' and still keep a decent quality, I suggest cutting the number to 8 or 12 frames tops.

Reducing the number of colors also helps, but I much rather prefer to pick my frames carefully instead of making sacrifices on the quality.
__________________
Daniel E. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-04-05, 12:45   Link #342
felix
sleepyhead
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: event horizon
@ bigdave
> Heyas guys can someone show me how to do this
Spoiler:
> I mean how to make it so that half the pic is inside the behind layer and the other half is coming out of it. Thx for the help in advance!
It's not as sophisticated as you think..
She's not in it, your're brain thinks that way.. She's just on another layer with the bottom part of the image masked or just deleted.
__________________

Last edited by felix; 2007-04-05 at 13:04.
felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-04-05, 20:06   Link #343
Wusoldier
Junior Member
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
oops wrong thread

Last edited by Wusoldier; 2007-04-05 at 20:08. Reason: wrong thread
Wusoldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-04-05, 21:39   Link #344
bigdave
Falling for Ginsama ^3^
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Airantou
Send a message via AIM to bigdave
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cats View Post
@ bigdave
> Heyas guys can someone show me how to do this
Spoiler:
> I mean how to make it so that half the pic is inside the behind layer and the other half is coming out of it. Thx for the help in advance!
It's not as sophisticated as you think..
She's not in it, your're brain thinks that way.. She's just on another layer with the bottom part of the image masked or just deleted.
ic ic ^___^;;;
Yea good point! XD
thx!
__________________
If you want to see more of my sigs go to~ bigdave's sig gallery ~

bigdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-04-07, 01:31   Link #345
Jinto
Asuki-tan Kairin ↓
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fürth (GER)
Age: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crystal_Method View Post
This is like my first animated gif, so I'm pretty nooby at it. All I need to know is how to make my already optimized gif even smaller in size without using any more of the lossy (I went up to like 97 on lossy to get bellow 50 bytes and it looked like crap). It's currently at 100.3k...

Reducing size of such images is based on 3 basic techniques:

1) reduce colors (the less colors there are, the smaller the average indexing bit size of a pixel)

2) motion reduction (less motion means less redraw, means more things keep the same, means less new pixel information, means less new bit information). Often color reduction will also aid in motion reduction (eliminating noise). Except dithering or something alike was used.

3) use large areas of the same color (similar to Huffman compression), when there is a large area of the same color, (and it is dominating the picture), then this color will be assigned with the smallest sized index. To achieve this, the animation tool can try to figure out, which parts of two frames are actually different. Only these parts need to be redrawn, everything else can be opaque (opaque is basically a color too). If the opaque area is large (means the difference between two frames is not high), this opaque color gets the smallest index per pixel, and thus has the lowest avarage size per pixel/area, which in turn reduces the average size of the frame.

One can conlcude the following optimization rules:

a) reducing the number of frames, will increase the difference between 2 frames, thus the overall optimized image size won't reduce linear to the number of dropped frames.

b) reducing colors will both reduce motion noise as well as pixel index sizes. And it will combine subsets of colors to supersets which cover larger areas, thereby reducing the amount of areas. So color reduction will reduce imagesize non-linear, means fewer colors = much smaller size.
One important thing about indexing in gifs. The size will decrease rather linear until a certain border is reached. At such a border it will make a very non-linear step regarding size... in gifs these borders are the powers of 2 (256 colors -> 128 colors -> 64 colors -> 32 colors -> 16 colors -> 8 colors -> 4 colors -> 2 colors -> 1 color)

c) having a global palette (a global index), allows the tool to ignore local palettes for each frame. So if the animation does not have severe color/theme changes, it is advisable to use one global color palette (this will reduce the size of the animation approx. (numberOfFrames -1)*sizeof(palette)).

Looking at your image, there is only one way to reduce the size, by reducing colors or image-dimensions. Now this surely makes the thing ugly... so lets just say, this won't work Animesuki safe.
Jinto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-04-07, 04:08   Link #346
KiNA
Kira_Naruto, the ecchi
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: http://www.exciting-tits.com/
I almost post "English translation plz" until the last paragraph ... ... understood.

While there's aren't any specific rule stating anywhere in the thread for advanced explanation.. it would be best if we dont make these guys go at explanation .. Its kinda scary
__________________
“This be the realest shit I ever wrote.” ~Tupac
So very dead right now.. but still breathing thank you.
Top 4 Manga Waifu
>> Tsukiumi
>> Saeko Busujima
>> Himuka
>> Yui Kotegawa


KiNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-04-07, 13:00   Link #347
felix
sleepyhead
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: event horizon
@ Jinto Lin
He wasn't exactly asking a technical question..
He was just asking how to do it.. Personally I would just make it round, cut 2 or 3 frames out of it and add 2-3 pixel border combo..and it would be decent size.. Altho' I think it's just a matter of the actual animation, and doesn't need any special treatment.

Can someone tell me where it's from..
I'd open that gif in Image Ready, but besides the buggy nature of opening optimized content attemting to optimize it would also imply a 10-20k handicap.
__________________
felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-04-07, 14:08   Link #348
felix
sleepyhead
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: event horizon
Quick Question for Crystal Method..
Q. How deep into the Check List in Section B. did you get?.
---------------------------------------------
I'm guessing you've got 4/11 in there.
__________________
felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-04-07, 17:59   Link #349
Jinto
Asuki-tan Kairin ↓
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fürth (GER)
Age: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kira_Naruto View Post
I almost post "English translation plz" until the last paragraph ... ... understood.

While there's aren't any specific rule stating anywhere in the thread for advanced explanation.. it would be best if we dont make these guys go at explanation .. Its kinda scary
I don't want to scare people... (surely this was a little bit too technical). I said this, because dropping frames would not reduce the size enough in this case... because the motion difference between two frames is higher then, and so the optimizations do not work quite well. The worst thing here is the cliff side of the scene, this flyby shot off the cliff area makes propably half of the animation size (if not more).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cats View Post
@ Jinto Lin
He wasn't exactly asking a technical question..
He was just asking how to do it.. Personally I would just make it round, cut 2 or 3 frames out of it and add 2-3 pixel border combo..and it would be decent size.. Altho' I think it's just a matter of the actual animation, and doesn't need any special treatment.

Can someone tell me where it's from..
I'd open that gif in Image Ready, but besides the buggy nature of opening optimized content attemting to optimize it would also imply a 10-20k handicap.
I assume it optimizes it in a way, that local palettes are used after optimization. I know that source gif here has a global palette. But if you want to know exactly, you need to provide your gif version. I can tell you with a raw data comparison then, why the sizes differ.

Last edited by Jinto; 2007-04-07 at 18:21.
Jinto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-04-09, 09:38   Link #350
felix
sleepyhead
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: event horizon
@ Jinto Lin
I assume it optimizes it in a way, that local palettes are used after optimization. I know that source gif here has a global palette. But if you want to know exactly, you need to provide your gif version. I can tell you with a raw data comparison then, why the sizes differ.
Understood everything exept the 'raw comparison' part..
..no idea what you're tring to say with that choise of words.
__________________
felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-04-12, 16:52   Link #351
Shana
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Send a message via MSN to Shana
I have a problem:

When I see the original 'project', looks normal. But, when i see the Optimice version, it see... blurry?

an example:

Spoiler for Examples:


Shana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-04-12, 17:44   Link #352
Senovit
Murk Loar
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Age: 25
i'd say its probably your colors. Click the "optimizar" button in the upper right (next to info) and increase the number of colors. alternatively, you can click the "4 copias" to see imageready's automated optimizing options, which are usually 256 or 128 colors.
__________________
Senovit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-04-12, 18:00   Link #353
Cyz
"Show it to me"
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: In solitude, where we are least alone
Question!!!

-> Whenever I opened the VirtualDub.exe and the video file I always get this message:

Quote:
AVI: Variable bitrate (VBR) audio detected. VBR audio in AVI is non-standard and you may encounter sync errors up to 26mm when attempting to extract WAV files or processing the audio in Direct Stream Copy mode. Full processing mode is recommended to decompress or recompress the audio.
-> Any suggestion? Or does it always appear everytime you open a video file in VirtualDub?
__________________
~~ Project Cyz ~~
"There is no spoon"
~~~~~
Currently Watching:
-- too lazy to put it together --
~~~~~
Current sig:
Takanashi Rikka from
Chuunibyou Demo Koi ga Shitai!
~~~~
Big thanx to Patchy for the sig
Cyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-04-12, 18:19   Link #354
KNETTER2000
Rei! What have you done!
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 37
I have that a lot with RAWS.

If you're opening the file for getting screenshots or making avatars or gifs, just ignore it and click OK, cause you're not going to do anything with the sound. It's another deal when you want to cut a clip out of it , you may encounter problems with the sound not being in sync with the picture when using direct stream( fastest way of getting them clips out without the need for re-encoding) otherwise you will need to reencode the audio I believe.

I'm no encoding expert mind you..
but for gif or other graphic use, you can ignore the error
__________________
I believe in god as much as I believe in a world without porn...
Spoiler:
KNETTER2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-04-12, 19:15   Link #355
Shana
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Send a message via MSN to Shana
Quote:
Originally Posted by Senovit View Post
i'd say its probably your colors. Click the "optimizar" button in the upper right (next to info) and increase the number of colors. alternatively, you can click the "4 copias" to see imageready's automated optimizing options, which are usually 256 or 128 colors.
Thanks, and sorry for make u to translate well, thanks
Shana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-04-14, 06:42   Link #356
Crystal_Method
I want dreads...
*Artist
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: a cardboard box
Age: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cats View Post
Can someone tell me where it's from..
I'd open that gif in Image Ready, but besides the buggy nature of opening optimized content attemting to optimize it would also imply a 10-20k handicap.
It's from Gin-iro no kami no Agito.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cats View Post
Quick Question for Crystal Method..
Q. How deep into the Check List in Section B. did you get?.
---------------------------------------------
I'm guessing you've got 4/11 in there.
Yeah basically 11 is how far I got on the checklist, and sorry for the late response...
__________________

Last edited by Crystal_Method; 2007-04-14 at 07:11.
Crystal_Method is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-04-15, 14:37   Link #357
KaWaitress
Waitress Fetish ♥
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cosplay Cafe
Send a message via AIM to KaWaitress
Hey guys, i was having some problems recently while trying out a new type of sig.

spoiler for size:
Spoiler:


As you can see, everything looks fine before i flatten the image, but after i flatten it, the space that supposed to be empty gets filled with white, like this:

Spoiler:


I only want Habanero's figure to stick out past the square, but the empty space keeps getting filled with white. So, what i want to do is get rid of all the white taking up space there. Anyone know how to do this?

Thx a bunch in advance.
__________________
KaWaitress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-04-15, 15:09   Link #358
Daniel E.
AniMexican!
*Moderator
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Monterrey N.L. Mexico
Quote:
Originally Posted by KaWaitress View Post

I only want Habanero's figure to stick out past the square, but the empty space keeps getting filled with white. So, what i want to do is get rid of all the white taking up space there. Anyone know how to do this?

Thx a bunch in advance.
Select:

Layer --> Merge visible

And then save image as a PNG or GIF file.
__________________
Daniel E. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-04-15, 15:21   Link #359
KaWaitress
Waitress Fetish ♥
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cosplay Cafe
Send a message via AIM to KaWaitress
Gaaaaaaaaaah xD

I must have clicked everything except png in layer choices xD
*smacks useless jpeg*

Thx a bunch Daniel *huggles*
__________________
KaWaitress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-04-15, 19:06   Link #360
felix
sleepyhead
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: event horizon
Uhh.. Why do you need to flatan it in the first place.. it's not like it's anything big thats eating at your ram.
Ohh.. nevermind.
__________________
felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
avatar, graphic, photoshop, signature, tutorial

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.