AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > AnimeSuki & Technology > Download Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2006-11-13, 23:49   Link #1
Anshrew
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Can i change clients mid download?

i currently have the newest version of bittorrent

ver 5.0

i have 2 downloads currently going in it

im thinking of getting the azeures client or the utorrent client (whats the u for anyway?)

can i continue my downloads from the bittorrent 5.0 client to the new client?
Anshrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-11-14, 03:20   Link #2
hhaamu
Don't panic.
 
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
Age: 27
Yes.

They're spelt Azureus and µtorrent, respectively. Maybe now you can guess what the µ means.
__________________

(actually, any browser is fine to me as long as it doesn't use IE's rendering engine...)
Generating the #animesuki stats since 2003
hhaamu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-11-14, 03:55   Link #3
tritoch
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Chi-town
As long as the path directory is the same, you can resume it.
tritoch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-11-15, 13:10   Link #4
Vexx
Obey the Darkly Cute ...
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: On the whole, I'd rather be in Kyoto ...
Age: 56
I usually (just to be anal) Force a recheck of the partial file before continuing the download with a new client. The only other issue is making sure each client is looking for the torrent stubs and data files in the same places.
I've changed clients 3 or 4 times now (currently using utorrent) looking for "the One" and not had problems outside of clients not asking for file location preferences on installation.
__________________
Vexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-11-15, 20:27   Link #5
Anshrew
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
thanks for your help guys

but unfortunatly for me we had a wind storm today and i was at school power outage happened and my anti virus must have shut down for a few secs or somthing horrible went wrong and the files got corrupted so it automaticaly deleted them all

the downloads are running fine in azereus now since i had to start them over

Last edited by Anshrew; 2006-11-15 at 22:58.
Anshrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-11-29, 20:05   Link #6
Liddo
wheeeee!~
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: cali
Age: 33
Send a message via AIM to Liddo Send a message via MSN to Liddo Send a message via Yahoo to Liddo Send a message via Skype™ to Liddo
your best option is to not switch program in the middle of a download.. i've tried that with bitcomet and azureus and it didnt turn out so well... imean technically it shouldnt matter since they are all base on the same code but utorrent is based on an older bittornado core while azureus i think uses the orginal bittorrent code as its core. not sure.. but just stay away cause i messed up a 8 gb file last time i tried XD
__________________

kawaii~~~~~~
Liddo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-11-30, 02:00   Link #7
hhaamu
Don't panic.
 
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
Age: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liddo View Post
your best option is to not switch program in the middle of a download..
No, it works just fine if the torrent client doesn't do anything fudgy.

Quote:
i've tried that with bitcomet and azureus and it didnt turn out so well...
That's because BitComet does something fudgy like renames incomplete files.

Quote:
imean technically it shouldnt matter since they are all base on the same code
No, they're not. Some (not very well-known) clients are based on BitTornado which is based on BitTorrent-mxs which is based on BitTorrent 3.x. The only thing the others have in common is that they speak the BitTorrent protocol.

Quote:
but utorrent is based on an older bittornado core while azureus i think uses the orginal bittorrent code as its core.
Do you really believe a C++ or Java program can be based on a Python program?
__________________

(actually, any browser is fine to me as long as it doesn't use IE's rendering engine...)
Generating the #animesuki stats since 2003
hhaamu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2006-11-30, 11:11   Link #8
felix
sleepyhead
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: event horizon
As long as you load the same torrent and direct it to the same location as the first one there's no problem (use the Force ReCheck just to make sure)

I've done it with bitcomet, azureus, bittornado and utorrent and had no problems..

Just one thing sometimes the client has the habit of adding a little extra to the files it hasn't finished.. for example utorrent adds the .!ut extension (this is by default turned off).. anyway something you might want to look out for..
__________________
felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
We use Silk.