AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > Anime Discussion > Older Series > Retired > Retired M-Z > Umineko

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2010-12-21, 11:49   Link #5781
catastrophe8
Self Proclaimed Detective
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Inaba
GAH Just found out you can press "S" instead of holding "CTRL"
.... my poor finger
catastrophe8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-12-21, 17:52   Link #5782
19th
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
I was pointed here when I asked for tech support in another forum.

I have purchased episode 7 from the hobibox download site. It's been hours and I haven't gotten my confirmation email. Is this normal?

I sincerely hope that this is something that can be fixed quickly. I wanted to have the game on my laptop before leaving for a trip.

Last edited by 19th; 2010-12-21 at 18:26.
19th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-12-21, 19:33   Link #5783
Roto
Member
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vylen View Post
Info on what? Running Umineko via command line (with window-width)?

Just open up terminal:
Code:
cd "/Applications/Umineko no Naku Koro ni Chiru/Umineko no Naku Koro ni Chiru.app/Contents/MacOS"
./ONScripter --window-width 1280
Note that you can also create a plain text file called "ons.cfg" in the Umineko folder with the following line:

Code:
window-width=1280
Replace 1280 with whatever width you want.

The "Custom Configuration" section of the ONScripter-EN help (under the Help menu on Mac OS X) has more information on creating the ons.cfg flile.
Roto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-12-21, 22:45   Link #5784
KanonTheFurniture
Witch's Golden Breaker
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 27
This might be a bit trivial but I figure due to the nature of the scene it might be worth changing.

Spoiler for epitaph spoiler:
KanonTheFurniture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-12-21, 23:45   Link #5785
Orophin
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canada
Age: 26
I found a typo in one of the Tips.

Spoiler for Episode 7 Tips:
Orophin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-12-24, 12:56   Link #5786
Moetrollice
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonozaki Futagotachi View Post
Hmmm... it seems that the patch exe is not finding the images in the original game folder's arc.nsa. Do any sound effects play during the WH/07th logo or at that black screen? If so, then it somehow thinks the original files are there (since you don't get the "Missing game files" message), but can't open them... very strange.

Windows 7 does some tricky things with files installed into the Program Files folder. Is this a brand-new install, or did you install the 20%/50% patch before, and then reinstall the full patch over it? Or hm, you say you installed & then applied the patch... did you use the Japanese installer and then run the patch installer?

I'm assuming you used the Windows patch installer (as opposed to the installer-free zip); correct me if I'm wrong.

Uncle Mion
Yay!Thank you!It works great!*_* Now I can play EP7!
Moetrollice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-12-24, 17:03   Link #5787
Bluemail
Zero of the roulette
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Finland
Age: 21
By the way, is there going to be a patch for the Question arcs before EP8 patch? Will you make a post-EP7 patch or will you save the corrections to when you have the full picture (I think you'll be able to read EP8 quite soon anyway)? Basically, is the final Question arc patch going to be released before EP8 patch for mystery-solving? I was wondering if it will contain something crucial people new people should know about so they don't get the wrong idea. I don't know if they're going to be keen on the epitaph, but anything new including/excluding the epitaph translation?

Thanks again for all the hard work, and Merry Christmas to all of Witch-hunt. And the community.

Last edited by Bluemail; 2010-12-24 at 18:04.
Bluemail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-12-25, 00:27   Link #5788
guro
I like ice cream.
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Las Vegas
How do I make the text go automatically without having to click the mouse?
guro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-12-25, 00:51   Link #5789
Judoh
Mystery buff
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Gone Fishin!
You can skip text by pressing "ctrl" on your keyboard. Or you can press the space bar and it does the same thing as if you clicked it. The F1, F2, etc buttons also change the text speed. I don't think there is an auto-read option or anything.
Judoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-12-25, 01:26   Link #5790
TsundereCake
真 ラブ
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Everywhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by guro View Post
How do I make the text go automatically without having to click the mouse?
Press "a" on your keyboard
__________________
I need a new sig ⊙︿⊙
TsundereCake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-12-25, 09:52   Link #5791
einhorn303
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Age: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by TsundereCake View Post
Press "a" on your keyboard
Is there a way to turn on the auto-text, but still have the text appear letter-by-letter instead of as a single line at once?
einhorn303 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-12-25, 10:58   Link #5792
Miss Mystery
The Dark Crow Smiles
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by einhorn303 View Post
Is there a way to turn on the auto-text, but still have the text appear letter-by-letter instead of as a single line at once?
You could have accidentally set your text speed to the maximum. To change the text speed, try pressing 1,2 or 3. These numbers will change your text speed. (I don't know the specifics, but there should be some sort of Read-Me that came with the translation dealing with the controls of the game).
__________________
Miss Mystery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-12-25, 11:01   Link #5793
Mikachiru
test
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Age: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by AzureVermillion View Post
I am curious to know if you have updated the names of the "Siesta Sisters" to "Chiester" or whatever the terribad pun is.
...Anything on this, guys?
__________________
Mikachiru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-12-25, 11:04   Link #5794
Klashikari
阿賀野型3番艦、矢矧 Lv150
*Graphic Designer
*Moderator
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Belgium, Brussels
Age: 28
Send a message via Skype™ to Klashikari
As seen in the lastest patch, we didn't do anything with the Siesta's name.
As long we do not have any indication from 07th expansion, we will still use "Siesta".
__________________
Klashikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-12-25, 12:33   Link #5795
Miyukiko
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
I've been using on-scripter patch, and it was working fine until I accidentally pinned it to the start menu. I unpinned it, but since then whenever I open on-scripter, it goes closes as soon as I load or try to play a game. Where I saved the game might be the problem too, I'm not sure. The Japanese game is working just fine, it's the patch that's having problems. I'm all the way at the part where Kyrie is first introduced in the family conference.

I tried rebooting and reinstalling the patch. Didn't work. I have Windows 7, and my locale is ALWAYS set to Japanese.
Miyukiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-12-25, 12:44   Link #5796
CrimsonMoonMist
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Age: 21
That's quite odd, have you tried reinstalling the whole game?
It would be kinda weird if it worked since the Japanese version works,
but it's worth a try.
CrimsonMoonMist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-12-25, 19:42   Link #5797
bahamut zero
miragecoordinator
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Right there
Quote:
Originally Posted by AzureVermillion View Post
Since I don't really have the time to sit down and read through it at the moment, I'm not sure of what you have updated in terms of the translation.
I am curious to know if you have updated the names of the "Siesta Sisters" to "Chiester" or whatever the terribad pun is.
Bad pun? I think it makes sense quiet a lot:

Chiester ---> Chester ---->
Spoiler:
__________________
Signature stolen by a horde of carnivorous bunnies. It is an unscientifically proven fact that they are attracted to signatures which break the signature rules.
bahamut zero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-12-25, 20:40   Link #5798
Pika_power
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by bahamut zero View Post
Bad pun? I think it makes sense quiet a lot:

Chiester ---> Chester ---->
Spoiler:
Sure, it makes sense. Doesn't stop it being terribad.
Pika_power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-12-26, 04:55   Link #5799
Marion
The Great Dine
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Again, my belief is that the game got it mixed up and not WH for a few different reasons.
__________________

Sig by nocco
Marion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-12-26, 08:50   Link #5800
Jan-Poo
別にいいけど
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: forever lost inside a logic error
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marion View Post
Again, my belief is that the game got it mixed up and not WH for a few different reasons.
Japanese pronounces are hardly relevant though.

They pronounce it "Shiesta" because that's exactly how every Japanese would read the katakana. In the same way if you were to rely on pronounces you'd call the main character "Batora", but the intended romanization is Battler. And Virgilia is not only pronounced as Warugiria but even written as Warugiria in the anime, and yet the correct romanization is Virgilia.
__________________

Jan-Poo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
translation

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 21:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.