AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > AnimeSuki & Technology > Tech Support

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2006-01-22, 23:12   Link #1
theanimedude
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: ca, or md, or va
Age: 28
Send a message via AIM to theanimedude Send a message via Yahoo to theanimedude
rmvb to avi or mpg or dvd

Anyone know of a prgrom to convert a .rmvb(realmedia file) to a avi or mpg or dvd??

freeware preferred =D

cuz i am a cheapo...
theanimedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-01-22, 23:18   Link #2
bayoab
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by theanimedude
Anyone know of a prgrom to convert a .rmvb(realmedia file) to a avi or mpg or dvd??

freeware preferred =D

cuz i am a cheapo...
TINRA, if it still works. Converting RM to anything used to be a bad idea because the RM file has special syncing things in the header which would not copy.
bayoab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-01-23, 07:45   Link #3
theanimedude
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: ca, or md, or va
Age: 28
Send a message via AIM to theanimedude Send a message via Yahoo to theanimedude
Quote:
Originally Posted by bayoab
TINRA, if it still works. Converting RM to anything used to be a bad idea because the RM file has special syncing things in the header which would not copy.

man that really sucks. i'm dling some chinese drama for my gf's mom and dad and they all use fricken rmvb, i cant find any .avi for it or any other format at all! why the h3ll do they use rmvb at all....anyway, thanks for your info!
theanimedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-01-23, 14:01   Link #4
Sides
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Edinburgh
Age: 32
The only software to convert rmvb to mpeg/avi i can recommend it eo-video.
I think it costs around $30.
There is a trial version, but i cannot remember if it has any restriction
except for 15/30 day usage.

However during the conversion process do not run any
high resource usage programs.

If you're cheap, make a clean re-installation ...

But be honest why not get a used (soft or chip-)modded xbox and put xbmc on it ?
Sides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-01-23, 14:09   Link #5
bayoab
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by theanimedude
why the h3ll do they use rmvb at all....anyway, thanks for your info!
because they get amazing compression rates with it and its not the tool of evil unlike to english speakers
bayoab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-01-23, 15:25   Link #6
theanimedude
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: ca, or md, or va
Age: 28
Send a message via AIM to theanimedude Send a message via Yahoo to theanimedude
i'm cheap tahts why i aint gonna buy an xbox, i dont even play ps2 or xbox at all. everything is on my computer.

i got a dual core 2.8 intel cpu. Will that be fine? u said not to use any high usage programs but i think the dual core will be alrite for it???

and yes i know that realplayer has an amazing compression rate but still, it's annoying to convert it and stuff. not alot of freedom...
theanimedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-01-24, 09:26   Link #7
theanimedude
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: ca, or md, or va
Age: 28
Send a message via AIM to theanimedude Send a message via Yahoo to theanimedude
I used the eo video converion and used teh xvid codec, the quality was sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo terrible! and it was 230 mbs too! and then i used media player 9's codec, and there was no video, just sound....
theanimedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-01-24, 10:27   Link #8
Sides
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Edinburgh
Age: 32
Well, try to convert directly to mpeg1 or mpeg2.

IMO converting rmvb to anything else is kind of useless,
so don't even try to convert it to an avi (xvid/divx).
If you want to make an avi file, use avisynth.
In this case get and install "real alternative" and write an avs script.
Load the rmvb file with directshowsource() and set the fps speed
at a constant ie. 23.976, 24, 30 or 25.
Now apply as many filter as you want, ie. sharpner might be usefull.
Sides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-01-24, 13:29   Link #9
anime_layer
Senior Member
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Send a message via ICQ to anime_layer
mplayer for windows can load the rm dlls and thus play rmvb. mencoder can use anything that mplayer opens so you can encode rmvb to pretty much anything (XviD, H.264, MPEG2, MJPEG, VIVO etc).

Quote:
Originally Posted by bayoab
TINRA, if it still works. Converting RM to anything used to be a bad idea because the RM file has special syncing things in the header which would not copy.
Huh? And how should that matter?
You won't be doing a transcode (i.e. using the existing compressed data) but a simple decode and encode. Even if the rm has special syncing things in its header, once it's played/decoded you've got a simple audio and video track. And those tracks are either in sync or are not - there's no special syncing things involved.
__________________
MPlayer OSX Extended (en) | nimmermehr (de) | sttz (de) | last.fm
Life is a game whose first rule is: This is not a game, this is dead serious.
anime_layer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-01-24, 15:40   Link #10
bayoab
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by anime_layer
Huh? And how should that matter?
You won't be doing a transcode (i.e. using the existing compressed data) but a simple decode and encode. Even if the rm has special syncing things in its header, once it's played/decoded you've got a simple audio and video track. And those tracks are either in sync or are not - there's no special syncing things involved.
The way TINRA works is it grabs the frames and overlays them into an AVI. This is years ago so I do not remember the specific reason it screws up but it is similar to how if you demux a mkv, the audio and video will not always play at the correct rates.
bayoab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-01-24, 16:24   Link #11
anime_layer
Senior Member
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Send a message via ICQ to anime_layer
Quote:
Originally Posted by bayoab
The way TINRA works is it grabs the frames and overlays them into an AVI. This is years ago so I do not remember the specific reason it screws up but it is similar to how if you demux a mkv, the audio and video will not always play at the correct rates.
Well, then it simply didn't decode RealVideo correctly. There's nothing special about that.
__________________
MPlayer OSX Extended (en) | nimmermehr (de) | sttz (de) | last.fm
Life is a game whose first rule is: This is not a game, this is dead serious.
anime_layer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.