AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > AnimeSuki & Technology > Tech Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2007-12-22, 13:54   Link #621
felix
sleepyhead
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: event horizon
Photoshop merged with ImageReady, sort of. Fireworks didn't replace Imageready, it's been there for some time...
__________________
felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-12-22, 21:52   Link #622
panzerfan
Name means little...
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: A town that has been showered by snow...
Age: 28
I can add to the Imageready issue. Photoshop's "merge" with imageready isn't great... for that once you save as *.gif, you cannot open it with photoshop for touch-up work, for it will show only the first frame. The compression and the palette mapping leave artifacts behind over gif files which you must use Fireworks to clean up.

This means that one is better off working on your original image as a photoshop psd, and then have Fireworks on hand to open it and manipulate it. Honestly, Fireworks is superior to Photoshop at the job, but it's still not perfect for the task of making *.gif, plus that I suddenly ask myself as to 'why on Earth am I not doing this through Flash already?'
__________________

It would be enough for the depressing things in life to only exist in reality.
It is because that I think the birth of a story... is from people dreaming of a happy ending. ~Misaka Shiori


panzerfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-12-23, 06:46   Link #623
felix
sleepyhead
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: event horizon
I too would like to do with in flash. There 's no real security risk or anything silly like that, and it could probably be implemented with inline-frames to prevent oversize, the only issue is with detecting the size. Some of the mods might find it troublesome... but for what it's worth I wouldn't expect too much flash being used.
__________________
felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-12-23, 08:57   Link #624
Rhyel
Senior Member
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Solar System
Age: 38
Wink

I use Beneton Movie GIF

Link to main site

Its if free, easy to use, You only need to optimize frames in gif first.
__________________
Good Day to you.
Thanks KiNA for this lovely signature.
Rhyel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-12-24, 10:33   Link #625
SeijiSensei
AS Oji-kun
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mucking about
Age: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by panzerfan View Post
I can add to the Imageready issue. Photoshop's "merge" with imageready isn't great... for that once you save as *.gif, you cannot open it with photoshop for touch-up work, for it will show only the first frame. The compression and the palette mapping leave artifacts behind over gif files which you must use Fireworks to clean up.'
The GIMP opens animated gifs as a series of layers. You can edit each of them separately.

@Sephi: I really like your signature demos. They are both smaller than I expected at less than 50K. How hard would it be to make the second one an animated gif? I'm also concerned about the security implications of Flash animations, though I admit I haven't read up on the issue in some time.
__________________
SeijiSensei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-12-24, 11:22   Link #626
Sephi
Thinking outside the box
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeijiSensei View Post
The GIMP opens animated gifs as a series of layers. You can edit each of them separately.

@Sephi: I really like your signature demos. They are both smaller than I expected at less than 50K. How hard would it be to make the second one an animated gif? I'm also concerned about the security implications of Flash animations, though I admit I haven't read up on the issue in some time.
It's possible, but it requires a insane amount of frames. And you would have to do it without the random snow. The Lucky Star one is a combination of snow being randomly generated. And the star glowing and lighten up the faces.

To create that you would first have to do the star glows with tweens. Which isn't a problem for Photoshop/Imageready. But than you have to do the snow manual one by one. Which is quite a pain and it has to match the glowing of the star for the loop. Overall i wouldn't recommend someone to try it in imageready. It's probably not a sane thing to do, and never possible to do it within 50kb.

To sum it up. It's possible, but never with the same size. And never with the same quality. Since flash doesn't suffer from a 256 color limit.
__________________

Currently watching: Aria the Origination & Dennou Coil
Sephi: Anime Icons | Signatures & Avatars | Renders
Sephi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-12-25, 19:36   Link #627
Neaco
Senior Member
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by panzerfan View Post
I can add to the Imageready issue. Photoshop's "merge" with imageready isn't great... for that once you save as *.gif, you cannot open it with photoshop for touch-up work, for it will show only the first frame. The compression and the palette mapping leave artifacts behind over gif files which you must use Fireworks to clean up.
'

Actually.... YOU CAN.

Adobe will never tell you this but I figured out how to force Photoshop CS3 to open gifs with all frames.

First thing you do is open PS CS3 up and go to

File > IMPORT > VIDEO FRAMES AS LAYERS


Assuming you have some animated gif on your desktop already, well it doesn't show up in the LOAD Window right?

See where it says file name: at the bottom? (Where you are supposed to type the name of the file).

Type in *.*

Yes, just those three - asterisk, period, asterisk, no spaces between, and press enter.

Suddenly all the other files show up in the window above, including your gif, select it and click load.

A final screen pops up called Load Video to Layers. Just click Ok.

And the gif is opened with all frames.



If Adobe asks anything, I never typed this and you never saw this post ok?
Neaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2007-12-26, 20:33   Link #628
Utter_iMADNESS
Life's better in a harem.
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
YES!!! I finally figured out how to make my own gifs after hours of experimenting!!!
Here's my first one i got it from Rozen Maiden Traumend:


I used Photoshop CS3 Extended and virtualdub. And i find it weird that my gifs tend to work better on firefox cuz they seem to lag with IE.
__________________
Utter_iMADNESS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-01-04, 06:11   Link #629
Dxon
Inactive user
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Holland,Zuid-holland,Capelle aan den IJssel
Age: 21
I dont get it. I want to save it. So I do save as.. (I use PS CS3)
I choose .GIF and safe into my DONE folder. But then I just get one frame saved!! O_o
How to make it complete into a moving GIF?? (Im just noob. :P )

[edit1]
I just finished my second moving avatar. Better or worse. I like it. ^^
First one is <- .

__________________
I don't want a sig anymore.. It's going to get removed anyway.
Gimme Cookies!!
People's screens are to small for my signature.

Last edited by Dxon; 2008-01-04 at 06:42.
Dxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-01-21, 18:11   Link #630
Mr Bland
Photographers are sexy.
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Finland
Age: 19
Hmmm, I don't see "Save image sequence"

nevermind, it was under export

Last edited by Mr Bland; 2008-01-21 at 22:41. Reason: nevermind
Mr Bland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-01-21, 22:18   Link #631
sasuke13
Jyuunana Bunkatsu
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: In a place where good anime is hard to find.
Send a message via AIM to sasuke13
Sometimes when I have my finished product, they show pink "snow" during it's actions. Why is that, and how can I prevent that?
sasuke13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-01-21, 23:35   Link #632
felix
sleepyhead
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: event horizon
Pink snow..?! a example please...
__________________
felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-01-21, 23:48   Link #633
sasuke13
Jyuunana Bunkatsu
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: In a place where good anime is hard to find.
Send a message via AIM to sasuke13
I forgot to mention an important part that I used the GIFs on MySpace...



If I show the GIFs here, they won't show the pink, but in MySpace, they do show them. This is just a still image of wut's happeneing. The 2 icons on the bottom just have a little bit of pink. Is that common?
sasuke13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-01-22, 00:13   Link #634
felix
sleepyhead
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: event horizon
Uhh.. no. It's abnormal. I can only imagine that when it comes to MySpace your uploading them to the site or something and they are doing re-optimizing ~ in the process screwing the entire thing.
__________________
felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-01-22, 00:14   Link #635
sasuke13
Jyuunana Bunkatsu
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: In a place where good anime is hard to find.
Send a message via AIM to sasuke13
oh ic, that sux...
sasuke13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-01-24, 14:02   Link #636
RNKxBoA
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Hi everyone,

been a long time, since I last visited this topic.
But I got this problem, I encountered while making a new GIF.
It comes out all black!

Check:


WTH?!
RNKxBoA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-01-24, 14:53   Link #637
felix
sleepyhead
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: event horizon
Looks like it's been optimized to hell.
  1. What were you using to create it?
  2. Does it look like that in the optimization window?
  3. Does this happen to others you make?
__________________
felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-01-24, 15:35   Link #638
RNKxBoA
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
a. imageready. made a gif using virtualdub
b. no, it looked good
c. never...I made 2 other gifs today, they came out good

the only thing I did different then described in the tut, I first made it a gif.
instead of saving frames.
the gif virtualdub created was also fine.
RNKxBoA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-01-25, 06:22   Link #639
v717
Member
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Just type MovToGIF in the google search bar, follow the closest link and Download "MovToGIF" Its a Freeware and it's size is only 82Kb.
You don't even have to install it.
v717 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-01-25, 09:14   Link #640
RNKxBoA
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
no weird watermarks?

EDIT:
This won't work for me, since I need to cut a part from it that I want to see.
thnx anyway!
RNKxBoA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
animated gifs, graphics, tutorial

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
We use Silk.