AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > Anime Related Topics > Suggestions

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 2006-08-08, 19:46   Link #1
DifferentSamurai

Question Recommend me some good romance manga, comedy as well.

nothing that lasts longer than 12 vols please.
I am new to manga but am interested in trying it as a hobby.
any recommendations with a brief description on what it is about would be greatly appreciated.
it can also be chinese manga. I forgot the term color or black and white I don't mind.

again thanks to whoever replies or even reads this post for that matter.
Old 2006-08-08, 20:37   Link #2
Vexx
Obey the Darkly Cute ...
*Author

restricting it to less than 13 volumes really cuts down on the choices... most of them run 13-18 volumes (Love Hina, Ai Yori Aoshi, Chibi Vampire (Karin!), Tsukuyomi Moon Phase, Kare Kano, Nana, I"s Pure, etc). In fact, I can't think of any outside of maybe Chobits (a romance about a guy and a "persocom" (android) along with the philosophical issues of sentience) that are that short.

I can think of some short *anime* romances (REC, Lamune, etc) that run short....

Well... going to sort of ignore the 12 volume maximum:
Love Hina - classic rambling mess of a story with some great segments, main problem is the way too lame slapstick.
Ai Yori Aoshi - great first half but kind of fades a bit ... concerns two people betrothed at early age between two powerful families, but one exiles himself from his rather unpleasant clan. Problem is the other actually loves him.
Tsukuyomi Moon Phase - man trips across a young vampire teen, hilarity and tragedy follow (this one is very quirky and dark at times).
Kare Kano - straight romance between two people in school, ups and downs but it isn't the "pile of girls after one guy" harem story.