AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > AnimeSuki & Technology > Download Help

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2006-03-31, 16:53   Link #1
SKGundam
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Azureus and Norton

Help everysince i downloaded the latest patch for Azureus norton have been asking me to premit the program constantly even though i keep click permit and ok. Can anyone tell me how to fix this?
SKGundam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-03-31, 16:59   Link #2
DWKnight
Torrent Goon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Send a message via ICQ to DWKnight Send a message via AIM to DWKnight Send a message via MSN to DWKnight Send a message via Yahoo to DWKnight
Remove the entry for Azureus in norton and re-create it.

Norton behaves stupidly when programs update.
__________________
DWKnight, Official AnvilNinja of MIRC-X (in its former glory)
#enlist-a-distro - irc.depthstrike.com
DWKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-03-31, 23:28   Link #3
SKGundam
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
I went to the official site forusm and ask this question but i got the answer here........*** bless animesuki people!!
SKGundam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-04-01, 01:50   Link #4
Kurz
Gao~ a sound for the ages
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: I live in a relm of swirling of thought and emotion, Ever lost in the relm of infinite possiblities.
Age: 27
There are some who say, "disable it completely."
Its up to you.
Kurz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-04-01, 03:21   Link #5
sophismata
いいえ
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Varies. Currently in Sydney, Australia.
In general, most consumer-grade antivirus/internet security products should be avoided. This includes Norton, McAffee, and, to a lesser degree, ZoneAlarm.

These things are marketed as "easy", "all-in-one" security solutions and have large problems with extensibility, upgradibility, flexibity and customisation.
sophismata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-04-01, 04:05   Link #6
npal
I desire Tomorrow!
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sixth Layer of Celestia
Age: 32
Well, I didn't have many problems with either Mcafee or ZoneAlarm. It's just that, if something went wrong with Windows, it will appear on security software. Just the other day, Zone messed up, I installed Mcafee again, it messed up to, so I got frustrated and dropped the whole thing .

You could also disable the "Worm Protection" or however it's called, it's pretty much useless.
npal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-04-01, 12:58   Link #7
tweaker
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
If you are running windows and need a fire wall, check out PF that comes with openBSD. You'll need to set-up a dedicated box with two NICs.

Your other option is tighten down your window's browser. You can try this:

http://www.securityfocus.com/infocus/1848

Those are your two best ways to defend your windows box. Of course, never run as an administrator. That will save you a lot of headaches.

tweak
tweaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.