AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > AnimeSuki & Technology > Tech Support

Notices

View Poll Results: Rough idea of your hardware
RAM: 1 GB or less 68 45.33%
RAM: more than 1 GB 83 55.33%
CPU: Dual Core or better 79 52.67%
CPU: Pentium 4 / Athlon 64 or equivalent 62 41.33%
CPU: Pentium 3 / Sempron / Celeron or equivalent 16 10.67%
OS: Vista 30 20.00%
OS: XP 108 72.00%
OS: Mac OS X or Linux/BSD 26 17.33%
Videocard: DirectX v10 compatible 44 29.33%
Videocard: DirectX v9 compatible 94 62.67%
Videocard: Older 11 7.33%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 150. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2007-10-18, 14:00   Link #41
King Lycan
User Title eaten by ravenous bunnies
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Zeon
Age: 23
any Fedora linux users who can get XGL/Berly/Compz/ALXGL to work >_<
__________________
King Lycan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-10-18, 17:07   Link #42
problemedchild
_
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by hobbes_fan View Post
Doubt it, early reports is that Vienna is ahead of schedule and is more likely for an early beta test stage late 2009 and roll out in 2010 according to a PC mag I was reading a few weeks ago. Even more worrying is DX10.1 seems much much more likely to come sooner rather than later so all those people who bought high DX10 video cards may get the shaft as I'm not sure whether they'll be able to utilise DX10.1. Right now at work they're doing testing on a closed server of the Beta version of Longhorn. That doesn't seem to be going to badly and some guys are saying it's not a big of a PITA as they thought it'd be

Or alternatively DX10.1 could be a Vista exclusive and DX10 gets backported to XP.

Honestly, I could care less whether or not the 8800 is DX10. Being able to run all games on the market at a resolution higher than 1600x1200 with all the eye candy turned on is what's important to me
problemedchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-10-18, 19:24   Link #43
panzerfan
Name means little...
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: A town that has been showered by snow...
Age: 28
I believe that XP can actually use DirectX 10 based on my hazy memory from people saying how that developers were using XP with DirectX10 API for dev boxes. I might be wrong though...

The only thing that I liked about Vista is that my graphics tablet has native support there unlike XP.
__________________

It would be enough for the depressing things in life to only exist in reality.
It is because that I think the birth of a story... is from people dreaming of a happy ending. ~Misaka Shiori


panzerfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-10-18, 23:29   Link #44
hobbes_fan
You could say.....
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by problemedchild View Post
Honestly, I could care less whether or not the 8800 is DX10. Being able to run all games on the market at a resolution higher than 1600x1200 with all the eye candy turned on is what's important to me
Yeah that's true, DX10 isn't a real big selling point. Right now it's just something that happens to be there that maybe useful.
hobbes_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-10-19, 07:55   Link #45
WanderingKnight
Gregory House
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Age: 25
Send a message via MSN to WanderingKnight
Quote:
I believe that XP can actually use DirectX 10 based on my hazy memory from people saying how that developers were using XP with DirectX10 API for dev boxes. I might be wrong though...
All the "DX10-only" fluffy stuff is not even remotely related to DX9 limitations... they're artificial limitations imposed mostly for the sake of selling hardware. It's clearly shown on games that have a DX9 and DX10 mode versus others that are DX9 only. Perhaps in the future, DX10 will display advantages that DX9 doesn't have, but right now, there's not a technical difference.
__________________


Place them in a box until a quieter time | Lights down, you up and die.
WanderingKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-10-19, 12:36   Link #46
arcadeplayer987
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
I have 8800GTS and I'm running XP SP2 so for now I don't need Vista at all
__________________

www.arcadebuilder.net - The Best Arcade Script. Own your own arcade website today
arcadeplayer987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-10-19, 17:18   Link #47
Takeru
Jag ter idioter
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Vereinigte Staaten
Age: 24
Send a message via AIM to Takeru Send a message via Skype™ to Takeru
Quote:
Originally Posted by hobbes_fan View Post
An interesting was just brought up in regards to 720p fansubs. With more and more fansubs going to 720p resolution. I thought it might me interesting to see if the hardware of users of this forum are capable of playback. Might be a shit idea but I think the results could be informative.
If you're looking at 720p format, shouldn't you question the average screen resolution too?
Ex: I always run at my max available (1440x900) Meaning 720p is the highest I can get without having to downsize the video.

Setup: 15" Apple MacBook Pro (3,1)
>OS: OS X 10.4.10 & XP
>CPU: Intel Core2 Duo 2.39GHz
>RAM: 2GB 667MHz DDR2 SDRAM
>HD: 160GB Fujitsu SATA
>Graphics: 256MB nVidia GeForce 8600M GT
>Audio: Intel HD Audio
__________________

Last edited by Takeru; 2007-10-19 at 17:31.
Takeru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-10-20, 00:09   Link #48
hobbes_fan
You could say.....
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
See screen resolution is not going to affect playback, even if it is downscaled. Again with 10 options max in polls I don't think that's as critical as having the hardware to get it up and running in the first place. If your hardware can't deal with 720p h.264, well, IMO screen res isn't going to be much help. that's the crux of this poll, "is the hardware of the majority of AS members enough to play the increasingly HD releases smoothly" if you hardware can't handle it and the file won't even run, it won't matter if you have a 1920x1080 monitor.

edit: further poll observations, very surprised now. Dual core cpu's are enjoying a 2 to 1 lead. Was expecting it to be much closer than that

Last edited by hobbes_fan; 2007-10-20 at 01:10.
hobbes_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-10-20, 00:37   Link #49
guest
guess
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
How do I know if my computer is DirectX v10 or v9 compatible?
__________________
guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-10-20, 00:42   Link #50
WanderingKnight
Gregory House
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Age: 25
Send a message via MSN to WanderingKnight
Quote:
How do I know if my computer is DirectX v10 or v9 compatible?
Video card model. If you give it to us, we'll be able to tell you.
__________________


Place them in a box until a quieter time | Lights down, you up and die.
WanderingKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-10-20, 00:53   Link #51
problemedchild
_
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Any Nvidia card that has a model number of 8XXX is DX 10
Any ATI/AMD card that has a model number of 2XXXX is DX 10
problemedchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-10-21, 14:28   Link #52
Dkong1026
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by hobbes_fan View Post
clicking start--> control panel ->system
Right, that's the same as window key+break...see, I'm not that unsavvy .

All in all, it only tells me that I have a 1.5 GHz intel pentium processor and 512 mb of RAM. There's no video card info, as far as I can tell.


Either way, I'll tell you this much that I know of:
- it can run stepmania no problem
- it can run starcraft no problem
- I have never had a problem watching fansubs I've downloaded from Anime Suki
__________________
Dkong1026 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-10-21, 14:33   Link #53
SeijiSensei
AS Oji-kun
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mucking about
Age: 64
After you get to System, go to the Device Manager. You can see the details of your video card there.
__________________
SeijiSensei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-10-21, 16:20   Link #54
DGM09
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Portugal
Age: 24
Send a message via MSN to DGM09
My main PC:
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 1.8 GHz 2 MB Cache @ 2.8 GHz 1600 FSB
RAM: 2 GB Kingston Value RAM 667 DDR2 @ (2x)400MHz 4-4-5-12
HDD: Seagate 250 GB 16 MB Cache SATA2 7200rpm
Motherboard: Asus P5B Deluxe Wi-Fi Ap
Graphics Card: Asus (nVidia) 7600GT Silent 256 MB 560/1400 @ 600/1500
Sound Card: Audigy Sound Blaster 5.1
Windows XP SP2

My laptop:
HP Pavillion 9575ep
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo T7300 2 GHz 4 MB Cache
RAM: 2 GB RAM 533 DDR2
HDD: 2x160 GB RAID 5400rpm
Graphics Card: nVidia GeForce 8600M GS 256 MB Dedicated (up to 1024 MB Shared)
Sound Card: 3D Sound Blaster Pro
Windows XP SP2 (Kicked Vista out of it)

Both of them chew on every type of video I throw on them, obviously >_>
DGM09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-10-21, 17:35   Link #55
guest
guess
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by WanderingKnight View Post
Video card model. If you give it to us, we'll be able to tell you.
256MB NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GTS
Quote:
Originally Posted by problemedchild View Post
Any Nvidia card that has a model number of 8XXX is DX 10
Any ATI/AMD card that has a model number of 2XXXX is DX 10
I didn't see that. OK, DX 10 it is.

Still no laptop. Need to invest on that. *jot it down on the bottom of my to-buy list.*
__________________
guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-10-22, 02:17   Link #56
hobbes_fan
You could say.....
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dkong1026 View Post
Right, that's the same as window key+break...see, I'm not that unsavvy .

All in all, it only tells me that I have a 1.5 GHz intel pentium processor and 512 mb of RAM. There's no video card info, as far as I can tell.


Either way, I'll tell you this much that I know of:
- it can run stepmania no problem
- it can run starcraft no problem
- I have never had a problem watching fansubs I've downloaded from Anime Suki
Follow the instructions as detailed here for XP
http://forums.animesuki.com/showpost...38&postcount=1

Also it's a Pentium M processor which is roughly equal to a 3.0ghz P4. So it will be a P4. And an ATI X300 videocard, which is DX9

Edit: added some additional info to the first post in regards to system requirements as per apple and microsoft guidelines.


Edit: Some additional thoughts, it's prey clear so far that 720p shouldn;t be a major issue atm for the majority of AS'ers. 1920x1080 looks like it could be a significant issue though

Last edited by hobbes_fan; 2007-10-24 at 03:50.
hobbes_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-10-25, 13:35   Link #57
grss1982
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
WoW!!!! Looks Like I get to brag about my crappy hardware.

Anyways here we go: (First Two Machines can play 720p. Don't know and have'nt yet tried on the third one. :-))

Main Machine:
Pentium 4 2.6GHZ "C" Variant
INTEL 865GBF Mobo
512MB RAM (2x256)
32MB TNT2 M64 Video Card
60GB Maxtor HDD
2xDVD-Drives (1 ROM & 1 RW)
Windows XP

Second Machine:
Sempron 2500+ (1.75 GHZ)
EPOX 8RDA+ Mobo
1GB RAM (2x512)
256MB Geforce FX5500
20GB Seagate HDD
CD-ROM
Windows XP

Third Machine:
Pentiun III 733Mhz
JETWAY 630AF Mobo (SiS 630S Chipset)
768MB RAM (3x256)
Built-In SiS Video
20GB Maxtor HDD
CD-ROM
Windows XP
__________________
ARX-7 Arbalest

Last edited by grss1982; 2007-10-25 at 13:46.
grss1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-10-25, 15:20   Link #58
Zero Shinohara
I'll keep walking.
*Artist
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: This is FLORIDAAAAAAaaa
Age: 27
Send a message via MSN to Zero Shinohara
Ah... I thought we were only supposed to post our main anime-watching computer specs... That's what I went for, too :P But I guess it's not a lot of help if I vote for everything, because I have a bit of each, I guess, lol. While I have 3 desktops and one laptop running XP, the newest laptop runs on Vista basically because of the tablet features. I have a brand new and shiny XP Pro disk I could use, but because I'd lose most of the Tablet PC features already built-in on Vista for me, I'm refraining from using it.

But oh well. It's not like we're here to bash M$ after all... <_<
__________________

Sometimes I look back and think to myself, "how the hell did I manage to screw this up?"
Zero Shinohara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-10-25, 18:46   Link #59
monster
Junior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Watching a 720p video with CCCP causes my fan to be noisy on some parts, but no other visible effect. Shinsen's new release of Gundam 00 episode 1 (the 1920x1080 version) is the first video that I've ever experienced any lag with my 3 year old computer.
monster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-10-26, 05:11   Link #60
kucigaromeo
Hell Kitty
*Fansubber
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Islands nation
compie:
CPU : Intel core2duo E6300 @2.33 GHz (
mobo : Gigabyte 965P-DS3
RAM : 2x1 GB Corsair Value DDR2 666
HDD : 2x250 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA2 NCQ
2x400GB Seagate Barracuda ES SATA2 NCQ
Optical : Pioneer 16x DVD+RW
Sound : SBLive 5.1 + Altec Lansing 251
GPU : nVidia 8800 GTS 320MB
Display 1: Viewsonic VG2030wm 20" LCD 1680x1050
Display 2: Viewsonic E70f+ 17" CRT 1152x864
PSU : Thermaltake TR2 550W
Case : Therlmaltake Eureka alumunium
UPS : ICA 600W
OS : Debian unstable + experimental 64-bit (main OS),
Windows NT 5.1.2600 SP2 (Game OS),
Solaris Express (nevada b74)

lappie: Lenovo 3000 V100
CPU : Intel core2duo T5600 @1.86 GHz
RAM : 1GB
HDD : 80 GB SATA
Optical : 4x DVD+RW
Sound : Intel HDA
GPU : Intel 945
Display : 12.1" 1280x800
OS: Debian unstable + experimental 64-bit

both have no problem playing 1080p
__________________

my anidb list: http://anidb.net/u224323
Hidamari Sketch, Arts of Innocence
kucigaromeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.