AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > Anime Related Topics > Fansub Groups

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2009-02-04, 15:24   Link #801
Jimmy C
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
So, no matter what, this is impossible without a reencode of all videos to be combined?
Jimmy C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-02-04, 17:48   Link #802
TheFluff
Excessively jovial fellow
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: ISDB-T
Age: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmy C View Post
So, no matter what, this is impossible without a reencode of all videos to be combined?
No, reread my previous post. If the two videos are encoded with different settings, you can either reencode both or you can find out (using one of several easily available analysis tools) what settings one of them was encoded with, and reencode the other to match the first one's settings.
__________________
| ffmpegsource
17:43:13 <~deculture> Also, TheFluff, you are so fucking slowpoke.jpg that people think we dropped the DVD's.
17:43:16 <~deculture> nice job, fag!

01:04:41 < Plorkyeran> it was annoying to typeset so it should be annoying to read
TheFluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-02-04, 21:55   Link #803
Jimmy C
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Could you name me one or two that would be most helpful in this case, please?
Jimmy C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-02-05, 04:36   Link #804
checkers
Part 8
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Western Australia
Age: 26
Send a message via MSN to checkers
open the video with a hex editor (one is built into virtualdub). Visible within the first 30s of scrolling or so will be a string starting with "x264" that lists the encoding options.
checkers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-02-05, 05:20   Link #805
Scab
Saizen
*Fansubber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Age: 29
Code:
find "x264" "c:\your.file"
Scab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-02-05, 09:14   Link #806
TheFluff
Excessively jovial fellow
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: ISDB-T
Age: 27
I've always used the hex editor version or strings(1), but IIRC avinaptic and maybe mediainfo can do it too in a more user-friendly way.
__________________
| ffmpegsource
17:43:13 <~deculture> Also, TheFluff, you are so fucking slowpoke.jpg that people think we dropped the DVD's.
17:43:16 <~deculture> nice job, fag!

01:04:41 < Plorkyeran> it was annoying to typeset so it should be annoying to read
TheFluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-02-05, 09:22   Link #807
Jimmy C
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by checkers View Post
open the video with a hex editor (one is built into virtualdub). Visible within the first 30s of scrolling or so will be a string starting with "x264" that lists the encoding options.
I got Hex Workshop to take a look at the mkv, this is from the mkv that I want to match my encodes to, is this what you want me to look at?

Spoiler for intended target:


This is from one of my own encodes
Spoiler for my encode:


By poking around the x264 configurator, I was able to change most of the settings that were different between the two. Except for these few:
Spoiler for differences:


But even after adjusting the settings, I still get the warning that the private data lengths is different at 37 and 170.
Am I even looking at the right place in the files for information? If not, how else can I find it?
Jimmy C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-02-05, 10:13   Link #808
TheFluff
Excessively jovial fellow
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: ISDB-T
Age: 27
Yes, those are the settings you're looking for. You're pretty much always going to get the warning though, the question is if it plays back correctly or not. You don't need to worry about the VBV settings, those are encoder-side only and do not affect decoding.

As for the other ones:
decimate=0 means --no-dct-decimate is enabled ("Disables coefficient thresholding on P-frames"). b_adapt is adaptive b-frames decision mode. You get "pre" after scenecut if you use more than one encoding thread, but it's an encoder-side only setting too so you don't need to worry about that either.
__________________
| ffmpegsource
17:43:13 <~deculture> Also, TheFluff, you are so fucking slowpoke.jpg that people think we dropped the DVD's.
17:43:16 <~deculture> nice job, fag!

01:04:41 < Plorkyeran> it was annoying to typeset so it should be annoying to read
TheFluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-02-05, 12:12   Link #809
Jimmy C
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Sadly 37 and 170 are too far apart to be viewable. Despite adjusting the settings, there was no change in the length of my encode.
What can you tell me about the settings I couldn't find? The ones in differences.
Jimmy C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-02-05, 17:31   Link #810
TheFluff
Excessively jovial fellow
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: ISDB-T
Age: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmy C View Post
Sadly 37 and 170 are too far apart to be viewable. Despite adjusting the settings, there was no change in the length of my encode.
What can you tell me about the settings I couldn't find? The ones in differences.
Oh, I missed CQM. It was apparently encoded with a custom quantization matrix. Avinaptic can display what matrix was used; you need to use the same matrix with your encode.
__________________
| ffmpegsource
17:43:13 <~deculture> Also, TheFluff, you are so fucking slowpoke.jpg that people think we dropped the DVD's.
17:43:16 <~deculture> nice job, fag!

01:04:41 < Plorkyeran> it was annoying to typeset so it should be annoying to read
TheFluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-02-05, 21:45   Link #811
Dark Shikari
x264 Developer
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
If I recall correctly, the CQM is stored in the SPS, so if you just use --sps-id 1 in your encoding you should be fine for catting the two h264 streams together.
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-02-06, 05:51   Link #812
Jimmy C
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
I haven't gotten around to looking for the CQM with avinaptic yet. So, I just add "sps-id 1" to the custom command line?
Another thing, how do I input a custom quantization matrix into the x264 encoder? That option seems to be disabled there.
Jimmy C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-02-06, 08:09   Link #813
checkers
Part 8
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Western Australia
Age: 26
Send a message via MSN to checkers
--cqmfile "C:\path\to\cqm.extensiondoesntmatter"
checkers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-02-06, 23:32   Link #814
TGBatman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Unhappy x264 and tesa, and some other stuff

Hi guys. I've been lurking a lot over here, but today a question arised, so I decided to give it a try and register to ask it.

I've been wondering if tesa is really worth the lot of time it requires to encode. I haven't even tried exhaustive -me for like a year.

Also, I have some questions about megui and the min/max quantizers description. It says that these are disregarded when encoding in CRF or QP mode.

But it turns out that letting them at defaults (10/51) made x264 output a CRF 18 encode at 170 mbs, it looked really crappy. Then I've set max quantizer to 18, and now that made x264 output a 206 mbs file that looked much better.

Now, my question about it is: Is the description in MeGUI about these quantizers wrong, or I AM the one doing something really wrong?

My source is Shikabane Hime AKA DVD 01, my script (after IVTCing with AnimeIVTC) is:

Code:
Import("C:\yatta_6-129\PLUGINS\FastLineDarken.avs")

function Preset0(clip c) {
#Name: Filtering 1
c
dfttest(sigma=0.2).toon(0.2).addborders(2,2,2,2).awarpsharp(4,1,0.5,1).crop(2,2,-2,-2).gradfun2dbmod(thr=1.1,mode=2,chroma=false,str=0,temp=50,adapt=64,mask=true,radius=3,range=3,show=false)
crop(4,2,-4,-0).spline16resize(704,480)
return last
}

function Preset1(clip c) {
#Name: Filtering 2 (heavy grain parts)
c
toon(0.2).addborders(2,2,2,2).awarpsharp(4,1,0.5,1).crop(2,2,-2,-2)#.gradfun2dbmod(thr=1.1,mode=2,chroma=false,str=0,temp=50,adapt=64,mask=true,radius=3,range=3,show=false)
crop(4,2,-4,-0).spline16resize(704,480)
return last
}

DSS2("lossless.mp4")

PresetClip0=Preset0()
PresetClip1=Preset1()

PresetClip0.Trim(0,29338)+PresetClip1.Trim(29339,29369)+PresetClip0.Trim(29370,34065)

#Trim(2165,33691)
#trim(33692,34065)
I just copied Yatta layout to do the presets .

These are my x264 settings (copied from MeGUI's command window):
Code:
program --crf 18 --ref 16 --mixed-refs --no-fast-pskip --bframes 4 --b-adapt 2 --b-pyramid --deblock -1:-1 --subme 9 --trellis 2 --partitions all  --8x8dct --qpmax 18 --me umh --merange 32 --threads auto --thread-input --progress --no-dct-decimate --no-psnr --no-ssim --output "output" "input"
Would I be better using 3-pass VBV?

Help with improving settings to visibly improve output's image would be very appreciated

I don't know what else to tweak. Maybe adding more b-frames?

Bye

TGBatman
TGBatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-02-07, 04:02   Link #815
Dark Shikari
x264 Developer
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by TGBatman View Post
Hi guys. I've been lurking a lot over here, but today a question arised, so I decided to give it a try and register to ask it.

I've been wondering if tesa is really worth the lot of time it requires to encode. I haven't even tried exhaustive -me for like a year.
No, it really isn't. It's on the list of "options to use if you absolutely don't care about time" (along with trellis 2).
Quote:
Originally Posted by TGBatman View Post
Also, I have some questions about megui and the min/max quantizers description. It says that these are disregarded when encoding in CRF or QP mode.

But it turns out that letting them at defaults (10/51) made x264 output a CRF 18 encode at 170 mbs, it looked really crappy. Then I've set max quantizer to 18, and now that made x264 output a 206 mbs file that looked much better.
You can't compare quality among files of different bitrates. Furthermore, you shouldn't mess with qpmin/qpmax. If you want to weaken AQ, do it by... directly weakening AQ, not arbitrarily crippling it with qpmax.

Quote:
program --crf 18 --ref 16 --mixed-refs --no-fast-pskip --bframes 4 --b-adapt 2 --b-pyramid --deblock -1:-1 --subme 9 --trellis 2 --partitions all --8x8dct --qpmax 18 --me umh --merange 32 --threads auto --thread-input --progress --no-dct-decimate --no-psnr --no-ssim --output "output" "input"
You should raise deblocking on anime, not lower it. No-dct-decimate is also really not recommended unless you really need to keep dither or something.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TGBatman View Post
Would I be better using 3-pass VBV?
Why would you need VBV? And 3-pass is totally pointless.
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-02-07, 04:40   Link #816
TGBatman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Thanks for the suggestions Dark Shikari . Would 1:1 be a good deblocking setting? Or more would be safe without killing detail? That's my fear when using deblocking, detail killing.

And yeah, I want to keep the dithering caused by gradfun2dbmod.

Bye

TGBatman
TGBatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-02-07, 09:03   Link #817
TheFluff
Excessively jovial fellow
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: ISDB-T
Age: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by TGBatman View Post
Would 1:1 be a good deblocking setting?
1:1 isn't extreme in any way, but as always, why don't you just try it for yourself
__________________
| ffmpegsource
17:43:13 <~deculture> Also, TheFluff, you are so fucking slowpoke.jpg that people think we dropped the DVD's.
17:43:16 <~deculture> nice job, fag!

01:04:41 < Plorkyeran> it was annoying to typeset so it should be annoying to read
TheFluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-02-07, 10:47   Link #818
TGBatman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Yeah, that's what I did, and this morning I woke up to see a 158 mb video that looked gorgeous, and that with crf 18.

Again, thanks for the answers guys .

Bye

TGBatman
TGBatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-02-08, 05:49   Link #819
guest0815
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
I got h264 raws where in a few scenes the pixel are going rampant in dark flat areas. I wonder what is normally used on that kind of noise.

Spoiler:

thanks
guest0815 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-02-08, 06:09   Link #820
checkers
Part 8
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Western Australia
Age: 26
Send a message via MSN to checkers
gradfun2db plus:
Code:
# Border processing fix for GrandFun by MugFunky and Alain2
# Edit by Soulhunter: Changed strength from int -> float 

Function GradFunkMirror( clip c, float "strength" )
{
	strength	=	default( strength, 1.2 )
	w			=	c.width()
	h			=	c.height()
	vflip		=	c.FlipVertical()
	hflip		=	c.FlipHorizontal()
	
	stackhorizontal( hflip.crop( w-16, 0, 16, h ).addborders( 0, 16, 0, 16 ),
	\	stackvertical( vflip.crop( 0, h-16, w, 16 ), c, vflip.crop( 0, 0, w, 16 ) ),
	\	hflip.crop( 0, 0, 16, h ).addborders( 0, 16, 0, 16 ) )
	gradfun2db( strength )
	crop( 16, 16, -16, -16 )

	Return last
}
checkers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.