AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > General > Forum & Site Feedback

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2004-01-31, 19:56   Link #1
RavenChild
エリック
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: my closet, deep and dark
Age: 26
Send a message via AIM to RavenChild Send a message via MSN to RavenChild
Server too busy?

is it just me or has the server been giving messages like "server too busy, please try again later". i hope this is only temporary, or is someone hosting a dos against the site?
__________________
************* RavenChild **************
RavenChild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-01-31, 20:04   Link #2
Flash_Squirrel
F&C Fanboy
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Saiph
Send a message via ICQ to Flash_Squirrel Send a message via AIM to Flash_Squirrel
The server says that when too many people are trying to access to prevent overloads.

Now I don't know *exactly* how MB81 setted it, though there is some kind of blocker.

No DDOS then, rest assured.
__________________
...So as I pray, unlimited blades work.
Flash_Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-01-31, 20:15   Link #3
RavenChild
エリック
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: my closet, deep and dark
Age: 26
Send a message via AIM to RavenChild Send a message via MSN to RavenChild
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flash_Squirrel
The server says that when too many people are trying to access to prevent overloads.

Now I don't know *exactly* how MB81 setted it, though there is some kind of blocker.

No DDOS then, rest assured.
good, i didn't see many people on though, who cares, i'm back on now.
__________________
************* RavenChild **************
RavenChild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-01-31, 23:38   Link #4
Mb81
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by RavenChild
is it just me or has the server been giving messages like "server too busy, please try again later". i hope this is only temporary, or is someone hosting a dos against the site?
"server too busy, please try again later" ?

Hmm.. where does this appear ?
Only this appears ? Screenshot ?
Mb81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-02-01, 00:01   Link #5
JustAnotherFan
/(bb|[^b]{2})/
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mb81
Hmm.. where does this appear ?
Only this appears ? Screenshot ?
Noticed it today too for a few minutes. It appears instead of any page of the forum, be it main index, forum index, post a reply, ....

When it happens the next time (hopefully never ) I will make a screenshot

Quote from the old Eternally busy thread:
Quote:
Originally Posted by GHDpro
I've now upped the limit to a level that if you STILL get that
server busy message, the server is about to melt. Or: you'll
notice on other ways that the server is rather busy (ie. slow).
__________________
#AnimeSuki IRC channel:
#AnimeSuki@irc.synirc.net
JustAnotherFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-02-01, 08:09   Link #6
GHDpro
Administrator
*AnimeSuki Site Staff
*Moderator
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Netherlands
Age: 35
As JAF already mentioned, if you get that "Server Busy" message,
the server is REALLY, REALLY, REALLY BUSY.

It's just showing that to prevent it from grinding to a complete stop.

It shouldn't happen often though. Right now the load is at least 20-30x
less than it was yesterday (based on the load the server needs to
have to show the busy message).
GHDpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-02-01, 12:28   Link #7
Mb81
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by GHDpro
As JAF already mentioned, if you get that "Server Busy" message,
the server is REALLY, REALLY, REALLY BUSY.

It's just showing that to prevent it from grinding to a complete stop.

It shouldn't happen often though. Right now the load is at least 20-30x
less than it was yesterday (based on the load the server needs to
have to show the busy message).
Hmm.. you should deactive this, since this Load Times are fake (hard to explain; concerns the connection to the other server which enlarge this Script Load Time Checking..). Even with current 800 running Apache PIUs, the server went never out of memory etc... all fine.

On the other hand, if the load times would be that big, how can it be, that loading the site (for example the main site) is lighting fast...
Mb81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-02-02, 14:58   Link #8
Shii
Afflicted by the vanities
*Fansubber
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Fish-shape Paumanok
Age: 26
I suggest you add an announcement to the "Server Busy" notice reading,

"And don't refresh the page every five seconds! That only makes the server busier. Come back in a few minutes."
__________________
Learn to define and spell mo
Shii (formerly known as ashibaka)
Shii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-02-02, 15:31   Link #9
JustAnotherFan
/(bb|[^b]{2})/
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mb81
Load Times are fake [...]
how can it be, that loading the site (for example the main site) is lighting fast...
I think you confuse "server load" with load times. The server load is the average amount of processes that are in the run queue plus the ones waiting for I/O. So basically all the processes that WANT to run, but can't.

As GDpro said the old limit was 20, and the new one is even higher.. This means that more than 20 processes want to run or wait for I/O, which means the server is close to a core meltdown :P

It happened again just before ashibaka posted his comment, but it was gone after I checked again a few minutes later. I don't think there is a need for a screenshot: You see the usual header and footer, but instead of the index/forum/whatever, you see "Animesuki Forum > vBulletin Message" and then a box with "vbulletin Message" and "The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later.".
JustAnotherFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-02-02, 16:26   Link #10
Oneesama
本當に愛してるなら, "鰻食べる?ってきかないで
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashibaka
I suggest you add an announcement to the "Server Busy" notice reading,

"And don't refresh the page every five seconds! That only makes the server busier. Come back in a few minutes."
well... i think this is a good idea indeed. i got tat messege like 1/2hr when i was in the fanart forum... then i went back after 2min/so after... it work... so instead (i think some ppl) keep clicking refresh, it may not be as bad as the issue is seem....
Oneesama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-02-02, 17:11   Link #11
Mb81
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustAnotherFan
I think you confuse "server load" with load times. The server load is the average amount of processes that are in the run queue plus the ones waiting for I/O. So basically all the processes that WANT to run, but can't.

As GDpro said the old limit was 20, and the new one is even higher.. This means that more than 20 processes want to run or wait for I/O, which means the server is close to a core meltdown :P

It happened again just before ashibaka posted his comment, but it was gone after I checked again a few minutes later. I don't think there is a need for a screenshot: You see the usual header and footer, but instead of the index/forum/whatever, you see "Animesuki Forum > vBulletin Message" and then a box with "vbulletin Message" and "The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later.".
Hmm... i may ask how you get this wisdom ? If so, say who you are and how you are related.. As i said, the server is fine. I deactivate the limit now. In the current situation it should be more than fast.

If not, i`m going to add another server. That is the smallest problem and amount of work for me.

+ for more info the old limit was 80; think about it...
Mb81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-02-02, 18:19   Link #12
JustAnotherFan
/(bb|[^b]{2})/
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mb81
Hmm... i may ask how you get this wisdom?
Operational experience.
Quote:
If so, say who you are and how you are related..
I already answered a similar question via PM on the old forum after I sent you a short howto on synchronizing server time
Quote:
As i said, the server is fine.
I didn't plan to say there is a problem with your server. There might be an error computing the load or the forum software processing it. I just noticed you confuse load with something else and tried to explain what a high load implies (usually).
JustAnotherFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-02-03, 11:58   Link #13
Mb81
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Quote:
Operational experience.
Define that please. Don`t get me wrong with this, but we are talking about complex server problems (if so). It doesn`t help then much if people make server suggestions, i have the work and in the end it was nothing...

Quote:
I already answered a similar question via PM on the old forum after I sent you a short howto on synchronizing server time
Hmm.. don`t find; just send it me once more.

Quote:
I didn't plan to say there is a problem with your server. There might be an error computing the load or the forum software processing it. I just noticed you confuse load with something else and tried to explain what a high load implies (usually).
Please believe me, if i say the server is fine... (while i spend hours on this kind of issues..). If we are talking about a Server Load over 80... would it be possible that the server could do a single process ? I doubt that...
Mb81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-02-04, 10:53   Link #14
JustAnotherFan
/(bb|[^b]{2})/
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mb81
Please believe me, if i say the server is fine...
I answer with quoting myself:
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustAnotherFan
I didn't plan to say there is a problem with your server.
If my assumptions about your servers are correct, then I know the reason for the high load and that it indeed isn't really a problem. Anyway I think we should move this discussion to PM (for various reasons) and I will write you a PM with details later.
JustAnotherFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
We use Silk.