AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > General > Tech Support

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2004-01-25, 14:18   Link #1
RavenChild
エリック
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: my closet, deep and dark
Age: 26
Send a message via AIM to RavenChild Send a message via MSN to RavenChild
Server down on internet but up locally

My server for my website has been down for about a week. it all started when my ip address changed, i redid my DNS and fixed iis 5.5 to work with the new ip(i set it to broadcast on all available ip's) i went to my website and it worked. about a day later, i tried to get something off my website and the connection timed out. i went back and took down my firewall, undid all my filters and used a proxy to see if i could reach it. that did nothing. i then redid iis and all of my internet related items(network connections, my router). this didn't help either. i have come to the point where i am making a new server just to host my website. the only thing left for me to do is to uninstall iis and try to reinstall again. any help/comments would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
************* RavenChild **************
RavenChild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-01-25, 16:19   Link #2
Forse
r00t for life
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: /dev/null
Quote:
Originally Posted by RavenChild
fixed iis 5.5
Okey now I am scared.

P.S. Sorry I can't help you...in my mind anything expect *nix is not suited for server enviroment.
Forse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-01-25, 16:40   Link #3
RavenChild
エリック
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: my closet, deep and dark
Age: 26
Send a message via AIM to RavenChild Send a message via MSN to RavenChild
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forse
Okey now I am scared.

P.S. Sorry I can't help you...in my mind anything expect *nix is not suited for server enviroment.
i shouldn't have said fixed, that was a mistake.
the closest thing to fixing it is to cut two somethings off.

but anyways, i have checked everything and it seems to be working fine. it is almost as if the firewall is blocking all incoming connections but i still can get on the internet. i don't know what to do. i'm uninstalling iis right now, let's hope that works.
__________________
************* RavenChild **************
RavenChild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-01-25, 16:42   Link #4
Forse
r00t for life
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: /dev/null
Quote:
Originally Posted by RavenChild
i'm uninstalling iis right now, let's hope that works.
Good idea
Forse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-01-25, 17:11   Link #5
RavenChild
エリック
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: my closet, deep and dark
Age: 26
Send a message via AIM to RavenChild Send a message via MSN to RavenChild
well, well, well, what do you know, it still isn't working.
i even changed network cards, it still isn't working.

i just need a new server. (donations accepted) goto http://ravenchild.sytes.net/ to donate
__________________
************* RavenChild **************
RavenChild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-01-25, 23:36   Link #6
RavenChild
エリック
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: my closet, deep and dark
Age: 26
Send a message via AIM to RavenChild Send a message via MSN to RavenChild
i put together a new server, a PIII 866, 64Mb RAM, G-Force4 ti4200(overclocked even on a server), windows server 2003, 6 SCSI CD-ROMs, a 43Gb SCSI, a 10Gb SCSI, a 6Gb IDE, and 900 watts of power (a 500 and a 400). my case is huge 2.5 feet high, 1.5 feet wide, and 1.5 in depth.
__________________
************* RavenChild **************
RavenChild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-01-26, 00:50   Link #7
Forse
r00t for life
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: /dev/null
I wonder...if it's server why not throw nix there?
Forse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-01-26, 14:29   Link #8
SirJeannot
AT Field
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: #animesuki
Age: 18
my experience of using a server not just as a server but as a server too (complicated uh ) was quite bad with *nix.
i needed to control the desktop remotely through vnc, what is quite a mess and not very fast with X (don't tell me it's possible, i know! but i don't want any virtual desktop!).
so i have to stay with my w2k to be able to watch tv properly.
the hdd performance was quite poor too :/ when activating dma with hdparm, my console was flooded with errors, and i achieved 20MBit ... w2k allows me to transfer at 60MBit (ftp) even if the listing is slower.

but yes, *nix is good for a server env without any graphical env. my p90 works very well with it. even if *again* the hdd performance is poor, but i don't care for that one (scsi quantum fireball 6.4GB > ~2.5MB/s for the read-speed)
__________________
"facts Jeremy, facts!"
- non factual Jeremy.
SirJeannot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-01-26, 15:03   Link #9
Forse
r00t for life
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: /dev/null
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirJeannot
but yes, *nix is good for a server env without any graphical env. my p90 works very well with it. even if *again* the hdd performance is poor, but i don't care for that one (scsi quantum fireball 6.4GB > ~2.5MB/s for the read-speed)
You need to update kernel and use force DMA. Also why EVEN bother with vnc when u have ssh?
Forse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-01-26, 15:11   Link #10
SirJeannot
AT Field
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: #animesuki
Age: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forse
You need to update kernel and use force DMA. Also why EVEN bother with vnc when u have ssh?
well, how can i control xmule with ssh?
and send that app back to the main display/tty when i am over?
__________________
"facts Jeremy, facts!"
- non factual Jeremy.
SirJeannot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-01-26, 15:30   Link #11
Forse
r00t for life
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: /dev/null
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirJeannot
well, how can i control xmule with ssh?
and send that app back to the main display/tty when i am over?
I think there was console app for emule...anyway I got offtopic *again* -_-;;
Forse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-01-26, 20:03   Link #12
RavenChild
エリック
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: my closet, deep and dark
Age: 26
Send a message via AIM to RavenChild Send a message via MSN to RavenChild
in my opinion, server 2003 is a great increase in the already good 2000 platform, if you have it you need to upgrade. i have so much unnessesary stuff though, i'm 15 and my house has a webserver, a email server, and a domain controler.
__________________
************* RavenChild **************
RavenChild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-01-27, 07:03   Link #13
SirJeannot
AT Field
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: #animesuki
Age: 18
it really depends on your needs.
in my case, win2k is just an os to run certain applications, present on *nix too
there are many option on win2k3 that i won't ever use (and others i don't anything about ) since it's aimed to be used for nt domains ...
__________________
"facts Jeremy, facts!"
- non factual Jeremy.
SirJeannot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-01-27, 17:42   Link #14
RavenChild
エリック
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: my closet, deep and dark
Age: 26
Send a message via AIM to RavenChild Send a message via MSN to RavenChild
I somehow managed to fix my server. i don't know how but what can i say? it's M$.
__________________
************* RavenChild **************
RavenChild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-01-27, 18:41   Link #15
SirJeannot
AT Field
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: #animesuki
Age: 18
good

but i'd go for apache rather than iis :/
__________________
"facts Jeremy, facts!"
- non factual Jeremy.
SirJeannot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.