AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > AnimeSuki & Technology > Tech Support

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2008-03-10, 22:53   Link #1
demon2004
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Cpu Help

Hears the question right now i have an intel Pentium 4 631 3.0gz 2mb cache 1.5gb of pc 4200, windows vista home basic, i want to start playing games and dont want to send a lot i was thinking of the cpus let me know if any of these cpus are better the what i have.

Intel Dual Core E2160 LGA775 1.8GHz 800MHz-FSB 1MB L2Cache

AMD A64 Dual Core AM2 4000+ 2.1GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Processor

AMD A64 Dual Core AM2 4200+ Skt 940 2.2GHz 2x512K CPU

are any of these more power then what i have and also an entry level vid card and ideas thanks
demon2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-03-11, 00:12   Link #2
hobbes_fan
You could say.....
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Games need vid cards more than cpu's. That being said all those CPU's are a vast improvement over your p4. You're looking at around 25% more efficient at least.

Do realise that only the Intel e2160 MIGHT not require a new motherboard. This is dependant on your motherboard. Without knowing what your motherboard is we can't tell if you can just drop one in. Use a program called Belarc Advisor or CPU-Z to find out. If you choose AMD you will definitely need a new motherboard. Between the AMD x2 4000 and x2 4200 there isn't any difference in real world application 100mhz is nothing. Same deal with the e2140 vs e 2160. Save yourself the $10.

You'd probably be better of giving us a total budget to work with for the system rather than just entry level. $250 - $350 for a pretty decent gaming rig if you reuse some of your parts

If you can drop a replacement CPU in just go with a ATI 3850 $160 and an e2140 $70.

If you have to do a complete rebuild on a budget well go AMD. X2 4000 $60, Motherboard $50-$70, 3850 $160.

You'll just reuse the RAM, HDD, Drives, Case and PSU
__________________
Before you ask "How do I convert fansubs to...." see the following
MP4 - http://forums.animesuki.com/showthread.php?t=47693
Convert AVI/MKV/MP4 to DVD
http://forums.animesuki.com/showthread.php?t=26308

Last edited by hobbes_fan; 2008-03-11 at 00:32.
hobbes_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-03-11, 06:03   Link #3
Furuno
Fuwaaa~~~
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Indonesia
Age: 25
Send a message via Yahoo to Furuno
AMD Athlon X2 4000+ is my current processor, it reached 17K MIPS in Dhrystone test, faster than any Intel's processor lower than Core2Duo E6550 (from what i know).

Of course the 4200+ perform better than 4000+ but i heard that 4000+ is easy to reach 2.8 GHz stable OC.
__________________

Check my Blog / Thread / Twitter for some random stuffs...
Furuno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-03-11, 06:53   Link #4
hobbes_fan
You could say.....
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
It doesn't trust me. The 4200 is basically a 4000 with a crap overclock. It's barely 5% any better in benchmarks, real world performance = 0. Cache etc etc are all identical only the cpu freq multiplier changes. (X2 4000 = 10.5, X2 4200 =11). I'm running an x2 4000 @ stock on my HTPC myself but I've gotten it to 2.66 24 hr orthos stable on a standard HSF. ANy sort of overclocking will get the x2 4000 well past x2 4200, they'll both bottom out around 2.8 - 3.0 anyway, so you're not getting any more headroom. Performance to price ratio. Why pay more? The X2 4000 used to be my gaming CPU before an X2 5000 black.
__________________
Before you ask "How do I convert fansubs to...." see the following
MP4 - http://forums.animesuki.com/showthread.php?t=47693
Convert AVI/MKV/MP4 to DVD
http://forums.animesuki.com/showthread.php?t=26308
hobbes_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-03-11, 07:02   Link #5
Furuno
Fuwaaa~~~
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Indonesia
Age: 25
Send a message via Yahoo to Furuno
Quote:
Originally Posted by hobbes_fan View Post
It doesn't trust me. The 4200 is basically a 4000 with a crap overclock. It's barely 5% any better in benchmarks, real world performance = 0. Cache etc etc are all identical only the cpu freq multiplier changes. (X2 4000 = 10.5, X2 4200 =11). I'm running an x2 4000 @ stock on my HTPC myself but I've gotten it to 2.66 24 hr orthos stable on a standard HSF. ANy sort of overclocking will get the x2 4000 well past x2 4200, they'll both bottom out around 2.8 - 3.0 anyway, so you're not getting any more headroom. Performance to price ratio. Why pay more? The X2 4000 used to be my gaming CPU before an X2 5000 black.
2.66 for 24hr stable? I've reached 2.8GHz but i don't have the courage to maintain it (i only have stock HSF too). My temp at normal clock says it's around 16~24 C. Is it okay for me to OC it a little bit for (almost) everytime?

Oh yeah, for an entry level video card you could try ATi Radeon HD2400Pro. Cheap and plays any game. This is actually my card, i played CoD 4 All maxed up except shadows, anisotropic and AA well. Crysis at low setting runs well above 30fps. (System : AMD Athlon X2 4000+, ECS AMD690GM-M2, 1GB DDR2/800, dagraphic ATi Radeon HD2400Pro OC (+50Mhz Core)).
__________________

Check my Blog / Thread / Twitter for some random stuffs...
Furuno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-03-11, 07:40   Link #6
hobbes_fan
You could say.....
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
I've heard 3.0 on air, but my old board wasn't the greatest overclocker and using crappy generic DDR2 800 + Asus M2N. I hit around 2.8ghz with voltages at 1.35v but errors came up 4 hrs into orthos. Coretemp is far more accurate and I averaged 35C (ambient temps were around 30c) during Orthos blend test runs. Unfortunately the board had very little left in terms of O/C options, 1.35v was the max voltage I could give the CPU-I'd like to have seen what it could do at 1.4V. I always go down 25% or so of the total overclock after a failure but I couldn't be arsed trying for higher, O/C ing is easy but the time to thoroughly run stress tests kills me. I went and bought an x2 5000 Black with an unlocked multiplier and I'm at 3.1ghz stable but I've hit 3.3ghz with voltage bumped up to 1.4v but I don't like to run higher voltages so back to 3.1 at 1.35v That's running at an peak of 35C, the highest I've seen it was 40c prior to installing a Scythe Ninja. I only bump up voltages for pure entertainement to see how far I can push it. Oh yeah ddr2 800 ADATA + Ggabyte Ma770

I'd say 2.6 is about it on stock cooling and voltages. 2.8-3.0 at 1.4v or higher but you'd best be considering a replacement HSF like the artic freezer pro 64
__________________
Before you ask "How do I convert fansubs to...." see the following
MP4 - http://forums.animesuki.com/showthread.php?t=47693
Convert AVI/MKV/MP4 to DVD
http://forums.animesuki.com/showthread.php?t=26308

Last edited by hobbes_fan; 2008-03-11 at 08:05.
hobbes_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-03-13, 21:58   Link #7
Kurz
Gao~ a sound for the ages
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: I live in a relm of swirling of thought and emotion, Ever lost in the relm of infinite possiblities.
Age: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by furuno View Post
My temp at normal clock says it's around 16~24 C.
Google CoreTemp... Those Temperature readings are highly suspect.
I run 27C with water cooling,
I doubt you are running that cold unless you surround your computer in ICE.
__________________
Join the ULF!

United Leecher Front.

Save your Love ones from Disease.
Folding@Home Team Animesuki
Kurz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-03-14, 07:34   Link #8
Furuno
Fuwaaa~~~
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Indonesia
Age: 25
Send a message via Yahoo to Furuno
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurz View Post
Google CoreTemp... Those Temperature readings are highly suspect.
I run 27C with water cooling,
I doubt you are running that cold unless you surround your computer in ICE.
At first i'm also didn't believe it, my temp one day is ONLY 9C (night, rainy day). I'm living in Indonesia, a HOT tropical country with ambient temperature amount 30C and i have no aircon in my room. But yes, my cpu temp is just around that, at max it's around 40C after converting 10 DVDs into AVIs with AVIVO. Wonder why? Btw my 4000+ is from the Brisbane series...

@hobbes_fan :
I'll try 2.6 without voltage change for all day tomorrow...
__________________

Check my Blog / Thread / Twitter for some random stuffs...
Furuno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-03-14, 08:42   Link #9
hobbes_fan
You could say.....
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
9c? I'm definite that can't be right. Low to mid 20's for idle - yes pretty standard. 40c at full load? Yes that's also fairly normal. Why? 65w TDP that's why. FYI my HTPC x2 4000 is now at 28c ambient is 22c. Currently marathoning the Gundam 00 1280x720p h264 so a mid level load. All stock in this case http://www.silentpcreview.com/article591-page1.html with 2x120mm low noise fans . I do have an aftermarket cooler http://www.scythe-usa.com/product/cp...00_detail.html withc Noctua Nth1 Thermal paste but it's mainly for noise it's not a significantly better heat dissipator over stock cooling. Screencaps of reports can be posted if required.
__________________
Before you ask "How do I convert fansubs to...." see the following
MP4 - http://forums.animesuki.com/showthread.php?t=47693
Convert AVI/MKV/MP4 to DVD
http://forums.animesuki.com/showthread.php?t=26308
hobbes_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-03-14, 19:43   Link #10
Kurz
Gao~ a sound for the ages
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: I live in a relm of swirling of thought and emotion, Ever lost in the relm of infinite possiblities.
Age: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by furuno View Post
At first i'm also didn't believe it, my temp one day is ONLY 9C (night, rainy day). I'm living in Indonesia, a HOT tropical country with ambient temperature amount 30C and i have no aircon in my room. But yes, my cpu temp is just around that, at max it's around 40C after converting 10 DVDs into AVIs with AVIVO. Wonder why? Btw my 4000+ is from the Brisbane series...

@hobbes_fan :
I'll try 2.6 without voltage change for all day tomorrow...
You are defying The law of Thermo Dynamics.
Get Core Temp.
__________________
Join the ULF!

United Leecher Front.

Save your Love ones from Disease.
Folding@Home Team Animesuki
Kurz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-03-15, 06:36   Link #11
Furuno
Fuwaaa~~~
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Indonesia
Age: 25
Send a message via Yahoo to Furuno
9C maybe wrong... but 16~24 is true, i've used a lot of temp measurement software including Coretemp.

My case : Simbadda Sim-X 622
http://bhinneka.com/products/sku01706270.aspx

With additional 3x80mm fan 2 exhaust at back and 1 intake at left, brand : Mitsubishi (*Lancer*... lol, jk...). It's noisy but has high rev (just like a Lancer...).
__________________

Check my Blog / Thread / Twitter for some random stuffs...
Furuno is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.