AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > AnimeSuki & Technology > Tech Support

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2009-07-25, 20:17   Link #321
chikorita157
ひきこもりアイドル
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Jersey, United States
Age: 24
Send a message via Skype™ to chikorita157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Claies View Post
Apparently Media Player Classic fails to read softsubs on my Windows 7 install (I had to switch to Zoom Player). Is this happening to anyone else? I'm on build 7100 (I know, I can't be bothered).
I'm pretty sure this is fixed in the RTM build, if I were not to mistaken... but the softsubs should work fine in mplayer though.
__________________
chikorita157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-07-27, 06:32   Link #322
Kurz
Gao~ a sound for the ages
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: I live in a relm of swirling of thought and emotion, Ever lost in the relm of infinite possiblities.
Age: 27
Claies

1. In Media Player Classic, click View | Options
2. Go to External Filters
3. Hit Add Filter...
4. Choose DirectVobSub (auto-loading version)
5. Where it says Prefer/Block/Set merit:, select Prefer

Thats how to fix it.

In later versions they'll put this in.

Windows 7 does not like 3rd party filters.
Zoom I think automatically does this.
__________________
Join the ULF!

United Leecher Front.

Save your Love ones from Disease.
Folding@Home Team Animesuki
Kurz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-07-28, 00:19   Link #323
Claies
Good-Natured Asshole.
 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurz View Post
Claies

1. In Media Player Classic, click View | Options
2. Go to External Filters
3. Hit Add Filter...
4. Choose DirectVobSub (auto-loading version)
5. Where it says Prefer/Block/Set merit:, select Prefer

Thats how to fix it.

In later versions they'll put this in.

Windows 7 does not like 3rd party filters.
Zoom I think automatically does this.
Winner of cookies.

Also, are any of these not friendly with Windows 7?
- Firefox 3.5.1
- AdBlock Plus
- NoScript
- Javascript in general

What I'm having problems with:
- Facebook content sometimes requires multiple reloads.
- I have to wipe cookies every time I log into Animesuki.
- Every now and then, Firefox asks me about NoScript's Javascript taking forever to execute. Previously, it was whining about Firebug.
- Firefox sometimes does not exit cleanly and require me to kill the process manually.
Claies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-07-28, 01:01   Link #324
Vexx
Obey the Darkly Cute ...
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: On the whole, I'd rather be in Kyoto ...
Age: 56
errrr, all I can offer is that I use all those things in Win7 pretty extensively and haven't had *any* of those issues.

You might re-install the associated apps (flash, jre, firefox, Adblock extension) and see if that clears it up. I guess I'm most suspicious of the JRE and flash installation.
Vexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-07-28, 09:11   Link #325
Kurz
Gao~ a sound for the ages
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: I live in a relm of swirling of thought and emotion, Ever lost in the relm of infinite possiblities.
Age: 27
Wha? I don't have any of those issues...
I hope you did a clean install?
__________________
Join the ULF!

United Leecher Front.

Save your Love ones from Disease.
Folding@Home Team Animesuki
Kurz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-07-28, 19:41   Link #326
Ayumi
succubus
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 東京         Sailor Moon
yep, if I had RAM enough.
__________________
愛、おぼえていますか?
☆ 3883-6119-6754
Ayumi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-07-28, 20:01   Link #327
chikorita157
ひきこもりアイドル
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Jersey, United States
Age: 24
Send a message via Skype™ to chikorita157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rukia-Chan View Post
yep, if I had RAM enough.
Windows 7 have better RAM management, although 2 GB should be enough to run both Vista/7, but even with 1 GB, Windows 7 should run fast enough without problems.
__________________
chikorita157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-07-28, 22:26   Link #328
holy_
Paladin
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Virtual World
Send a message via MSN to holy_ Send a message via Yahoo to holy_
I'll switch, now using Vista Ultimate.
Hope it's really better than laggy Vista
__________________
Zutto Anime, Game, Manga!

holy_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-07-28, 23:15   Link #329
Claies
Good-Natured Asshole.
 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurz View Post
Wha? I don't have any of those issues...
I hope you did a clean install?
Yep. Went without a hitch. I'll probably reinstall Firefox and everything associated with it.
Claies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-07-29, 12:28   Link #330
Jinto
Asuki-tan Kairin ↓
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fürth (GER)
Age: 33
At work we will switch from XP SP3 to Windows 7 SP1 (somewhen). If I like what I see I will switch to Windows 7 for home use too.
Jinto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-07-29, 14:12   Link #331
gl0w_
Junior Member
*Fansubber
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Age: 25
Just installed Windows 7 yesterday on my home PC and i must say that so far i am pretty impressed. The native driver support seemed very nice, i basically had to install nothing and it just worked. I still went ahead an installed the drivers for my video card, but that was mostly for the nVidia control panel. As far as problems the only thing that threw me off was that because i was upgrading from XP 32bit i wasn't used to the drivers having to be signed. So installing a few programs was a bit of a hassle, but from what i understand this same issue happens with vista and it was pretty easy to resolve. I give it a very positive review so far. =D
gl0w_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-08-03, 17:53   Link #332
Solafighter
Hige
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: God only knows
Im realy thinking about to switch to Windows 7.

But i have a question, google couldnt answer that well.

I have 4 GB ram. On Windows XP 32 only 3,25 can be used.
How much ram could be used on Windows 7 32?

I hope more than 3,25.
__________________
Solafighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-08-03, 18:04   Link #333
Garet Jax
Member
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
64-bit is your friend. But yeah, 32-bit should be the same as XP. You'd still have the same hardware using up the .75 or so.
Garet Jax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-08-03, 18:31   Link #334
Solafighter
Hige
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: God only knows
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garet Jax View Post
64-bit is your friend.
That may be true. Im only using 32-bit(XP) cause 64-bit (XP) made me some trouble. 32-bit is for me kinda more stable and more supported.

How about in Windows 7? Big differenses between 64 and 32 bit?
__________________
Solafighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-08-03, 18:50   Link #335
Revenger1589
otaku against own will
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Argentina
Age: 27
I really can't think of a single reason to use 32-bit over 64-bit if your PC can handle it. I think 7 forces driver signing on both versions and that was the only "disadvantage" of 64-bit Vista.
Revenger1589 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-08-03, 18:58   Link #336
aeriolewinters
Gin-Sama no Tameni!
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Balanga City, Bataan, Philippines
Send a message via Yahoo to aeriolewinters
Um....>4GB RAM? Faster computing with larger bandwidth?
__________________
Mercury Lampe
aeriolewinters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-08-03, 19:42   Link #337
chikorita157
ひきこもりアイドル
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Jersey, United States
Age: 24
Send a message via Skype™ to chikorita157
I use 64-bit Windows Vista on my Macbook Pro and I never had any problems since Apple provides 64-bit drivers on their Macbook Pro laptops... The only thing I really install is the modified nVidia Drivers so I have the latest graphics driver even though it breaks the digital signing (but still works since the driver files are digitally signed). With some computer companies, they don't always supply drivers for 64-bit at all, which pretty much means you are stuck with 32-bit or 64-bit with a lack of drivers.

Not to mention, 64-bit is alot more stable than 32-bit Windows (from my experience of running 64-bit Vista about 3 months) and I have more stability and all but a few programs work absolutely fine (even games without any performance hit). 64-bit is useful if you have 4GB of more RAM installed (more means a responsive system if you use programs that take alot of RAM).
__________________
chikorita157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-08-03, 20:25   Link #338
Ledgem
Love Yourself
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northeast USA
Age: 28
64 bit vs. 32 bit doesn't really make a difference in terms of stability. The reason that Windows XP 64-bit never caught on was partly due to Microsoft releasing it pretty late (and well after AMD's initial 64-bit advetising campaign trumped the technology up), and largely due to the fact that third party vendors never really took to supporting it. As a result, people experienced some problems finding proper drivers for their hardware.

Windows Vista was much better in terms of 64-bit support. Both the 32-bit and 64-bit versions received equal third-party support, as I've heard it. Windows 7 should be no different. If you have a 64-bit processor, there's no reason not to get the 64-bit version. Think of it as future-proofing.
__________________
Ledgem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-08-04, 01:05   Link #339
Renegade334
Exitus Acta Probat
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Permanent retirement from raws-hunting
Age: 28
Another update for the Windows 7 E debate.

It looks like only the five most popular browsers will be offered by the ballot screen: IE8, FF, Safari 4, Chrome and Opera. I probably won't get the 7E version...even though I still cling to Opera 9.64 (will probably upgrade to 10 once they get it out of beta)...


BTW, it seems that the W7 kernel-derived server edition (AKA Windows Server 2008 R2), whose beta was launched simultaneously to W7's, will be 64-bit exclusive. They're dropping the 32-bit version in favor of the 64- one.
__________________
<< -- Click to enter my GFX thread.

-- Permanently retired from the raw-hunting business --

Last edited by Renegade334; 2009-08-04 at 01:23.
Renegade334 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-08-29, 09:57   Link #340
Solafighter
Hige
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: God only knows
I was not sure, to open a new theard or not, so i just reply in here.

Today, i installed Windows 7 the first time and have some issues.

After installation Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit, i want to install the basic drivers for my mainboard. Right after complition of the installation and pc restart, i want to continue with the graphic drivers for my nvidea graphic card(9800 GT). Starting the .exe, It says there is some other installation is runing in background, that has to be closed. The issue lays here, that there is no installation in the background. I cant install the graphic driver, i download from the nvidea website.

On the driver CD for my mainboard says "for Windows VISTA/XP/2000.

I noticed after the installation of windows 7, that sound and network are already working. But without installing the drivers, i have more problems with some other hardware, which are not working.

Help would be very welcome cause at the moment, im on my laptop, waiting for some helps and tips before i continue to install anything(My pc has at the moment only windows 7 installed and is waiting ).

What should i do next or what would be recommended to do?
Thanks a lot for every help and tip.

EDIT UPDATE: I scanned with the driver agent my system and without installing any drivers, it says that most are already downloaded and ready.

Well thats kinda cool. I try now some things. I hope to have some good luck, now.
__________________

Last edited by Solafighter; 2009-08-29 at 10:47.
Solafighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.