AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > General > Tech Support

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2008-12-27, 14:27   Link #1
Faeyice
it's animal, unbelievable
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: U.S.A
Audio Problems on my PC

I'm having some weird audio problems, in which audio will only play if my headphones are plugged in. Well, it still plays, you just can't hear it no matter how high the volume is.

Any ideas on what this is?
__________________
Faeyice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-12-27, 18:25   Link #2
0utf0xZer0
Pretentious moe scholar
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Age: 27
It would probably be a bit easier to troubleshoot if you gave us more details. Is this a laptop? Desktop? Are the headphones plugged directly into the computer, or via an external set of speakers?
0utf0xZer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-12-27, 18:32   Link #3
Faeyice
it's animal, unbelievable
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: U.S.A
It's a laptop, and my headphones are plugged directly into the computer.
__________________
Faeyice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-12-31, 01:53   Link #4
0utf0xZer0
Pretentious moe scholar
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Age: 27
Gah. Forgot about this thread...

Anyway, the fact the headphones are working means the audio chip and the software that runs it seem to be working, so I suspect the problem is with the laptop's speakers or the amp that drives them - which is a little beyond my ability to troubleshoot.
0utf0xZer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-12-31, 06:16   Link #5
-KarumA-
(。☉౪ ⊙。)
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: In Maya world, where all is 3D and everything crashes
Age: 27
first of check your windows audio settings, maybe only the headphone function is activated and perhaps the audio bar there is turned down
-KarumA- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-12-31, 14:48   Link #6
0utf0xZer0
Pretentious moe scholar
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Age: 27
Where is there a separate volume control for headphones in Windows?

I was under the impression that the speakers and headphones on a laptop would be drive off the same audio output, and plugging the headphones in acts as a "kill" switch for the speakers - you can see this behaviour on a lot of consumer electronics too. Hence why I thought the sound output from the computer is working, and the problem is with the speakers or amp.
0utf0xZer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-12-31, 14:58   Link #7
-KarumA-
(。☉౪ ⊙。)
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: In Maya world, where all is 3D and everything crashes
Age: 27
At school and on this PC there's a separate volume bar but there are also bars for other plugs, like the ones on the front and boxes within, it was included with the software I have

but I wonder if OP has tried to reinstall his soundcard yet, I used to have trouble with sounds that all of a sudden my sound started echoing for no particular reason, I would take these things into consideration first before going to a repairshop
-KarumA- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-12-31, 15:33   Link #8
Faeyice
it's animal, unbelievable
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: U.S.A
The audio bar is turned all the way up, and it still won't play. A few days ago after plugging my headphones in and out repeatedly, I got the audio to play for a while though.

Considering that I've only used the volume control to mess with audio before, and that I've played audio without my headphones before makes me doubt that I unchecked an option on something I've never messed with.


And as for the soundcard.... That would be something I'd have to let my dad deal with. It wouldn't be a good idea for me to since I know little about it and I might screw something else up in the process.
__________________
Faeyice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-12-31, 17:05   Link #9
-KarumA-
(。☉౪ ⊙。)
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: In Maya world, where all is 3D and everything crashes
Age: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Faeyice View Post
The audio bar is turned all the way up, and it still won't play. A few days ago after plugging my headphones in and out repeatedly, I got the audio to play for a while though.

Considering that I've only used the volume control to mess with audio before, and that I've played audio without my headphones before makes me doubt that I unchecked an option on something I've never messed with.


And as for the soundcard.... That would be something I'd have to let my dad deal with. It wouldn't be a good idea for me to since I know little about it and I might screw something else up in the process.
Let us know if it worked, reinstalling your soundcard can be easy but it depends of course
mine I just had to put the disc in from which the setup started and I could simply reinstall it
-KarumA- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-12-31, 18:04   Link #10
Claies
Good-Natured Asshole.
 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 25
The driver on my PC's sound card reacts when you plug in to various jacks (since it has enough for 5.1 surround sound), so I wouldn't be surprised if yours glitched into permanently thinking that the main speakers aren't in use.

Reinstalling the driver as suggested should do. When you said you got the audio to "play for a while", what caused it to stop working again? If it makes some weird dying sounds (erratic signal, weakening, static, etc.) then we can conclude it's a hardware problem.
Claies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.