AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > AnimeSuki & Technology > Tech Support

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2007-07-06, 17:25   Link #1
raideralan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Are these parts good?

I planning on building a new computer and have picked out some parts so far but is stuck on the motherboard. Which brand is good? These are the parts I picked so far:

Kingston Ram (two sticks)
240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM
Capacity 1GB
Speed DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
Cas Latency 5
Voltage 1.8V
Heat Spreader No


AMD
Series Athlon 64 X2
CPU Socket Type Socket AM2
Core Windsor
Dual-Core
Athlon 64 X2 5600+
Operating Frequency 2.8GHz
HT 2000MHz
L1 Cache 128KB+128KB
L2 Cache 2 x 1MB
Manufacturing Tech 90 nm
64 bit Support Yes
Hyper-Transport Support Yes
Virtualization Technology Support Yes
Multimedia Instruction MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, 3DNOW! Professional
Voltage 1.30 V/1.35 V

BIOSTAR
Model TForce TF7025-M2
CPU Socket Type Socket AM2
CPU Type Athlon 64 X2 / Athlon 64 FX / Athlon 64
FSB 1000MHz Hyper Transport (2000 MT/s)
Chipsets
North Bridge NVIDIA GeForce 7025
South Bridge NVIDIA nForce 630a
Memory
Number of Memory Slots 4240pin
Memory Standard DDR2 800
Maximum Memory Supported 8GB
Dual Channel Supported Yes
Expansion Slots
AGP Slots None
PCI Express x16 1
PCI Express x1 1
PCI Slots 2
Storage Devices
PATA 1 x ATA100 up to 2 Devices
SATA 3Gb/s 4
SATA RAID 0/1/0+1/5 Matrix RAID
Onboard Video
Onboard Video Chipset NVIDIA GeForce 7025
Onboard Audio
Audio Chipset Realtek ALC888
Audio Channels 8 Channels
Onboard LAN
LAN Chipset Realtek RTL8110SC
Max LAN Speed 10/100/1000Mbps
Rear Panel Ports
PS/2 2
Video Ports D-Sub + DVI
USB 4 x USB 2.0
Audio Ports 6 Ports
Onboard USB
Onboard USB 3 PIN for 6 USB 2.0
Physical Spec
Form Factor Micro ATX

All of this information is taken from newegg.com. Was wondering are these compatible and are they pretty good parts?
raideralan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-07-06, 17:33   Link #2
Ledgem
Love Yourself
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northeast USA
Age: 28
We can't tell you if the parts are good unless we know what you want to do with them. Are you a big-time gamer? Are you a 3D rendering artist? Do you want a system to use as a media center? You can have a one-size-fits-all machine, but it isn't easy to build. It's better to get a system that fits your more specific needs - it's better on your wallet, in particular.

So, what do you mostly use your system for?
__________________
Ledgem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-07-06, 17:53   Link #3
raideralan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
I use it mostly for anime and maybe an occasional gaming. Was hoping this build can let me watch the high quality mkv files with .h264 that my present computer won't let me watch. (Lags like hell on my present computer.)
raideralan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-07-06, 19:21   Link #4
Furuno
Fuwaaa~~~
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Indonesia
Age: 25
Send a message via Yahoo to Furuno
The proc and mb is good enough i think (5600+, much faster than my 4200+)... What left is you'll need some graphic card if you want to play game. On-board graphic card is not quite reliable for that kind of stuff...

Oh yeah, and how many bytes of RAM you'd like to put on that system?
__________________

Check my Blog / Thread / Twitter for some random stuffs...
Furuno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-07-06, 21:05   Link #5
raideralan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
I'm planning on getting two gigs of ram. The video card i choose was a:
EVGA
Model 256-P2-N624-AR
Interface PCI Express x16
Chipset Manufacturer NVIDIA
GPU GeForce 7900GS
Core clock 500MHz
PixelPipelines 20
Memory
Memory Clock 1380 MHz (effective)
Memory Size 256MB
Memory Interface 256-bit
Memory Type GDDR3
3D API
DirectX DirectX 9
OpenGL OpenGL 2.0
Ports
DVI 2
TV-Out HDTV / S-Video / Composite Out
VIVO No
General
Tuner None
RAMDAC 400 MHz
Max Resolution 2560 x 1600
SLI Supported Yes
Cooler With Fan
raideralan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-07-07, 00:02   Link #6
Tiberium Wolf
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portugal
Age: 34
You also didn't tell us how much you are willing to spend.

I would recommend C2D instead of AM2.
__________________

Last edited by Tiberium Wolf; 2007-07-07 at 01:02.
Tiberium Wolf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-07-07, 05:34   Link #7
problemedchild
_
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
You don't have to post all the specs for everything. It makes it somewhat hard to read. Just post the product name. Simply putting EVGA 7900 GS would do =)

I'd also wait for two to three weeks, Intel and AMD price cuts should be in by then.
problemedchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-07-07, 08:57   Link #8
hobbes_fan
You could say.....
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
That's overkill IMO for primarily h.264 video playback. My media centre has a
Asus M2n vmx
Amd x2 3600+
2 gig kingston 667
2x500g seagate sata drives
ECS 8600GT (dx10 though not really a gaming card good for vdeo playback encoding etc etc)

Also unless you plan to do some serious gaming or o/c stck with ddr2 667 or 533, ddr 800 is faster but you'll never get the most out of it with mostly h.264 playback

Also make sure your PSU is up to the task.

Intel price drop on processors on July 22. Hold off until then

read these as well
budget build
http://www.tomshardware.com/2007/05/...lder_marathon/
mid price build
http://www.tomshardware.com/2007/05/...lder_marathon/
high end
http://www.tomshardware.com/2007/05/...lder_marathon/

Last edited by hobbes_fan; 2007-07-07 at 09:08.
hobbes_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-07-07, 12:47   Link #9
WanderingKnight
Gregory House
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Age: 25
Send a message via MSN to WanderingKnight
Nvidia 8800GT (or was it 8600?), IIRC, has integrated h264 decoding, meaning that your PC will use the processor much less. Just thought I'd mention that.
__________________


Place them in a box until a quieter time | Lights down, you up and die.
WanderingKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-07-07, 19:39   Link #10
hobbes_fan
You could say.....
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
All the nvidia 8xxxx series has that, same deal with the ATI x19xxx series. Nvidia calls its PureVideo and ATI calls it AVIVO. (see my thread about an x1950pro and AVIVO).

The 8800GTS is probably the best card going around but its $$$. With the new cards you will need a monster PSU. Something like 30 amps on the 12v rails.
hobbes_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-07-07, 19:56   Link #11
Ledgem
Love Yourself
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northeast USA
Age: 28
The parts are more than good enough for what you want to use your computer for. As others have suggested, if you want to save a few bucks, you could drop the processor to something a bit weaker. But if that isn't an issue, go ahead with it. It may last you longer if you keep it as it is, although that's always hard to predict with computer systems.
__________________
Ledgem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-07-07, 22:39   Link #12
Claies
Good-Natured Asshole.
 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 25
Forgive my selfishness, but please, next time just copy the Newegg link to the product. It'll be a bit easier for my eyes. Thank you.

For anime watching and the occasional game...

CPU: This? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103771
Good deal for what it offers. This should last you a few years for what you're doing. As everyone said, hold on the price cuts. $155 should get a pretty darn nice Intel processor by then. (Did anyone notice that some quad-core PC packages plus LCD monitors are going on big store retail for just $1100? Those used to cost twice that back a year ago!)

Motherboard: This? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813138074
Good.

Memory: 2GB is overkill. For now, 1GB is quite the norm. You can save the other GB for later to upgrade, and by that time memory would get even cheaper.

Video card: If you want DirectX10 (play stuff released during Vista era), get the 8600GT. If not, get the 7600GT. GS is a pretty low-end label for nVidia and generally not worth the money. H.264 works perfectly fine under those. I'm playing H.264 on a 6600GT, if you want a reference.

Power supply: You look like you need no more than 500W, which is a high estimate. Find one that lasts and has good efficiency. Here's the best deal I can find: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817182016

Miscellaneous: If your case has space, upgrade your fan from 80mm to 120mm. You're fine if you don't, but it keeps the tackiest problems from happening.

You're looking at uh...$500 tops maybe? That's assuming you're recycling your old hard drives and DVD drives.

Best of luck!
Claies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-07-08, 01:53   Link #13
problemedchild
_
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by hobbes_fan View Post
All the nvidia 8xxxx series has that, same deal with the ATI x19xxx series. Nvidia calls its PureVideo and ATI calls it AVIVO. (see my thread about an x1950pro and AVIVO).

The 8800GTS is probably the best card going around but its $$$. With the new cards you will need a monster PSU. Something like 30 amps on the 12v rails.
PureVideo support does not equal Full H.264 Decode Acceleration. The Nvidia 8600, 8500, ATI, 2400, and 2600 include full H.264 Decode Acceleration. The 8800 GTX, GTS, and the 2900XT does not. Weird isn't it?


Memory manufactures stockpiled a lot of DDR2 modules in preparation for Windows Vista, however the release of Windows Vista did not boost sales of memory as much as they had hoped. Meaning that DDR2 prices are at its lowest right now. Just look at all the online deals for 2 GB of PC-6400 for only $50-70 dollars after MIR.

2GB of RAM is standard now, nothing really overkill about it.....
problemedchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-07-08, 02:26   Link #14
Claies
Good-Natured Asshole.
 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by problemedchild View Post
2GB of RAM is standard now, nothing really overkill about it.....
Meh...maybe I'm just slow. I'm doing quite well with just 1GB (which I had 2 years ago), although things can certainly improve.
Claies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-07-08, 05:04   Link #15
hobbes_fan
You could say.....
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by problemedchild View Post
PureVideo support does not equal Full H.264 Decode Acceleration. The Nvidia 8600, 8500, ATI, 2400, and 2600 include full H.264 Decode Acceleration. The 8800 GTX, GTS, and the 2900XT does not. Weird isn't it?
WOW I am surprised by that. Although, those are serious gaming cards so you wouldn't be buying them for video playback.

yup 2 gig is pretty much the standard for gaming it helps heaps. 1 gig is fine generally.
ALthough he/she has picked out one of the best overclocking RAM sticks around (hence the price). If he she is not going to overclock then it's pointless to shell out that much cash for 1 gig of DDR2 800 when he/she can get 2 gigs of DDR2 667 for almost the same price or DDR2 533 cheaper. RAM speeds in terms of real world performance is negligible. Also 2x1gig sticks can be run in dual channel which will help address the bottleneck if there is one.

I'm of the opinion that gfx cards decoding h.264 is pretty much a very minor detail. Using PCWizard to check my processor usage on my laptop when watching h.264 vids (Asus A3 1.8 gig centrino 1 gig ram, intel integrated gfx) my CPU usage is only about 10-15% with some services running in the background. As opposed to 3-4% on my gaming PC with and (x1950 pro, 2 gig DDR2 667 ram and an AMD X2 4400+) and 6-7% with a media centre PC (7300gt, 2 gig DDR2 667 RAM, AMD X2 3600+) all with the same services running.

My pick of boards BTW if you're sticking with AMD
Budget
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131042
Mid price
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128014
High end
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131163

Last edited by hobbes_fan; 2007-07-08 at 05:30.
hobbes_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-07-08, 06:07   Link #16
Sides
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Edinburgh
Age: 32
The question wheter to go with 1 or 2GB depends also on
the OS one is planning to use.
If it is only for XP, 1GB is enought, for vista (DX10) 2GB is recommended,
since vista likes to pre-cache programs and 1GB isn't enough.

Graphic card acceleration for h264 and VC1 is only usefull if you go
into high bitrate area, such as HDDVD or Blu-ray content.
Maybe for editing as well, but as far as i can see the drivers aren't
optimised yet or are limited to software support,
pretty sure avid and pinnacle software will support it in some way.
Sides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-07-08, 06:31   Link #17
hobbes_fan
You could say.....
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
From what I've read HDDVD has a max of about 35mbps. bluray is about 50mbps max. That's not to say they will use all that. that's just the max. In comparison Standard DVD is max is about 5mbps. Also not everything will be h.264, it's a decision by studios as to what encode they want.
hobbes_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-07-08, 09:02   Link #18
Tiberium Wolf
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portugal
Age: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sides View Post
The question wheter to go with 1 or 2GB depends also on
the OS one is planning to use.
If it is only for XP, 1GB is enought, for vista (DX10) 2GB is recommended,
since vista likes to pre-cache programs and 1GB isn't enough.

Graphic card acceleration for h264 and VC1 is only usefull if you go
into high bitrate area, such as HDDVD or Blu-ray content.
Maybe for editing as well, but as far as i can see the drivers aren't
optimised yet or are limited to software support,
pretty sure avid and pinnacle software will support it in some way.
No! It depends on the overall programs you use. If you have 1GIG and you use programs that push to like 1.5 GIG of total ram commited. That 500 MB would in the swap file. Having that much in the HDD would slow down the system.
__________________
Tiberium Wolf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-07-08, 10:12   Link #19
Sides
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Edinburgh
Age: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiberium Wolf View Post
No! It depends on the overall programs you use. If you have 1GIG and you use programs that push to like 1.5 GIG of total ram commited. That 500 MB would in the swap file. Having that much in the HDD would slow down the system.
Hmm what did i said ?
-How much RAM depends also on the OS.
Did i said it was the only factor ?
-Nope
Sides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-07-08, 12:01   Link #20
Ledgem
Love Yourself
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northeast USA
Age: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Claies View Post
Memory: 2GB is overkill. For now, 1GB is quite the norm. You can save the other GB for later to upgrade, and by that time memory would get even cheaper.
RAM is a bit fickle, as its pricing seems to depend on a lot of factors. I'm using a system with 1 GB, but I'd love to add in a second 1 GB stick (for virtualization and multitasking purposes). My system takes DDR RAM; the DDR2 RAM prices are all lower! For those who don't know, in the computer world, this almost never happens: the newer, faster technology always pushes down the prices of the older, slower technology. The probable reason for the pricing difference is that DDR2 is considered the standard, and there is more of it in production. By standard economic rules, increased availability means lower prices. (I don't know about the RAM production itself; if DDR is more difficult to make than DDR2, that would probably be the greater factor, but I don't believe it's the case.)

Since I don't monitor RAM prices, I can't say whether DDR prices have overall gone up, down, or remained the same. I will say, however, that I certainly wish that my system took DDR2 memory! The DDR3 standard has been set, based off of what I've read, and in the not-so-distant future we should begin to see DDR3 RAM available.

I remember now: I did upgrade the RAM of an extremely old system once, and the RAM prices had not scaled back very well at all. I think I added in a 512 MB block, and the cost was around $40. It was a laptop, so it was the smaller RAM block. It was a Pentium II system, and I upgraded that about two or three years ago. I'd thought that the price would be under $20 for sure. It was also relatively difficult to find a supplier for the RAM.
__________________
Ledgem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.