AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > AnimeSuki & Technology > Download Help

Notices

Old 2003-12-14, 08:33   Link #1
Aerodynamic

Speed problem

Hi...I'm a newbie and I don't seem to understand why does my download speed be only 5-7,I mean it doesn't seem like I am behind a firewall,and I have downloaded the clients which u have asked to try...I'm having a pretty fast cable modem (1500kb)...Does it have anything to do with my connection?

I have also set the settings over there to dsl/cable fast,upload rate to 40,max uploads to 6....and my download rate is only 5-7kibs,my friends are using a 512 cable broadband and there are downloading shows at speeds of 50+kibs....pls help me....If u need to know more info pls state....Thanks.....
Aerodynamic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2003-12-14, 18:14   Link #2
NoSanninWa
Weapon of Mass Discussion
*Fansubber

Please read the BitTorrent Step-by-Step guide. Download Shadow's client (that's listed on the guide also) to make sure that your ports aren't blocked. First uninstall BitTorrent, then install shadow's client instead.

There's not that fine a line between willing suspension of disbelief and something just being stupid.
NoSanninWa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2003-12-15, 03:04   Link #3
Aerodynamic

I have already install Shadow's client.What should I do next?How am I suppose to check whether my ports are blocked?
Old 2003-12-15, 03:28   Link #4
NoSanninWa
Weapon of Mass Discussion
*Fansubber

Click on "Advanced" (it's at the top above the progress bar) and look at the second column. For each IP will be listed a 'R' (remote) or 'L' (local). If there are any 'R's listed, then your ports are open, but if you can only get local connections, then you are probably firewalled. Note that you have to give the torrent some time to see if you get remote connections.